We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellently prices and location”
Review of Pensao Londres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensao Londres
Ranked #149 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellently prices and location”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Overall excellent place to stay for cheap in Lisbon.
Rooms are clean, bright and airy. I stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom which I found to be very proper. My parents stayed at the top floor (4/F) in a room with an ensuite bathroom. They had a fantastic view over Lisbon and I think it's one of the nicest I've seen by far!
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Overall, good clean rooms and good simple service.
Only bad point is the noise - you do hear other people in the corridor when they pass by and as our room was right by the reception, that was sometimes a bit noisy. Despite that, the good points outweigh the bad ones and I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4.F - they have a view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisythehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    285
    80
    19
    12
See reviews for
101
200
92
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in the Pensao Londres for 7 nights in May 2012. We received a friendly and warm welcome from the reception when we arrived. From our room in the fourth floor we had a beautiful view over Lisboa and the Tagus river. The room was simple but lovingly furnished and as said before in reviews you can hear some noises from the room next to it. So if you are a very light sleeper, book a modern more expensive hotel or take ear plugs.
Although we shared a bathroom our room had a sink and bidet which was really handy. Sharing the bathroom was no problem at all. The bathroom was always clean and we hardly ever had to wait for other guests that used the same bathroom. We also enjoyed the relaxed continental breakfast with bread rolls, croissants, cereals and tea and coffee.
The staff was always helpful and friendly and answered all our questions about Lisboa, the history of the Pensao Londres, bus tickets, the weather forecast etc. patiently and to the best of their knowledge.
The Pensao Londres is an 18th century building with charm and character, fantastically located on the top of the hill in the Bairro Alto. From here it is just a short stroll to the tram 28 and most sights are within walking distance. Around the corner, less than two minutes away nearly every night and morning we enjoyed the scenic view from the Miradouro São Pedro de Alcântara with a nice strong espresso trying to locate all the places we had seen on the day or were planning to visit.
If you would like to visit beautiful relaxed and charmingly imperfect Lisboa and get to know its friendly people, stay in the Pensao Londres. It's not a 5 Star Hotel but the pensao certainly has the friendly 5 Star Lisboa charm and it is fantastic value for money. We certainly plan to return one day.

By the way the airbus ticket is 3.50 Euro and is valid for the whole day on trams, busses and funiculars.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seni67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in a single economy room. I was expecting it to be tiny, but it wasn't. The room had a/c, tv, in-room wi-fi which worked great and a nice view of the city. The only complaints was that the bed was rock hard, but I eventually got used to it. And I could also hear people talking through the walls. Not much soundproofing which is common in these old buildings. The shared bathroom was clean, roomy and well maintained. The free breakfast was adequate- cereal, cheese & bologna slices, rolls & croissants with jams. Coffee, tea, milk and OJ. The hotel is in a great location in Barrio Alto. Close to an amazing viewpoint of Lisbon and within walking distance to many sights. This was a pretty good pick for such a low price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ndkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Absolutely fantastic location - very close to all the restaurants in Barrio Alto, but not in the noisy hubub. The nearby Principe Real park is also a great place to relax with a coffee or drink. A cab from the airport was just 14 Euro - significantly cheaper than the pre-pay option. Staff was very helpful with storing luggage before and after check in. There's about a flight of stairs to get to the elevator, so be aware of that if you have large bags. Room was spacious. Not every room with a view of the Tagus is created equal - our windows were only in the bathroom. On the plus side, that made the room very quiet (but there wasn't much traffic noise in the rooms facing the Tagus, and even the street on the other side wasn't that busy, but if you wanted to sit at a table and stare out the window, this might not have been the room for you. Recommended and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Tagus view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights mid February 2012 - Selected the Pensao Londres from previous reviews. Do use the hotel travel guide from Lisbon Airport, easy-peasey stuff to get the bus. The Airport Bus was about 5.50 Euros return, tickets can be purchased from the ladies at the bus stop outside arrivals. One small tip, do make sure you indicate obviously, by pressing the bell in plenty of time when you want to leave the bus as the drivers don't hang about! Using the Airport Bus really gets you into the swing of Lisbon, the highlight has to be using 'Gloria' the Funicula upto the Pension which is set within the most perfect location for exploring Lisbon.
We arrived to early at 11AM and our room wasn't ready but we were able to leave our bags in the hotels bagroom until checkin time. We had a first floor double room with en-suite. The rooms are traditionally & simply furnished with very comfortable beds and of extremly high house keeping standards. We had housekeeping every day, clean towels, bed making etc. Included in the room charge is a Continental Breakfast again, all kept simple, croissants, rolls, ham's, cheeses, ample coffee/tea etc. All served by the lovely ladies :)
Bairro Alto district is a good mixture of cafe's sitauted around small parks/gardens, designer/antique shops and of an evening, the whole area is buzzing!!
If you want to explore a fabulous good value European City, and enjoy a more traditional setting, accommodation where you feel like your staying in a friends house, than this is for you.

Room Tip: If you book directly weith the hotel request a room with a view - plus book early as this place is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillnBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It was a wonderful stay in the hotel. We were 10, two family room and one double room for 3 nights. Room was clean and very friendly helpful reception. Room is cleaned everyday while we were out sightseeing. Taxi transfer can be arrange at the reception. Close to restaurant and trendy bar along rua de rosa. The only thing need a bit of improvement is the choice of breakfast, which was a bit limited. But for the price advertised, its definitely worth staying here.

One tip for getting to the hotel:

Due to the hotel is at the top of the hill, its worth to take the tram at 'calcada de gloria' all the way up the hill and walk to Rua Dom Pedro V. Or take the bus number 758 from 'Cais Sodré' station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HengTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed in a total of four hostels and hotels during my stay in Portugal and Pensao Londres was by far the best. The rooms are well-equipped, the staff is friendly, and the rooms are an incredibly good deal. I paid 5 euros more per night than I did in the private hostel rooms I had been staying in and got five times that back in comfort and service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hs2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#70 of 251 in Lisbon
504 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#146 of 251 in Lisbon
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#196 of 251 in Lisbon
208 reviews
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 251 in Lisbon
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Londres

Property: Pensao Londres
Address: Rua Dom Pedro V 53 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1250-092, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#83 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Londres 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Pensao Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Londres Lisbon
Pensao Londres Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing