We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #39 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best location in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Each level has rooms of the same theme:
4th floor- Pop rooms
3th floor - Zen
2nd floor- Tribe
1st floor- Urban

Likes
-You can't beat the location. It's at Lisbon's two main square. Tourist sightseeing buses depart from the square. Buses, trams and subway also at the doorstep.
-Interesting concept of theme rooms.
-Staff was very nice and accommodating when I had to change rooms due to traffic noise

Dislikes
-Standard rooms are quite small
-Some rooms are very noisy as it is on a main street with lots of traffic.
-Wifi does not work well in some rooms
-Breakfast a bit hit and miss. Some day good, some day bad

Tips
-Imagine a 1st floor room where cars are 4 meters away from your bed. If you don't want noise request one of the rooms on the side street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    433
    66
    20
    7
See reviews for
152
881
86
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

ideal location to visit Lisbon. Amazing staff and breakfast is also gorgeous.

Room Tip: Pop is pretty lush
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorryadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We found this hotel to be brilliantly located between the caslte and everywhere else one needed to be for touring around , the nearby restaurant area of the Barrio alto , shops etc. The front desk could not do enough -from special adapters for plugs to guidance for places to go. Service excellent, breakfast really good. The rooms are fine and comfortable, the decor a little quirky but really fun. Will certainly use it again for next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesSWFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

It is not a cheap hotel, but it is worth every cent. Reception staff could not be more helpful. Our room was extraordinary with a wonderful old balcony which a joy both during the day and at night. The bed was very comfy. Breakfast was good. When we had to cut our stay short due to a general strike, we were refunded the cost of one night without even asking, even though we had prepaid to get a special offer. The hotel is beside everything that you could need, great restaurants and bars, great shopping and wonderful street life. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsCatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed on the Zen floor and found it very relaxing even with the whimsical neon green toilet paper. Entire hotel is filled with whimsical details and provides plenty of visual interest. The breakfasts are outstanding and provide such a vast variety of choices that everyone is sure to be pleased, not to mention fully charged for a day of sightseeing. The staff was extremely helpful and came to our rescue when we got caught in a downpour - they dried our clothes so that we could pack for our departure early the following morning - they even had a breakfast waiting for us at 5 am, including freshly made coffee. Location is fantastic and convenient to everything - either on foot, or by bus, trolly, etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldexplorer88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel was so much fun to explore. We chose to stay in the "pop" room and it was VERY pink, like staying in Barbie's dream house, but still a lot of fun (even the toilet paper was pink!)! The front staff helped us get our camera back from the taxi we left it in...I for sure thought we would never see it again, but the people of Lisbon our amazing! Great cozy atmosphere. Close to everything! The room was not huge, but who cares when mostly you are just sleeping there. We did not have breakfast there as we only stayed there one night before we returned to the airport from out road trip through the country (which we highly recommend!). I would def recommend checking this place out if you are an art/design inspired person!

Room Tip: Only choose the "pop" room if you are in the mood for some fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I attended the hotel in May for a conference.

The location is PERFECT. You can get off airport bus and walk across Rossio square to your hotel, it took no more than 20 minutes. Even though the conference was a little way from the hotel, the tram stopped almost right outside and took me the whole way back. Every night I was no more than a stones throw away from every vegetarian restaurant in Lisbon, a godsend for me.

I had a medium room, which is not big, but fine for my purposes. It was extremely clean and comfortable and the bathroom was lovely.

Breakfast was fine, only continental if I remember correctly, but a fine start to the day. At the time there was no restaurant, although I think that may now have changed? At night this is great for a good nights sleep as it was nice and quiet, however it does make it rather subdued with no public space other than the bar/breakfast room (not that warm or inviting!). For a lone traveller on a work trip it would have nice to have somewhere comfortable to sit outside my room, if only for a bit of company!

The staff were very pleasant, although service could be a slow if there was someone in front of you. I had no problems.

This is a nice hotel in a fantastic hotel. If you like your hotel with lots of bells and whistles it's not for you, but if you are a no fuss, modern tourist who likes to be in the centre of the action without compromising on comfort then this is the perfect hotel.

I'm not giving it 5*'s because it didn't blow me away, what can I say? I'm a hard marker!! Absolutely no complaints though :)

Room Tip: A high floor - otherwise you can be seen from the street if you don't close your curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#34 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing