We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory and did the job !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergaria Insulana
Ranked #175 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Satisfactory and did the job !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Was there for two nights. 20 minutes by Taxi from airport, depending on traffic. Did not know what to expect after all the mixed reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. Maybe because I went with the mentality that I will not find anything special.

Room was adequate. Not to small and not to big. Toilet was a bit awkward as it was in a seperate room from shower and sink. Toilet room was so small that my feet couldnt fit in the room between the facing wall and the toilet when I sat down on it. Strong water pressure and towels are changed daily. TIP: take shower gel as its not offered. Only those small useless soaps on the sink.

Air conditioning was great and bed was really comfortable. Big wardrobe and alot of shelves. Furniture was old style and I particularly liked that. Small TV but I didnt put it on once for the simple reason that when I was in the room I unplugged the TV to charge my electronics. Only that plug waa available in the room.

Wi-fi was available. And it connected properly - maybe because I was one floor up from reception. Others have had problems.

Breakfast was, as mentioned in a previous review, a bit lacking but I didnt mind it. Two bread rolls, one jam, one butter and a pot of tea (no milk) all served in the bar area which is a bit uncomfortable.

Cannot get better than this on location. In the centre of shops and restaurants and close by the train station.

Above all, for the price, I'd stay again and I recommend if you are not the fussy type. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    147
    69
    20
    6
See reviews for
23
147
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I had a pleasant stay in the hotel. It was adequate but not much more than that to be honest. I don't mind old fashioned style, in fact I quite like it which is why I booked. However, I think there are certainly some aspects of this hotel that need updating. Breakfast is one of them. It is very basic and I think just a little more choice would be welcome by most guests. My room was ok, had a big patio style window that overlooked the street. Lucky for me I got a twin room even though I was travelling alone. The TV was old - very old, not a problem either but the problem was that of the channels you could get, the picture quality was rubbish due to a bad signal(?). Room was clean enough though, towels changed every day. Location was of course very good and there are some excellent restaurants near by and a Pingo Doce (supermarket) close by too, should you need it. I would go back though but I would look very hard to find something else first. As a regular traveller to Lisbon I know there are plenty of hotels I could have got for a similair price. One thing I would say without a doubt is that the reception staff are FANTASTIC. If they can help, they do!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank its-farky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

This hotel's main advantage is it's location : Near all the busy and exciting central Baixa streets and near the main Rossio and Restauradores metro / bus / train stations. It's so easy to get anywhere in Lisboa from this place.

The hotel room was clean (and this is the most important aspect for me) but needed some renovation / decoration. These are old 70’s rooms that won't impress anyone. But if you intend to spend all of your time outside, it doesn't really matter.

The service was helpful, in Portuguese, English and sometimes French.

Wi-Fi Internet access was available, but the connection was very poor.

I didn't have a lot of time to select an hotel in Lisboa and I picked the Albergaria Insulana. I wasn't exactly disappointed, but Im sure there are better deals around the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlateauEastsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

This was our first hotel in Lisbon, so we had no frame of reference. The staff was polite, but not friendly or very helpful. The room was OK. The breakfast was dry rolls with coffee. Period. After seeing the treats in the pastellarias and what other hotels offered for breakfast, I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Location, location...but not much else to commend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwandsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We've been there for a week in summer; even if at the first sight the hotel seemed a little shabby, it turned out to be clean and well handled. The staff was friendly and helpful for any question and the breakfast was very good in quantity and in quality. The forniture of the room was old style but clean and in order, and the bathroom also. The hotel is located in the city center, near two underground stations and bus stops too. Therefore it was very easy reaching the many attractions of the city and of the neighborhood. We think it's a very nice place with a good service and quality for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrisSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Ideal location at the centre of Baixa/Rossio, convenient for all parts of the city. The staff were great through the entire stay. As a budget option I would certainly reccomend it, sure the breakfast isn't the most sophisticated but it is satisfactory.

The decor isn't all new, but that is part of the charm. I would much prefer to stay here again than in a faceless cream coloured box.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmktn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

This hotel was really bad. The bed was shorter than I am and the ancient mattress was about 4 inches thick. There was no hot water in the mornings.

The breakfast consisted of 2 rolls, one sweetish one and another that could not be eaten. We only had the breakfast once as the milk jug we were given had what appeared to be a bogey on the spout.

The reception is on the second floor and is reached by a lift. The lift has no internal door so you should stand as far back as possible to avoid getting caught between the lift and the shaft. Unfortunately this is difficult as the lift is tiny.

We booked through Lisbon30 and found that we could have got a cheaper price from the hotel directly.

On the plus side the location really is fantastic and the rooms are clean although the considerable age of the furniture means that there is always a musty smell, especially as smoking is permitted in the rooms.

There is a bar, which doubles as the breakfast room, it is most uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Furet_Rouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#216 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#136 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#65 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown
Brown's Downtown
#58 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria Insulana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Insulana

Property: Albergaria Insulana
Address: Rua da Assuncao 52, Lisbon 1100-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergaria Insulana 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergaria Insulana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Insulana Lisbon
Albergaria Insulana Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing