We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can it be that good? Yes it can”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #49 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can it be that good? Yes it can”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

You've seen the reviews from a series of other reviewers and you are asking yourself if it is possible that a hotel can be that good. The answer is 'yes'. Certainly the barman was not a happy bunny when we returned at 11:45pm for drinks, when he was intent on closing up at midnight! However, setting that aside the Internacional has superb front-desk staff, lovely rooms and a brilliant location.

Room Tip: Splash out on a larger room, to get the corner position with balconies plus more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kneeboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    455
    75
    20
    12
See reviews for
159
920
88
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The location can't be beat for a short stay in Lisbon. Its an excellent base to stroll west one day, and east another. Very close to Barrio Alto as well, which is where we went each night. The staff gave us great information (fluent English). We stayed in the cocoon room, which was exactly that, but was a good price.

Room Tip: Cocoon room is very small (but cheapest) but we were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zzigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

A great place in a great location!

We loved the hotel.
Very modern, funky, well thought out designs.
Breakfast spread was incredible! Food for your every desire!

Very clean, extras like bathrobes.
High spec, high standards.

Only negative is the beds (although high quality) were extremely hard and we both had poor sleeps because of it. I would highly recommend the hotel invest in a mattress foam etc for comfort. After all, you pay for a good nights sleep. Also, ask for top sheets. They only give you a duvet which means either turning the aircon right down to freeze or being too hot.

Every thing else was A+

I would definitely return and just ask for the bed situation to be changed.

Location couldn't be better!

Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had the pleasant experience in staying at the Internacional Design Hotel for the second time. Sometimes, the second time at a hotel never meets expectations. But this was not the case. We enjoyed our stay as much as we did the first time. The location cannot be beat and everything is within walking experience. The breakfast is huge and loaded with many varieties of foods that would appeal to all tastes. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms well appointed. This is should be considered for a stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel - it's central to everything. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was quite small but clean and comfortable and the shower had great water pressure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This stylish and clean hotel is in the perfect location of the Rosario District. The staff were very helpful (even changing the time for our car rental and making us a reservation in a fabulous restaurant), the rooms were small but stylish and comfortable, and the hotel bar was light, airy and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a well situated, afordable, comfortable and stylish hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmpizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Slap bang in the centre you really can't fault the location of this hotel. Only half an hour's taxi ride from Lisbon airport too. All the staff were very polite and helpful. The decor is quirky with each floor having a different theme. We were on the Zen floor and our room was on the corner looking out over the square. The room was large enough for a city break. All our room was in white apart from the unusual bright green toilet paper! Larger than normal bathroom too which was good. We paid for breakfast one morning and it was excellent - a really large disPlay of all sorts of goodies including the custard tartlets which Lisbon is known for. We were given a voucher for a free drink but didn't get round to having it unfortunately! Overall a very nice hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorienstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 251 in Lisbon
802 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 251 in Lisbon
975 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#11 of 251 in Lisbon
621 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 251 in Lisbon
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing