We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb funky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #49 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb funky hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Stayed for 3 nights for hubby's 55th birthday. Loved the hotel one of the best city hotels we have stayed in. We had a ZEN room with balcony overlooking the rua and could see the praca Rossio and the Arco da Rua Augusta from it. The bar and dining room have a lovely atmosphere. As said before it is so close to all the sights.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    455
    75
    20
    12
See reviews for
159
920
88
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed here for 7 nights. The Location cannot be beat. The hotel is close to everything, the stations, overground, and underground, tourist sites, and not so tourist places. For those who want night life, Bairro Alto is 5 mins walk away, with great hidden gems. Tram 28, 5 min walk away. All other buses and trams are 30 seconds away. Back to the hotel...
Exterior: looks amazing...like a hollywood posh boutique.
Lobby: nice lights with an elevator that didnt work a few times.
Ambience in the lobby was lovely. Great music...and it did sooth the soul.
Rooms: we had a "M" room, small, as expected. We had a view of Rossio Square. Not particularly quiet. But you must expect this if your staying anywhere in the heart of a city.
The beds are more on the firm side.
Internet: Free, wired and wireless
Breakfast: This was included in the rate, and was 1st class!! hot and cold items, as well as custom made to order. Breads, fruits, cereals, 4 different fresh juices, regular and soy milk. salmon, a nice selection of cheeses. in a beautiful room, over looking Rossio and the shops of Rua Agusta.
Front Desk: ok, heres where its a bit funky. I received outstanding service from Marta. If she's there when you're there, i promise, your questions answered can be fully trusted. Theres a night guy, who runs the front desk, I asked him for an italian place, he told me of the most touristy one there was., and also told me there we no others near by. Guess what? A five minute walk from the hotel, you'll see at least 4 Italian places. We took a chance, and went to one of those, which was a local place(not touristy), and it was excellent, with nice ambience and good wine.
Marta on the other hand will tell you the touristy place, as well as the one she would go to with her boyfriend, if you wanted some local flavour. Marta makes us want to go back.
A sincere smile really goes a long way, as well as a genuine desire to assist.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunge411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Good location and the staff were friendly. However this hotel is simply not up to standard for a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. There is no proper check-in desk so expect long delays checking in or out. The rooms are dreadful. Ours was a "large room" but was frankly tiny. The bathroom fittings were poor quality and the bath was too small to function as a bath, the less said about the shower the better. The internet facilty was not working either through a cable or wireless. Flat screen TV was about 14 inch and laughable. The rooms are noisy but this is probably an unavoidable function of the location. If you are on a very tight budget, get a good deal and don't expect too much then this maybe the hotel for you. If you expect a luxury hotel with fixtures and fittings to match then this most certainly is not a hotel you will enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SW614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

This is in a great central location. It is a clean, functional hotel with basic facilities which served us well for a weekend break

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

This hotel is located right by the Rossio Metro and within walking distance to most everything in Lisbon. It is definately a unique hotel (i.e. we had pink toilet paper) but the service is great; anytime we had a question the staff was very helpful. They even gave us a laptop to use in the room which was nice. Also, the rooms and bathrooms are very clean.

I'd say the rooms are on the smaller side but definitely not an issue as I think you are really only in the room to relax and then just head right back out. The only drawback I would say about this hotel is that the entrance area/lobby is pretty small and did get a bit crowded at times but again, who cares about that. Check-in and check-out was a breeze also.

Overall I would stay here again if in Lisbon.

And while in Lisbon you definitely must go to Belem and eat the pastries everyone talks about!

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharvuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

ok let's strat with the cons: no proper working desk; we took the M room type, which for our standards is tiny. the only difference, as per the receptionist, with the S rooms, is that the S rooms have an internal view (thus might be quieter). that brings me to the other con- we had a room facing Rosio, even with the soundproof windows, you can still hear the traffic. once it gets late and no buses are running, it's quiet.
the pros are many: location; free WiFi, spotless, beautiful and comfortable room; nice amenities; wonderful breakfast- and it seems that everything here was thoroughly thought and is high quality made.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seawave1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I think it was kinda lucky of us to find this hotel at a nice price and when they are still presenting their qualities to the public since it is a new hotel in Lisbon (4 or 5 months?). Our room was not the best option (they have bigger rooms), but everything was in it`s right place. Staff so nice you wanna invite them to go out at night with you. Just the bethroom door, mad of glass, that could`nt give us any privacy. But even that can be faced in a humorous way, since you will be in a good mood for sure.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marcospais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,534 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 251 in Lisbon
802 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#22 of 251 in Lisbon
975 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#11 of 251 in Lisbon
621 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 251 in Lisbon
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing