We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #49 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Superb location, modern and well appointed interior with an amazing shower and great buffet breakfast! In all this was a very high quality hotel. Double glazing meant that the room was very quiet despite the extremely central location (right in the heart of the old town).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneralFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

I just returned from a short trip to Lisbon and booked this hotel for our stay. The most important thing to me, as u may notice through my other reviews, is that I prefer to be in a very central location. Ideally, next to all the shopping areas and I have to say, that the hotel has the perfect location.

As we arrived around lunch time our room wasn't ready and we were asked to store our luggage and come back around 2.00 p.m. which was perfectly fine! The hotel offers different inspired rooms, such as Tribe or Pop. Back then when I booked the room I asked for one on the Tribe or Zen floor - and we got one on the Tribe indeed!

The hotel is very nice... modern, interior, service - very stylish and with a lot of design and art! Even though the entrance/reception area isn't that spacious, it's not disturbing at all. Our room was in the Coocon size, which means it's a quite small room - but since we didn't intend to stay in the room all the time, we were fine with it.

The room itself was awesome: we had a nice double bed with a new flatscreen TV, a table with a chair next to the mini-bar and a big wardrobe as well. The bathroom was enjoyably big and the shower was even equipped with spots for a water-massage. We also received bath robes and the shower gels and shampoos were provided by RITUALS Cosmetics.

Although, the hotel is in the corner of one of the main squares, the windows are isolated in an outstanding way - our room faced the street but we had no noise at all... really appreciated!

We were also very pleased by the reception team. They are very helpful and patient, which unfortunately can't be taken for granted nowadays. We were looking for a good international restaurant around the hotel and were advised to visit "Sacramento", which was excellent.

All in all, I can really recommend this hotel for a city trip - I have nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuerich_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

pros
perfect location, right in the middle of everything, you can walk everywhere from here, sites, food, bars, nightlife, metro, trams, bus everything is close

Staff was very friendly and helpful

clean rooms, small but fine for two, english channels on t.v., really a good hotel for the price(we got a really good deal) there really are no cons we had zero to complain about

Had the peace room on the zen floor, I guess the botuiqe aspect is cool if you like that kind of stuff but we didn't care either way. We got free drinks on arrival and free drinks on easter, which was thoughful, also the free wifi worked great, would stay here again definately recommend them

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukrania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Nice modern hotel right in the heart of the city. Nice clean, comfortable and modern rooms although they are quite small by European standards.. Breakfast is a buffet style and has a good selection. You are near all the public transport options and all restaurants bars etc are nearby. The castle at night / dusk is a good time to visit as its very atmospheric. All in all its a good base and I would stay here again next time in Lisbon. I would recommend reading my article about taxis in from the airport if looking for a good taxi option. Lisbon is a beautiful city and i will return here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed for 4 days in April 2012. This is a great boutique style hotel - modern, clean and tidy, we stayed in a "Zen" experience room with great views over Rossio square and down road to the water. Right in the heart of the city and within easy walking distance to most of the attractions. Transport links are excellent. Take the Aerobus direct from the airport to Rossio square for 3.5 euros. We felt that this is a safe and very pleasant location for a city break. Breakfast is good. Service is good. 4 stars definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gone2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I decided to book this hotel based on the great reviews here. I wasn't too worried about the price and just wanted a great hotel for my wife and two teenage kids. We loved this place. When we arrived in the small cramped reception I got a bit worried but after the check-in we could see what a different experience the hotel would be. Every floor is different, the rooms are modern and funky in a sort of way. Flat screen digital TV and modern showers/bathroom. Our bedroom was smaller than the kids but that was the only complaint. They gave us complimentary cocktails nd the breakfast had the types of food choices you wouldn't find anywhere else. Check out the cutlery too, really different. This is a young hotel and right in front of the main squares, buses and underground. The shops are near too so it is the perfect location. The decore and front of the hotel is really beautiful. We had to wait for the plane so we stayed some time n the attic floor which was all pink and had speakers you could plug in your iPhone. The kids played on the computer and I took great photos of the square. I didn't see hardly anyone in this small hotel but didn't need anyone as there was no problem during our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShaunnyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I booked a basic room through Hotels.com (only $115 for a Sunday night stay) and upon check-in were upgraded to a suite (rack rate of 500 euros). We stayed the first night at one of the top-rated B&Bs and, looking back, wish we had spent both nights at the Internacional Design Hotel. The B&B had more character, but was incredibly tiny with low ceilings and no elevator. We are pretty no-frills, but after a long day of walking all around this beautiful city, it is nice to have a bit more space and some additional creature comforts.
This place was just like a W hotel in terms of ambiance and design, but with a European twist. Our room had three sets of french doors but we were completely unaffected by street noise ( a common problem throughout our week in Portugal). We opted out of the 15 Euro a person breakfast and enjoyed sitting outside in the Rossio square at one of the cafes for breakfast. Also, this hotel is incredibly easy to get to from the airport. For 3.50Euro, buy a ticket on the Aerobus from the airport and hop off at Rossio then simply walk to the hotel which is conveniently located right on the square.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindseylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#20 of 255 in Lisbon
1,639 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,902 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#34 of 255 in Lisbon
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#44 of 255 in Lisbon
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £55 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing