We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family hotel at a bargain price”
Review of Imperador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperador Hotel
Ranked #175 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
enghien
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A family hotel at a bargain price”
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My wife and I spent 2 weeks in the Residencia Imperador in July 2010. The hotel was recommended to me by my family in Lissabon. Rooms are comfortable, very clean, people at the reception are fine and price is a bargain (50€ per room). Beds are OK with TV, shower and Airco (although in July, we did not need to use it). Very well located close to Saldanha metro (2-3 minutes walking), a taxi parking and numerous buses. Easy to go to Costa da Caparica or Cascais & other beaches. Breakfast is good in quantity and quality. One criticism : not so varied but bread was always fresh with jam, cheese or ham and different kinds of drinks were available (if you want more variety, the Pingo Doce supermarket is nearby). Advice: Front rooms can be a little bit noisy due to speed of cars but we could nevertheless sleep with the window closed. After a week we tried one of the "rear" rooms: no road traffic this time but the noise of the airco system of the opposite building (we could nevertheless sleep). All in all, despite a few small buts, we would come back to Residencia Imperador without hesitation as the overall experience was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jptaverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    37
    30
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
27
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

It was recommended by my Portuguse friends who live in the neighbourhood. Everything was satisfactory and the room was at 40 euros 5 t0 10 euros cheaper than comparable hotels. The taxi driver from the airport had difficulty finding it because it calls itself Residencia Imperador and I called it hotel. It is a couple of kms from the centre. It is not far from an underground station but there is a row of taxis in front of the "Residence". I only used the taxis because they were so cheap. The most I paid was eight euros from the airport to the Residencia, quite a few kms. For meals and coffee my friends recommended the excellent resaurant Versailles within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Room looked OK but this was a cold day in Lisbon and the heating did not work. The hotel personnel tried to fix it without any success. Despite that value for money was in principle OK, the heating issue was quite disappointing. Besides that good location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongeren, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Altough located somewhat out of tourist city centre (look on map for Saldanha Sq north of Pombal) this hotel is very convenient for those who have to participate in congresses held in the otherwise difficultly reached CC of Belem : bus 727 runs every 11 minutes and CC is reached in 1/2 to 3/4 hour. Also on Saldanha : bus 44/45 to/from airport, metro, etc. Walk to Rossio in 30 min. Small budget hotel, clean, bathroom complete, good beds, friendly staff but breakfast not before 7.30 and with horrible chemical "fruit"juice. [--]

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank loeloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shore of Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2004

I thought it was a decent location and great deal! . Enough local eating establishments to access. Taxi cab's and bus very handy. The staff was helpfull and kind. It did have a elevator three steps up. The rooms were clean and nice looking. All with bath and shower! Other's had a shower stall. The bathooms were very new and bright looking. We had continental breakfast included with our room.

Helpful?
3 Thank littlebellsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Residencial Canada
Residencial Canada
#198 of 248 in Lisbon
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencia Capital
Residencia Capital
#227 of 248 in Lisbon
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#216 of 248 in Lisbon
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residencial O Paradouro
Residencial O Paradouro
#153 of 248 in Lisbon
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#160 of 248 in Lisbon
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 3K Madrid
Hotel 3K Madrid
#164 of 248 in Lisbon
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperador Hotel

Property: Imperador Hotel
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro 55, Lisbon 1050-048, Portugal (Formerly Residencia Imperador)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Imperador is a 2 star hotel located in the center of Lisbon, close to the Duque de Saldanha Square. At the entrance is a taxi rank and 200 meters away is the metro and several buses, which can take you in a few minutes to the center of Lisbon (old town) or to the more modern eastern area where the Cable car and the oceanarium are located. Its rooms have been recently refurbished and are even more comfortable, with air conditioning, cable TV, free wi-fi, mini bar and complete bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Imperador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Imperador Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing