We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need sleep....don't stay here !!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suico Atlantico Hotel
Ranked #196 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Quaint hotel in brilliant location for Rossio Square, however the hotel is the noisiest
I have ever stayed in. It's in a small back street which you'd think would help keep the noise levels down.....certainly not the case !!! The bin wagon comes round at 2:40 am most days and wakes up the whole street. People seem to stand in the street talking for hours, right under the windows which have to be open due to the air conditioning not working !!....The rain clatters against the metal window blinds and sounds like you are in a tin can !!!
The rooms that have not been renovated are small, old, dark and dingy.
We asked to be moved due to the noise and air con, we were moved from the 1st floor to the 4th floor, which made no differece at all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usafreakWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2009

I stayed here for three nights with friends in Oct 2009. The hotel is just off the Placa Restaurdores in the centre of the city. It is within a couple of hundred yards of the Aerobus stop from the airport. One side of the building is on a very steep slope up to a small park and viewing area, on the edge of the Barrio Alto. A funicular railway runs up the centre of the slope (Euros 1.40 single fare). We were given rooms on the right hand side of the hotel (when viewed from front). My room was on the top floor (5th). The exterior of the hotel is dirty and unpleasant. The front is in a narrow street opposite the rear of an office building and a large barred gate. The room was small with two scruffy mattresses and lumpy pillows. The walls and floors were clean but slightly damaged and very dated. The wardrobe, side tables and dressing table (no chair) were 1960's or 70's brown wooden things, with lots of scratches and signs of damage. The small bathroom had a toilet and bath with a shower fitting. The bath base had a large piece missing from the enamel which had rusted, other chips had been disguised with white paint. The small balcony gave good views over the roofs of the surrounding buildings. The towels were changed each day and the room was cleaned. The towels were thin and small. Soap was provided but no shampoo. Breakfast was a typical cold continental self service affair. Although there was a small choice no limit was placed on the amount that could be eaten. This hotel needs a major refurbishment. It is okay for short stopovers where location is more important than quality. Suited to groups of men on a budget weekend away who only use it to sleep in. Clean but scruffy sums it up.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kejoriStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Hello, I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. I had the misfortune to get a room on the street side on the 2nd floor. This means a lot of noise from anything that goes on on the street since its small it echoes quite bad. Since there is no air conditioning, you have to sleep with the window open, which at some point it won't let you sleep because of all the loud noises coming from the small street. Another very bad thing, is that at 9am you get woken up by the cleaning ladies which talk and yell to each other all the time from one side of the hall to the other, non stop. You'll hear vacuum cleaners, loud door shutting, and many noises that added to the noise outside you simply cannot sleep. The building is quite old, the room too, the bathroom was pretty much falling apart, and I even got a torn bed sheet. In general, I would not recommend you this hotel if you want to rest. The only great thing about it is the location which is ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed at the Turim Suisso Atlantico Hotel for 3 nights which is only 100 meters away from the city center tourist information.
First we got a room directly besides the elevator which was very loud and we couldn't left open the windows without being afraid of thieves because of a fire ladder passing our windows. Happily when we complained we got another room which was much better and had a small balcony.
The new room was small and clean but not in best condition and beds not very comfortable.
The close to tram elevator makes some noise every 20 minutes or so also during night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dankoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel with my spouse. I would say the best part of the hotel is its location: right in the city centre, sights and shops within walking distance, funicular and metro just beside the hotel... The worst part was not having air conditioning in room (but you could keep windows open all night which helped a little). Otherwise no major feelings one way or another: rooms were clean and ok sized, staff was ok, breakfast was ok (toasts and coffee). Given the price, I was happy with it and I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The hotel is located nicely just off Ave de Liberdade and the airport bus stops right next to the road it's on. There's also a Metro stop right round the corner and the Barrio Alto area (good cheap restaurants and bars) is less than a 10 minute walk away (It only takes that long because it's up a steep hill, as are most things in Lisbon!!).

The hotel itself was fine if not great. Our room was clean and a decent size and although there was some slight noise from the main road around the corner it never kept us awake!! Breakfast was your avereage continental breakfast but was extremely busy.

The hotel itself could do with some sprucing up (particularly the bar/breakfast room) but the best aspect of the hotel is it's position. If you're not planing on spending all your time in the room and you want easy access to transport as well as a short stumble home after a night out then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spuds81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Hotel being partially refurbished.
Well situated right in the centre of Lisbon.
Don't wait for a warm welcome. People running the hotel on daily basis aren't very welcoming, not even the ladies in the breakfast room ( which is too small for the number of tourists).
Clean room and old-fashionned bathroom. You'd better ask to have a room on the rear of the hotel, not on the street if you want to get a chance to sleep!
Basic but sufficient comfort in Spring but must be stuffy in summer.
His best points: its localisation.
Bad points: the lack of kindness to the clients, they don't even pretend!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rouanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Do Chile
#170 of 255 in Lisbon
151 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Hotel Borges Chiado
Hotel Borges Chiado
#158 of 255 in Lisbon
1,057 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pestana CR7 Lisboa
Pestana CR7 Lisboa
#46 of 255 in Lisbon
335 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#88 of 255 in Lisbon
733 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#126 of 255 in Lisbon
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suico Atlantico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suico Atlantico Hotel

Address: Rua da Gloria 3 19, Lisbon 1250-114, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £47 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Lisbon, near Praça dos Restauradores / Av. da Liberdade and close to Lisbon's main shopping area. It can also be found nearby main ways of transport such as bus, underground, train, taxi and is only 15 minutes far from the airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suico Atlantico Lisbon
Hotel Suico Atlantico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing