We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, perfect, perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #41 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect, perfect, perfect!”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This hotel is a precious gem!! I was looking on the net for a very central touristic location since I had only 3 days to explore the city. Sometimes the very central hotels lean on their only good quality - being central - and you get a vacation of awful quality. Well, that was not the case!!!!! The entrance to the hotel is modern though very tiny and the hotel’s young staff is always there for you, Marian, Catarina, Sara and others. They are really great! Now about the room. The room I got was just perfect!!! It was really clean, everything in it is new (the hotel has been working now for a year or so), the bed & mattress provide a wonderful rest, the sheets were cozy and spotless, the shower room is great and you get special little toiletry items that fit the kind of room you get. Since the hotel has 4 different decoration concepts for the rooms, 4 themes, there are different items and even smells in each kind of room…I don’t really know about the other 3 themes but I was absolutely happy with mine, the "Zen" theme. What else? A safe, a robe, an espresso machine & great coffee, a 32" LCD TV and, the main treat, a big wooden door/window that leads to a small and beautiful balcony overlooking a main touristic square on one side and on the other side the main touristic Augusta St. that runs till a big arch near the Tagus river. Since I was by myself on that trip I preferred not to walk alone outside at night. Having a coffee on the balcony, overlooking the passersby and listening to the street music gave me the feeling that I'm not disconnected, and then when I wanted to sleep, the double glazing, blackout curtain (let's say 85% blocking) and the air conditioning did the perfect job. By the way, the hotel is so beautiful from outside that most passersby keep looking up to admire it from the street…(yes, I truly believe they were admiring the hotel and not admiring me…)
It is important to know that not all the rooms have a balcony, not all the rooms are reachable by the lift, the shower& toilet room has an opaque glass door that is not closed hermetically and of course there are different sizes & views for each room.
Well, I have been in hotels in my life, great ones and…others. This is not the most stupendous hotel regarding general facilities but when it comes to the most important thing- the room - all the small details make it a really great boutique hotel and provide the highest quality of relaxation I could possibly get, so later, outside, I was fresh to enjoy the hustle. Thanks to the great International Design Hotel Lisbon!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dash4520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    446
    70
    20
    8
See reviews for
154
897
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Internacional Design Hotel is well-located, especially for leisure travelers. Which I was not.

I like the conceit of the hotel -- the idea of designing each floor around a theme -- but the actual execution could be a bit amateurish. I stayed on the Pop, as in Pop Art, floor, and my room looked like something a 16-year-old girl would love -- all pink, with polka dots. It was a bit overstimulating, as I wanted to come back to my room to relax or work. That said, it just wasn't my taste.

More substantively, I found the service helpful, but sometimes, it could be a little inept in the pursuit of being helpful. For example, I waited nearly 10 minutes to check out, while the front-desk clerk, aided by the bellman, answered multiple questions and found multiple sites on a map for a couple of tourists. It took so long, it nearly made me late for my appointment, and it probably could have been solved by just one of them dealing with the tourists or by asking those guests if they minded waiting a minute, as there was no concierge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I truly recommend this hotel: It is central, nice and with an outstanding service.

They live to the design in their name to the last detail: from the rooms decoration (every floor has a theme, we stayed in Urban an Pop floors. I prefer the urban concept but if you like pop culture that is a definite option).

Breakfast is great, with plenty of offer, eggs cook to order, nespresso coffee, fresh fruit and juices, and everything, from china to the cut of the fruit or the cheese cake "in a glass", whit a design twist that is not disturbing at all.

The final detail is their service. From the concierge to the restaurant, everyone is happy to help you. You never get a no.

The location, in Rossio Square, is unbeatable, two minutes from the Santa Justa elevators, trams, taxis and metro nearby and plenty of restaurants. Once the restaurants are close the area stays silent and safe, with all the central Lisbon charm that you don`t find in more modern areas of Avenida da Liberdade and without the incredible crowds and noise of Barrio Alto (5 minutes away by foot anyway).

This hotel is an incredible choice for Lisbon. You won't regret!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARUANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

From the minute we checked in, the service and ambiance of this hotel was outstanding. The staff was so helpful, friendly, accomodating and welcoming. This was true of everyone from the check in staff, the bellmen and right on to the cleaning staff.

The location is superb. It is minutes from outstanding restaurants, transportation and shopping. The hotel is quiet and it is immaculate. The staff is fluent in English. The rooms (we had a "small" room for the 2 of us) was perfecty adequate and in fact, I thought it was large by European standards, We also appreciated the free WIFI internet service.

The hotel itself is fun, funky and comfortable. Itg is one of the nicest hotels I have visited in Europe. The value for the money is outstanding. I hightly recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FltAttendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This place was great. The staff was soooo helpful right from when you step inside the hotel. They are always willing to assist, where to take the nearest metro/train/tram, etc. They give you a complimentary drinks based on the theme of your room. Their lounge/bar/restaurant was a good place to unwind & just relax. The hotel was beautifully situated in the heart of everything (restaurants, metro, trams, train, shopping).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Had the greatest stay at this hotel!

They are friendly, helpful, and professional. The decor is so much fun and the location couldn't be better. You are near the city's center but not in an overly noisy neighborhood. Everything is easily accessible by foot and it is a great starting point to explore from.

They offered us a free drink upon our arrival and also let me fax something to the United States for free!

If you can score a room with a balcony it is well worth it. You will have lovely views and a unique experience!!!

Would definitely go back! I miss it already!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Great location, and the service and helpfulness of the staff are second to none. We had to leave for the airport too early to catch the breakfast, so we asked for a light breakfast “to go”. I was expecting a sandwich or a light snack, but we were given an excellent breakfast with several sandwiches, coffee, mango juice, fresh fruit salad, custard tarts, croissants etc, and they didn’t even charge us for it. Add free wi-fi and free welcome drinks in the bar, and you get the idea.

The only con was the frosted bathroom glass door, it might suit the modern design of the hotel, but I’d prefer a bit more privacy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank th0mas0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 246 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 246 in Lisbon
2,651 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#29 of 246 in Lisbon
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 246 in Lisbon
586 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 246 in Lisbon
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing