We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and grossly over-priced”
Review of Palacio Belmonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palacio Belmonte
Ranked #149 of 433 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing and grossly over-priced”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Palacio Belmonte is a fabulous building with lovely views over Lisbon but it fell short of our expectations in so many ways. Although the staff were superficially very friendly and helpful they were very far from what one would expect from what we had thought would be a top class hotel. They seemed to treat the hotel like their own house, right up to the point of wandering into our room without knocking on one occasion.
The room was beautiful and full of character but so many things were not right with it. The furniture was very uncomfortable and the bathroom was basic to say the least. The lack of air conditioning meant the windows had to be open at night, making it impossible to get a good night’s sleep due to the noise of the city. The building is also a bit of a rabbit warren but don’t expect anyone to understand that it is easy to get lost in a strange building with no signs on any of the numerous anonymous doors.
The biggest disappointment was the food. On our last night we decided to eat at the hotel as we had had a number of rather forgettable meals in Lisbon and wanted something special. We were initially told we could not do this because we had not given the required 24 hours notice (we had given 23 hours notice and the required notice was actually 12 hours). After being made to feel as though we were making a nuisance of ourselves by trying to order dinner we were offered a “simple meal” of soup, bread and cheese, which we accepted as the best we were likely to get. We also had a bottle of rather mediocre wine which the “waitress” proceeded to pour all over the table with the excuse that she had “never poured wine before”. We were utterly appalled when we checked out and found that our “simple meal” had cost nearly 200 Euros.
We tried not to feel too bitter about the experience as we didn’t want our experience of Palacio Belmonte to spoil our memories of Lisbon. We ended up letting the hotel know what we thought of their prices when they contacted us a few weeks later to say they had forgotten to charge us for a taxi fare and they would be taking the money from our credit card. When we told them (politely) what we thought about the cost meal we had there, they seemed surprised and pointed out that they only charged us 10 Euros each for a small slice of cheese!
Although the hotel itself is beautiful there are many other more beautiful buildings in Lisbon that you can go in for free. This really isn’t worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank claire n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalacioBelmonte, Owner at Palacio Belmonte, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Sir

What we can say in a moment of rage!… when you left smiling and wrote in our book:
”Beautiful and peaceful place in a beautiful city. The restoration of the palace is wonderful – each room has a new surprise. I hope we will be back.”
(Just because the girl asked you to charge a transfer she had missed to include in the bill…).

I don’t have much to say, just that you forgot to mention quite a few items in the “very good dinner” (your words) and that you probably missed to see the menu in your suite.
It’s also rare to hear any city noise at the top of the hill, what a misfortune! The client after you in Ricardo Reis said “Even insomniacs sleep in your beds”
I can’t think of what might have disturb you but of course you could have closed the window, the ventilation is done while guests are away
We all have those little moments…. I know you loved it because you wished to come back !

With kind regards
maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    13
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
44
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights in the Richard Ruiz Suite at Palacio Belmonte in May of 2012 and were thoroughly delighted with our accommodations and the hotel itself. The hotel is located in a former palace that has been beautifully restored and remodeled to include modern conveniences. A number of lovely public rooms and terraces are available for guest use, many with the original tiles that provided the décor for the palace.

The Ruiz Suite consisted of 4 rooms at the top of a spiral stairway with a small terrace overlooking the city and the Targus River beyond. The walls of the bedroom were covered with the beautiful tiles mentioned earlier. The living room was spacious and bright. There was also a commodious bathroom and galley kitchen.

The owner and staff at the Palacio Belmonte could not have been more accommodating. Not only were they interesting to visit with, but quite helpful with recommendations for sights to see and restaurants to eat in. All in all it was truly a first class experience and well worth the cost.

Room Tip: The Richard Ruiz Suite was spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EWLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you are looking for an exclusive place, far from standardised hotels. Some kind of luxury bed and breakfast in a real palace with real classical furniture and with a wonderful crew, Palacio Belmonte is the place. Everything is perfect there !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Palacio Belmonte certainly does not come cheap but the expense is more than justified by what must be its considerable upkeep costs. the unique experience it offers is worth every cent. Guests have the run of the hotel with its sprawling rooms, filled with antiques, books and art objects. The place is not luxurious in the conventional sense but effortlessly elegant. A very special place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Place is very beautiful room which we had too,service very good,beautiful views,but not every taxi driver knows road to it,it's hidden inside city and as somebody previously says u must ring to the gates and wait till somebody will wake up in the mid of the night to open the door for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaKitty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

This place is so much more than a hotel. We never wanted to leave and still miss the people and the beautiful rooms. The owners are warm, brilliant people with impeccable taste and a love of history, art, and architecture that touches every aspect of the experience from the worn stone steps and restored azulejo murals to the unique personal touches in each room. The staff reflects the owners' warmth and attention to detail. We loved it so much, we came back early from the Algarve, just so we could have a few more nights to soak up the place. To wake up to breakfast on the terrace in the palace on top of the hill that overlooks all of Lisbon....living like royalty! This hotel alone will bring us back for another visit to Lisbon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbranscomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2011

In the heart of Lisbon, a few steps away from the Castelo S. Jorge, the Palacio Belmonte is Lisbon´s oldest palace. You almost dont notice it as you walk up the cobbled street up to the large wooden red door. Beautifully restored by the hand of its present owners, with meaningful and quirky pieces of art scattered all over the suites and the differerent rooms of the palace, it´s almost like sleeping in a private museum. The suites are very spacious and all unique, with arty features and plenty of books and music, although there are no mod-cons such as TVs or DVDs but the bathrooms are definitely modern and just as spacious. The views of Lisbon and the Tagus river from the various windows and terraces are breathtaking. You dont expect to find a garden with huge orange trees and a pool here and although it was January when I stayed there, I just wanted to sit there and read a book in the afternoon sun overlooking the city...A place for total romance or to just get away from it all and reconnect with the luxury of lost time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#10 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
memmo Principe Real
#41 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Belmonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Belmonte

Property: Palacio Belmonte
Address: Patio Dom Fradique 14 | Castelo, Lisbon 1100-624, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 433 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palacio Belmonte 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Belmonte there is no crowd, no noise, no chocolate on the pillow, no television, just fresh air, space, light, your own laughter and music. For an experience beyond compare, far back to our roots, to our childhood, to fantasy, let Palacio Belmonte be your house while discovering the wonderland of Portugal. Palacio Belmonte offers 10 suites, all different, all unique, some with terraces, winter garden or built in a Roman tower with 360º view or in a Muslim one on top of a 40 meters high rock, all equipped with fully modern bathrooms, natural ventilation, a Mediterranean garden and black marble swimming pool to relax, read or dream. House of the Earl of Belmonte, Cabral and the Marquis of Atalaia for the past 500 years, the Belmonte is a stunning sculpture, a 2197 years synthesis of Portuguese history. It became a few years ago the House of a Landscape Collector. He then decided to open his house to a very few for whom luxury is synonymous of encountering one's emotions. Palacio Belmonte prides itself on delivering memorable unique customized experiences for those who choose to stay with us. For this reason Palacio Belmonte suggest experiences that can be personalized for you, whether it be a fabulous sunset in a yacht on the Tejo River, a private tour to unique architectural features of old Lisbon, your own private Fado singer, a special day out with wine, olive oil tastings and Lusitano horses in the Alentejo or maybe a dinner at the unique local "Tascas" in which you will experience the real authentic Portuguese hospitality. The Belmonte is the most veiled secret in Lisbon... And definitely a place to experience! History, Architecture, Culture, Sustainable Development... Here you will not find a standard accommodation but a single life option! While receiving the highest level of service, you will be merged by this deep philosophy of well being, exclusivity, simplicity, natural comfort, intimacy and introspection. Palacio Belmonte is a real alternative way of life... Come join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacio Belmonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Belmonte Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing