We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #46 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel had the friendliest, best service of any hotel I've stayed in. The staff are multilingual and eager to help or answer any questions. The location in the Rossio district is perfect for any sightseeing. We stayed here twice in our visit to Portugal and both rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast offered enough variety of foods to please anyone. I'd love to go back to Lisbon, and will definitely stay here if I do.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were good, but my favorite had a balcony looking out onto the pedestrian str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    449
    72
    20
    11
See reviews for
154
911
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem in Lisbon.

Perfectly situated, the rooms are spacious, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the price is right. A perfect base to have while visiting Lisbon. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyas85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went to Lisbon in April with friends and family as we had heard many great things about the place. It was pouring that heavily on upon arrival it actually buckled my umbrella! Gee whizz we thought - however the clouds soon dispersed and the factor 30 sun cream soon came out to play for the rest of the weekend (don’t like to be lobstered).

This hotel is situated right at the heart of the bustling city of Lisbon. The rooms on the “modern’ floor were extremely clean, well appointed if a little small. The staff were all very polite and gave us some great tips for sight seeing and restaurants. Certainly the best thing about the hotel was the breakfast that was served in a really cool and funky restaurant/bar. The chairs and lighting were stylish/urban and would not look out of place in MOMA. There were so many choices of brilliant savoury and sweet breakfast items (the cakes were to die for), and for the more “ruddy type” a glass of sparkling wine or two!

It was pleasing that it was possible to walk to most of the famous tourist sites from the hotel. Our favourite place to eat was Palmiera where they served the most “interesting” vegetarian dishes that contained octopus and ham. Yum.

We discovered a great little Ginginha bar on the steps en route to Bairro Alto, which is where all the bars and nightlight is to be found. We had a great night there and got to “hang” with the youth of Lisbon. We did not want to go and watch the famous Lisbon Fado (sad song) as we heard it was quite depressing and some people in our group are of a weak mental state, so perhaps next time. We were delighted to see some Hollywood stars on a night in Lisbon too. Kourtney Kardashian was doing a meet and greet in Commercial Square and my wife was MADE UP to get a picky and hug from her hunky husband Scott. Only in Lisbon!

The highlight of the weekend and a “must see” was a trip to the Oceanarium. We travelled by Metro which was the most convenient, however I would advise a cab from the hotel if you are a little poorly or claustrophobic. After 5 hours wait we saw the otters being fed which was simply mesmeric. We also saw them put their “waste” into their pocket. Wonderful.

There are two small criticisms of the city amongst the many great things: 1) The shopping was not so great, however we did quite enjoy guessing the price of the dusty bottles of port. 2) The No.28 tram is pony.

To conclude great city…AMAZING hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I had no expectation for this hotel. I booked it online at the very last minute. We felt as though we hit the jackpot. The location couldn't have been better, right in the centre of town. The staff were so kind and helpful.

Our room wasn't huge but it wasn't small either. We didn't wake up early enough to try the breakfast. However, we did try the cocktails and they were superb. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysonthemove79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

In a wonderful central location this hotel provided a warm welcome for 50 of us. It was difficult to get the coach close to unload our luggage and the hotel staff did it for us and put cases inour rooms. These were comfortable and clean with thistledown large beds. Breakfast was taken in a large light restaurant and the service was attentive without being overpowering. The charming decor - mismatched crockery (deliberate) and odd chairs, odd and unusual lights, made a delightful change from the ordianry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Handling a group of 50 discerning travellers is a challenge to any hotel and the Internacional Design Hotel in Lisbon did a superb job of making our group of art lovers from the UK's stay comfortable and pleasurable. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff, and our people have come away with delightful memories of their stay. Accommodating a group of this size can put pressure on a relatively small boutique hotel which clearly believes in offering a personalised service. The ID Hotel team rose to the occasion magnificently. It is always a bonus to be greeted on every occasion with a smile and an offer of help and the hotel staff followed this approach perfectly throughout our stay.We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts and the lunch menu and evening meals were also of a high standard. The location of the hotel is ideal and its high level of service and comfort make it the perfect choice for a Lisbon break, whether you are travelling in a group or individually.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Really liked the hotel, everyone was very friendly and the location was super. Only ten minutes from the airport and on Lisbons main shopping street. Only 10 minute walk from the Bairre Alto. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 248 in Lisbon
779 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 248 in Lisbon
604 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#20 of 248 in Lisbon
961 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing