We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh no.... find another place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensao Residencial Geres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensao Residencial Geres
Ranked #118 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oh no.... find another place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The owners are definitely the sweetest people in Lisboa - BUT.... the neighbourhood is scary. Offensive drugdealers, countless beggers, aggressive homeless people and awful noise all night long. The first night there was a huge fight which ended with guys breaking windows, next night ongoing police sirens, third night another fight and so on and so on - and every time we stepped outside the door we had to "fight" our way through street dealers of every thing from drugs to sunglasses, who didn't understand the polite "No Thank You's" we soon mastered.... the room was extremely small - the cleaning was extremely good, though. Unfortunately we will NEVER go there again - sorry Mr. & Mrs. Geres.... you are the kindest people, but your neighbourhood is unsafe, unfriendly and unkind.... Other travellers: find a place outside the center, the public transportion is extremely good, and here you DON'T get what you are paying for.... L + M, aged 47 and 45 years, Denmark

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    65
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
17
58
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for one night at the end of the Optimus Alive Fesitival in Alges. We chose it as it was central Lisbon, so not far to walk from the Cais de Soldre train station. The room was clean and light and traditionally decorated. The hotel is not plush and nor does it advertise to be, but the location is perfect for sightseeing and is just what we needed to rest our heads after 3 nights camping. I would recommend it for a short break if you want to stay somewhere on a tight budget. The central location does mean it's quitenoisy in the morning - although this did not affect me, it did wake my partner. Also they provide luggage storage for free which is really useful if you have a flight later in the day, but want to do some sightseeing beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKPWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

The hotel is an excellent value with clean rooms, great location, and a most friendly staff and owners.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucedoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
476 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

This place is very well located for Lisbon, but that's about it. Don't worry about the reviews about "unsavory characters" They are just the local population and won't cause any problems. However, the issue is that to get in you have to be "buzzed" in by the 24 hr on duty person. Rooms are on multiple floors and you have to be "buzzed" in on each floor. For us, we have a room onthe 1st and 2nd floors. Every time we went between rooms, we had to be buzzed in. The rooms were very tight, even for Europe and the beds were very hard to the point of uncorfortable. Tried to put blankets down to soften them up, but housekeeping kept removing them each day, and finally took them away onthe third day of our stay. The last thing is that if you are a budget traveller and want to do some hand wash, it is strictly prohibitied. They have signs up saying so. We looked around for a laundry, even asked for directions. Couldn't find anything except a full service one diagonally across the square by the elevator. When we did a little laundry in the room, housekeeping took it all away and hung it in what looked like an abandoned elevator shaft and we then had to ask to reclaim our stuff. Our recommendation - Look for another place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

No big faults with this place, located right in the center of the city. However, irritations include:

1. The hotel is in a particularly sketchy area, frequented by prostitutes, drunks, the homeless, and drug dealers. Having said that, you are unlikely to be troubled by these people, and some of you might like the edgyness.

2. If you are an early to bed type, you might not like the noise outside. There can be quite a racket until 3am.

3. The staff are okay, but the husband owner is a grump. He works the desk during the afternoon/evening. The wife owner is a lovely, helpful lady, and she is there during the day.

4. No wi-fi, but there's an internet computer in the lobby area which you can use for a small fee.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

Unbeatably good value: scrupulously clean, well kept, comfortable, and secure pensao in a brilliant location. Family who run it are unobtrusively helpful. There are no frills, as previous reviewers have said, but it means that you don't end up paying for things you don't want. It just does the basic thing brilliantly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cautious_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

We came to this pension after we left a youth hostel which we didn't like at all.
This place is very conveniently and central located. It is very clean and the staff is friendly, although they didn't speak much English and no German.
They don't serve breakfast, but there are cafes nearby, so that is no problem.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank meyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#188 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#63 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residencial O Paradouro
#145 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#135 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
DownTown Guest House
DownTown Guest House
#130 of 230 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Residencial Geres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Geres

Property: Pensao Residencial Geres
Address: Calcado do Garcia 6, 1 & 2 | Baixa, Lisbon 1150-168, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pensao Residencial Geres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Geres Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing