We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #49 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We choose this hotel after reading reviews on here about its location, and they weren't wrong! I was a little worried about how arty and modern the hotel might be, as my husband and I much prefer traditional, but the hotel was lovely. Very bright, very clean. We didn't have a view from our bedroom window but we were out most of the time so this didn't bother us at all. If you are tall its best not to stay in the loft rooms where we were as our room had sloping ceilings and my husband could only walk in certain areas of the bathroom for fear of banging his head. The staff were very helpful and gave recommendations for restaurants. The hotel also offered a shuttle to the airport for us which cost €10 per person, and although it was nice to have it all arranged for us, it only cost us €15 to get there from the airport in a regular taxi. I would definitely recommend this hotel, where ever we went during the day or evening it was so easy to find our way home. Brilliant location and a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms with sloping ceilings if you are tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KobbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had a great time here, fantastic interesting hotel, everything has been made with care and it's a very creative environment, from the room to the restaurant/bar that has a great view overlooking the square. Great location, very very helpful staff for directions and bookings, really felt at home, can't fault the place at all. Even the breakfast staff were helpful, taking the time to get us information/directions during our breakfast. Highly recommend. Oh we opened our windows in the evening and were treated to buskers playing in the street with the music sifting up through our window, it was magic. The breakfast buffet is the best and most generous I've had in europe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick-IdeaBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were there in February, wonderful experience. Nothing new to add to what others have said. Location is ideal, near shopping and other interesting parts of Lisbon, short walk to Alfama. Great restaurants nearby as well. Staff was very helpful. You can get there by bus from the airport. Wifi was great as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I also agree with all other reviewers to say this was an excellent hotel. We stayed there one night last week prior to our departure back to The States. We just did a random search for hotels in Lisbon and booked this for an eve. It was soooo conveniently located in the middle of Baixo near tons of shops and restaurants.. While the location is ideal the hotel itself is reason enough to not even venture out. I travel a lot and stay in all star level hotels but the cosmopolitan feel In the middle of such a historic old city is such an awesome juxtaposition! It is a small boutique hotel but clean and very comfy. Each floor has a different theme and overall the hotel is quaint but sexy. We stayed on the 4th fl, the pop theme.. Love all the branding and signage too. If we stayed more than one day I would have requested a rm change only bc we had one small window not at viewing height that was mostly blocked by a cement wall. My husband was able to scale the wall to catch a view of the plaza so the view was good if one could reach it. The hotel staff is top notch.. Very professional, delightful and personable. Whatever they are doing they must keep it up! We will most def stay here again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SMA102205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I can only agree with all the other reviews, this is a really excellent little hotel.

The staff are fantastic, including the very helpful airport shuttle driver. The breakfast is spectacular (real coffee and great selection, which includes Portuguese custard tarts and champagne!). The rooms are not large, but comfy and well equipped. The decoration of the whole hotel is very funky and interesting.

However the best feature of the hotel is the amazing location, right in the middle of the old city, a metro station and the main train station (Rossio - train goes from here to Sintra) is only moments away and the two most useful trams leave from beside the hotel. Lisbon's dominating St Jorge's castle is above you and you can walk there in 20 min. its also only a 5 min walk to the river. All around the hotel are plenty of bars and restaurants...and custard tart shops!

We were really lucky in that our room has a little balcony with a table and two chairs and the view from the balcony must be the best in Lisbon. We discovered no other room has such a balcony, so definitely ask for room 407 if possible.

We loved it here and will definitely stay again when in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Room 407 has an awesome little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanmerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

One of the best all round hotels I have stayed in.

We were picked up from the airport by the friendliest hotel staff member. All of the staff at the hotel were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Location was amazing, very easy to get around, lots of restaurants nearby if you have had a big day and want something close. Breakfast was great with lots of variety, but I have to mention how much I loved the breakfast/bar room. It a beautiful big room letting in lots of light with great views of the nearby squares. The rooms were colourful (we were level 4) and spacious. Bed was comfy. The only thing I disliked was the shower, it was really hard to use in a very confined space.

I really liked this hotel and I missed it after we left! Lisbon was a beautiful city and Internacional Design Hotel really does make a great base.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovefeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

First contact in Portugal with this hotel was a fantastic experience, ideally situated in the old Lisbon, smiling staff and very helpful ( we were looking to rent a car and one employee made all the necessary to get us one with great effort... thanks Nunou!. Great wifi, rooms very comfortable directly on the street, no noise at all...excellent power shower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJMarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,620 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,873 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#34 of 255 in Lisbon
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#42 of 255 in Lisbon
1,550 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#43 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £80 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing