We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good, but let down somewhat by its surroundings”
Review of Turim Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turim Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #145 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is good Hotel on the outside of the centre of Lisbon, half an hour from the Airport.
It is situated in a reasonably quiet back street and whilst the Hotel is well maintained its immediate surroundings are less attractive.
We opted for a room overlooking the front as the views from the rooms facing the back are unattractive.
Getting there from the Airport is easy and should cost around €15.00 including tip.
The a hotel is on a slope (an observation for those with mobility issues) and close to two Metro stations.
The bus and tram service is also close by and works well.
I'd recommend buying the day ticket at €6.50 which allows you to Travel on almost all forms of Transport (you can also top your card up as well).
We explored both the Edward VII Park and the Gulbenkian Museum which are an easy walk from The Hotel and worth the effort.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with two large single beds merged into one.
They also offered, for €2.50 a day a lock for a safe in the room which we went for.
We did find the introduction of motion sensor lighting a bit random in terms of the timers which, in some cases, left you little time to see what you were doing!!!
The breakfast buffet was reasonably good although staple foods like scrambled egg seemed to go quickly and waiting for these to be recharged could take a while.
There was a good selection of Portuguese breads/rolls and preserves which all of party enjoyed.
However the Coffee was absolutely dreadful and the Tea not much better and trying to work out how the Toaster worked or actually getting toast took an age!!!
Although we got our wi-fi to work we struggled to get a connection in the Lobby and it could be a bit spotty elsewhere.
The staff especially in Reception were very helpful and their command of English excellent.
There is a small bar in the Hotel and when we went they had a Happy Hour which lasted 2 Hours (!!) where most drinks (not wine for some reason) were half price.
There are two excellent Restaurants right across from the Hotel which are quite different but we found them to be very good.
These are definitely worth trying if you have the time.
We all felt the Hotel lived up to its reputation.
Minor niggles were some strange odours which permated into the Lift areas (not particularly nice!), some noise from the Road at night (they seemed to empty the 'bins" at anti-social times) plus as a Cofffe addict the lack of a decent cup of Coffee made me a bit cranky at times!!
Overall it was very good experience and as it was only half an hour from the Airport easy to get to.

Room Tip: Opt for a Room facing the front, overlooking the main Road as the "views" from the rear ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greatblackhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

I spent four nights at Hotel Turim for a city break and I was very pleased with everything about the hotel. Both the bedroom and bathroom were large and very clean, all the appliances worked and the staff spoke good English and were friendly.

The breakfast wasn't amazing but certainly good enough to get you through to lunch (when you can visit one of the many bakeries and cafes in Lisbon!). There was fresh fruit, cooked eggs and meat, and a selection of pastries, although no fresh coffee.

The hotel is located in a fairly quiet part of town and there are other hotels nearby. Added bonuses are that the hotel is just a few minutes walk from two metro stations (it takes under 10 minutes to the centre of town), and there is a nice medium-sized supermarket literally around the corner. The post office is also two minutes away in case you need stamps!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zol555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel because it offered a special rate, and I was not disappointed. It is well located near a metro stop. Although the hotel said it was too far, my wife and I walked from the hotel to the waterfront passing the beautifully wide main shopping street. Breakfast which was included with the room was outstanding. Only complaint was that the room was never made up until late in the day and the elevators and halls smelled funny.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent three nights here in a very nice room, spacious and clean, comfortable and quiet. The only downside was that it looked out over some less than inspiring apartment blocks, but as we didn't spend much time in the room, it didn't matter.The staff were all very friendly and efficient, although one waiter could do with a lesson on cocktail and drink making! We didn't mind although he must use up all their profits with the quantities he was using !! We enjoyed the happy hour. The breakfasts were good but let down by the awful coffee and watery fruit juices,which is a shame in a country where oranges are so plentiful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel Turim is located in a quiet street, and is well placed for Lisbon tourism. We were checked in by Raquel who was very helpful and friendly.
As requested, we had a room on the 7th floor with a terrace overlooking the front of the hotel. The bedroom was very spacious and provided twin beds, table, chairs and large wardrobes. A useful feature was a kettle and cups for hot drinks; tea bags were provided, but if you want coffee, you need to take your own sachets. There is a fridge with a minibar. The bathroom was well equipped and the toiletries were replaced daily. We had no problems with any outside noise from the road.
We enjoyed the breakfasts, which offered hot and cold choices of meats, cheeses, bacon, eggs and sausages together with the normal range of cereals, fruit juices and assorted breads and sweet pastries. The dining room is particularly grand and impressive with its mirrored walls.

There are 3 metro stations within 5 minutes walk of the hotel and travel costs are low in Lisbon (buy a day ticket for 6 euro). Near the hotel, there are several restaurants and cafes. There is a Pingo Doce supermarket a minute’s walk away and this has an excellent café which provides cooked meals. The “menu do dia” is popular with locals and you can get a filling main course plus wine from 3.50 euro between noon and 3 pm. For major shopping, a large department store “El Corte Ingles” is 5 minutes away, near to Sao Sebastiao metro station.
The hotel provided excellent value for money and we would certainly go back to Hotel Turim on our next visit to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorcesterLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a great value for money lunch and happy hour cocktails(for 2 hours per night).The rooms were spacious and well cleaned.The staff were helpful and polite. The only niggle if any was the coffee and fruit juices at breakfast.(in the land of oranges the weedy orange and pineapple juice let down an otherwise pleasant breakfast.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

More and more, modern people like "all in one" products. Why not booking a hotel placed in the right center of the city (100m from Marquis do Pombal Square), in the proximity of a nice park, at a walking distance to many touristic attractions, nearby the hop-on/off buses, with modern glass&ceramic architecture, good services, professional&friendly personnel, good food, 2-3 in/outdoor bars, with view the main promenade street (Avenida Liberdade - like Rambla in Barcelona), cozy atmosphere, clean rooms (with music) etc etc.
This is the TURIM Hotel Avenida Liberdade. Price very convenient for all budgets. Reception desk can offer you tickets for various bus trips (at the station they are cheaper) to see the main touristic attractions and objectives in Portugal.
Beside the luxury fashion and jewelry shops you find on this street, during the day you can have a good lunch to a small bistro, and at night many places in the street offering good drinks and music (jazz, fado, rock, pop etc).
Also not far from the heart of the night life: fado concerts, live concerts in the streets near the outdoor terraces of the restaurants (good fresh sea-fruit dishes) - many people also dancing there till the night is not anymore young.
At the end of this avenue: the beloved STARBUCKS coffee & sandwiches restaurant.
As I cannot walk for long time and distance this location was the best. Please try and spend a romantic holiday in Lisbon accommodating in this hotel offering many advantages.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view directly to Avenida Liberdade. Back rooms get the sunset - more daylight, wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momonel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Turim Saldanha Hotel
Turim Saldanha Hotel
#71 of 255 in Lisbon
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turim Europa Hotel
Turim Europa Hotel
#130 of 255 in Lisbon
899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turim Iberia Hotel
Turim Iberia Hotel
#141 of 255 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#128 of 255 in Lisbon
1,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turim Alameda Hotel
Turim Alameda Hotel
#174 of 255 in Lisbon
651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
#153 of 255 in Lisbon
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Lisboa Hotel

Address: Rua Filipe Folque 20, Lisbon 1050-113, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#108 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £44 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turim Lisboa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Turim Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turim Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing