We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good value”
Review of Pensao Londres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensao Londres
Ranked #136 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location & good value”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this oldish hotel which was well-located near some great restaurants, bars, boutique shops. In the Bairro Alto it is in the high part of the city and our 4th floor room overlooking the city gave us great views. The room was comfortable, though small and the focus on security was reassuring.
We found the breakfast dull and repetitive and the staff serving it very off-hand and uninterested - they certainly gave the impression that they would prefer to be somewhere else. By contrast, the office staff were helpful & efficient.
On balance, the location and price still made this a good place to stay in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the city - we weren't charged any extra for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaydubAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    278
    76
    16
    11
See reviews for
97
191
91
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

It was my second stay in this pension (first in 2004), had nice memory.
This place is very well situated, close to Bairro Alto and the nice panorama of the Alcantara Garden that overviews the city center (10 mn by foot).
You feel welcome there and breakfast is very acceptable.
The rates are quite affordable.
The room we got (407) offered a nice view over the Tagus river ; it has been renewed and was spotlessly clean BUT very smelly due to the pipes I think.
Unfortunately this last detail won’t lead me there another time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabien_voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We have just returned from a long weekend stay. Fantastic hotel at a very good price. Very nice rooms with a great view from the 4th floor. Helpful friendly staff. Location could hardly be better: on the doorstep of Bairro Alto with everything else in Lisbon downhill from there, though you will have to travel uphill again for the castle. Very nice modern tapas bar straight across the road from the front door.
Couldn’t believe the price for such a nice room and even breakfast included.
Bob & Hilary Mitchell

Room Tip: 4th floor great for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchells07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is a hotel I'd like to recommend to those wanting to spend more money on excursion and shopping than a room.bIt is easy to get downtown on foot or by the elevador. BUT, this is not a hotel for handicapped people. On arriving you're met by a long and steep staircase. The reception is friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was ok. Our room had only a small window giving not enough light, and the lamps were dim. The beds were good, the bathroom was ok, clean towels every day, but the cleanliness could have been better. Yes, I'm going to use this hotel the next time i'm on my own i Lisbon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th or 5th floor, less noise and a stunning view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lollik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed here for one night in mid-Sept before moving on to a conference in Évora. Picking it was a stab in the dark, but I was very pleasantly surprised. The location could hardly be better and the cost of a single room with double bed and shared (spotless) bath was surprisingly reasonable for such a central location! Breakfast was modest, but adequate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Just a short walk to the Chiado area, Bairro Alto, and Praça do Comércio waterfront. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Facade renovation almost finished when I was there, so the scaffolding should be removed by now. Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laohuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Location - on the top of Bairro Alto, it's a great starting point for your excursions (10 minutes walk downhill to all important communication points), it's also easy to get to the hotel, there are busses running all the way up the hill, elevador Gloria or tram 28 will also help...

Neighbourshood & Sounds - tends to be quite noisy in the evenings (especially weekends), but closing the window is enough to sleep well, also you can hear some noises from the corridor, but it was never a problem for us, people staying in Pensao Londres tend to be quiet and friendly.

Rooms - for the price paid rooms are very nice, big enough, tidy, large comfortable bed in ours... shared bathroom is not a problem at all as there are not many people using it (I assume most rooms on the floor have a bathroom inside, there are also not that many rooms per floor), elevator is working to get you to all floors... rooms are being cleaned up every day, whole pension is clean and tidy

Staff - absolutely no problem with english and also other languages, all personel is very helpful and optimistic (and patient) about all questions and request

Breakfast - simple, the same every day, still we didn't have any problems with it during our 7 day stay

Surroundings (shops, restaurants) - there are a lot of small shops on Rua de Rosa and a minimarket not far away, nice cafe is located in pension's building, very good local restaurant close by (Tascardoso)

Summary - great place to stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korsarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Although the service was good and we enjoyed the location, the front of the hotel is currently enshrouded with scaffolding and green mesh tarp which is unfortunately where our room was located. So we were disappointed there was no view or fresh air to be had. Had it not been for that our stay would have been more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#150 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Safira
#174 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Portuense
Hotel Portuense
#145 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Londres

Property: Pensao Londres
Address: Rua Dom Pedro V 53 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1250-092, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#84 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Londres 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pensao Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Londres Lisbon
Pensao Londres Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing