We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #49 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located for a short stay in Lisboa/Lisbon. Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice room with a coffee maker!! Couldn't recommend this hotel more! Really good breakfast. Very close to bario alto very central.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Disco13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great location, helpful staff at reception, beautiful room for the bar. Rooms comfortable and the espresso machine in room is extremely welcome to coffee lovers. Free wifi a plus - as it should be these days. Other hotels should take note!! Would stay again without doubt.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Perfect central situation for exploring beautiful Lisbon. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Stylish, quirky and comfortable boutique style hotel is great for a quick visit to this fantastic city. Highly recommend. Also enjoyed the buffet breakfast - lots of choice and good quality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The location:
This hotel offered an extremely central location, which was a top priority for us. It is located just off Rossio Square, near to Barrio Alto, Chiado, and many main tram lines, including the 28 line that does a large loop popular with tourists and the 15 to Belem.

The theme:
The hotel is modern and design-oriented, so someone looking for a very traditional accommodation might look elsewhere. There are four floors of rooms, each with a different design theme (Urban, Tribal, Zen, and Pop). Rest assured that the unique design approach does not sacrifice any comforts. Besides the design, there are touches of humor throughout, including altered classic paintings, do not disturb signs that read "Get Lost", and a dining room in which each chair and teacup is unique. For someone traveling to several hotels in Portugal or elsewhere in Europe on one trip, it also offers a nice change of pace

Check in:
We arrived from the Algarve by train about an hour before check in and, though our room was not quite ready, the staff was very welcoming. They held our bags for us while we went to lunch nearby, and when we returned to retrieve them and head to our room, our bags were waiting for us there already, which was nice.

The room:
I was allocated a lovely room on the Tribal themed floor with a small balcony overlooking the Main Street and Rossio Square, which was lovely for people watching. For a European city hotel, the room was generously sized and very comfortable. The bathroom had a combination tub and shower, and featured L'Occitane toiletries, as well as robes and slippers. There was also a Nespresso machine for coffee/tea and complimentary mineral water, which was a nice touch.

The service:
We did not engage a lot with the staff, but whenever we did, they were very quick to act and satisfy any requests. On our way into the lobby on the 2nd day, I requested a bucket of ice to chill some cava we had with us, and someone delivered it to our room door in a matter of minutes. We also requested that they book a reservation for us at a restaurant, which they did very quickly.

The breakfast:
The breakfast was excellent. If not included in the room rate, it is available for a worthwhile 15 euros. The large spread was served in a cheekily decorated modern restaurant to suit the theme of the hotel, and also offered a lovely view of the square. It primarily consisted of a large serve yourself continental buffet including many lovely cheeses, meats, breads, jams, pastries (including delicious pastel de nata and other local specialties), little pots of yogurt with all of the fixings to make a custom parfait, fresh tropical fruits, freshly squeezed juices and smoothies, and even cava to make a morning mimosa. There was also a small hot section for more American tastes with scrambled eggs, bacon, and potatoes. Finally, there was the option for made to order pancakes/crepes and omelettes or egg scrambles with various fillings. This was not prominently featured, but a small placard on each table indicated this option.

Check out:
Check out was extremely pleasant and efficient. I was prepaid, but offered a copy of the invoice for my records. We had to get to the train station quickly and a gentleman from reception hailed a cab for us and helped us get all of our luggage to it.

Overall, our stay was very positive and both the service and facilities top notch. I would certainly stay here on my next stay in Lisbon, and I would heartily recommend that any visitor book here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I don't know what to mention first..the great friendly and helpful staff, the warm welcome, the amazing zen room, super breakfast, amazing location
Its not just a place to stay, its an experience which makes Lisbon even more attractive. Try it!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabimongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Hotel is very unique in its design. It has an interior garden when you can sit down with the different plants and have a quiet read. The breakfast lounge is also very original with a vintage look while the mugs and chairs are different for each table. Definitely worth the stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This is a truly great hotel! Great location, great service, cool interior (fantastic restaurant/bar/breakfast room) and AMAZING breakfast (maybe best ever). I would strongly recommend anyone going to Lisbon to stay at Internacional Design Hotel!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Johannamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#34 of 255 in Lisbon
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 255 in Lisbon
1,552 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#43 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £79 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing