We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #39 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location and stylish”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to visit Lisbon; you are located by the main square where you can easily catch tram 15 to Belem or 28 to the castle. Only negative remark, the architect preferred style to practicality. For instance: there are only 3 electricity sockets in the room and 2 are at the floor level, there is no lighting for the desk area (so you have to rely on light coming from outside), if you are at the desk the curtains must be open (so you loose privacy), in the bathroom you have two bath robes but 1 hook, there you find only 1 shelf where you can put your stuff of 30cms x 10cms (which they use for the 2 glasses). This is definitely not an hotel for business travelers but great for holiday makers. I liked the nespresso coffee machine in the room (superior with square view), but the view was just sideways to the square (I would update the hotel description on booking sites). Breakfast was great in terms of variety and quality (basically almost all was home made, liked particularly the fruit juices) and staff at the front desk was extremely helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catello L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    440
    68
    20
    7
See reviews for
153
888
87
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and I must say, it was a fantastic choice!!!
First of all, the staff was hyper helpful and professional!!! They knew it was our anniversary and we were treated on the highest possible level! We got a rooftop suite as we have a little daughter and we used the little coffee room as an extra bedroom for her.
The location can't be better! Its very close to lots of shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. everything was within walking distance so we barely used our car.
The room was super modern, new and very clean.
The prices of the hotels are 100% fair and you get what you are paying for or even more.
The design of the hotel is great, very clean, fresh and trendy.
The only suggestion for them would be to improve the quality of the food menu in the restaurant(very poor menu, below average salads and sandwidges) and play some music to create some atmosphere(2 out of 3 nights there was no music in a restaurant and it was a bit awkward)
To conclude, WE WILL DEF BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohmyaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_Design_Hotel, Gerente geral at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly review of our hotel.
Our team’s goal is to provide our guests the best possible stay and I am glad we could make your wedding anniversary a memorable visit to the beautiful city of Lisbon.

Regarding the points you mentioned about the bar, we are working on it. In the last months we have been preparing a new menu and renovating the kitchen to open our new restaurant by end of May. Furthermore, we accepted your suggestion and increased our list with traditional portuguese food and drinks, while we don’t have the restaurant working 100%.
The music has been improved too.

I hope to welcome you again at Internacional Design Hotel in your next trip to Lisbon. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly to plan your reservation. We will be more than happy to give you our best offer.

Kind regards,

Sara Freire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Internacional Design Hotel mainly because of the excellent location and the amazingly friendly and helpful staff.

We opted for a street view room on the third floor and are so pleased that we did. The view from our room was stunning over Rossio Square and the street leading down to Commercial Square. We loved the little balcony off the room which allowed us to see these views.

The hotel staff both on the front desk and in the bar were extremely helpful and had a vast amount of knowledge regarding the local area which although we had done our research really helped us.

The hotel décor may not be to everyone's' taste but it was very relaxing. It was a pleasure to return to our room as it was very well cleaned and always smelt so fresh. (It was a Zen room).

We were unlucky with the weather during our stay (heavy rain restricted our going out some evenings) but we enjoyed sitting in the bar with drinks and looking out of the windows at night time. The views were magical in each direction. One evening they opened the balcony doors in the bar and had a cellist playing. This was a wonderful touch and really added to the atmosphere inside and outside the hotel.

When we did venture out we were delighted that we were only 5 mins away from Chiado by foot. In fact, the hotel location was perfect for nearly all the places we wanted to see and visit.

There were some minor negatives regarding the design of the room such as that for a stay of our duration (6 nights) there was insufficient wardrobe/drawer space for the amount of clothing and belongings we had brought with us and the few shelves that were in the wardrobe were difficult to access because of the positioning of a bedside table.

The ensuite bathroom in our room was small with a sliding frosted door which didn't afford much privacy and there was a full length mirror on the bedroom wall almost opposite the bathroom door the reflection of which added to the lack of privacy. These design scenarios can arise anywhere and we have to say that the management has responded constructively to our feedback so please do not let this deter you, just be aware that even the best of places can have minor issues.

Having said that, we found the room to be very relaxing and the sleep quality 100%. Coupled with the perfect location and the amazing staff we would not hesitate to return to stay at the International Design Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

our first time stayed at this hotel , was bit dissapointed thats because they gave us a room which on the 2nd floor and it was very noise from out side resto n you can hear peoples talk , laughs n banging from out side .. the room was very small but very stylish deco n clean as well , perfect location. But still disturb us when we tried to sleep :( but we felt in love with the cleaness n perfect location .

second visit we were just surpise , we had the room on the 4th floor , very nice clean as always and most of it you have a litle balcon window so you can have alook out side.
breakfast was Fab nice yummy and if you like champange for breakfast ... they have it.. as well

would love to go back there as i miss early in the morning when you open the window , this mellow sad or happy traditional portugese song that the restaurant on the street play and i kind of like it hehehehe....

ohh forget to mention the amenities are just divine ,i asked the lady who clean our room for a new one , she come and gave me 2 botles of body lotion and i took them back home as a sauvenir , due to the smell of them ...

the only thing i miss is the pool.... wonder if they have pool on the roof top and it would be perfect

Room Tip: higher room on the 4th floor are just the best... dont stay on the 2nd floor too noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putra76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel was so modern and was in the perfect location. We had an interior garden room which was great. Very spacious and modern for a european hotel. The metro is a 5 minute walk and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. The morning breakfast was definitely worth the price and had everything you could want (eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, yogurt, pastries, coffee, cappuccino, espresso, etc). The staff was friendly and gave us a great restaurant recommendation. At night we received a pastry or cookie delivered to our room. They even helped book our tours for us. We ended up staying an extra night and they checked on hotels.com to make sure they were giving us the best rate. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: They have rooms that face out on the plaza or interior rooms that have a window to the "garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJChelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triesen, Liechtenstein
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed on a short trip to lisboa in this hotel. The location was great, also the rooms and the staff. We were very well looked after.
The only disappointnent was the cleanliness. Our first room was very dusty we found even pubic hair on the bedside table. The staff at the reception gave us a very nice room after our complaint. We also thought that the breakfast buffet was ok but not great for a 4star hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maku11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the Internacional Design Hotel on our trip across Europe. It was very very lovely. Location is unbeatable. Staff really really amicable and friendly. They all spoke English perfectly which made it easier when it's your first time visiting a new country.

We arrived and they upgraded us to a suite with a view over the Rossia Square-it was so lovely and charming. The service was impeccable and we will definitely make this our only place to stay when we go back to Lisbon.

One thing that ultimately struck me... the attention to little design details across the hotel. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#15 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#34 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing