We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good and tiny rooms and especially bathroom/toilets”
Review of Pensao Globo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pensao Globo
Ranked #217 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Too expensive. 50 euros for a very small double room in May! We asked for bigger one and got a little more spacious double for 60. In the first room hardly room to put tings, no wardrobe, no drawers. In both rooms toilet/bathroom too small. In first room the knee hit a slab under wash basin, when sitting on toilet. Had to sit at an angle. We are both, not big and not over 155 cm tall. Showers- just enough standing room only. No ventilation in them. Staff not friendly, except one night attendent. Do not trust the photos on their website. Reception in dingy cellar without windows and so small, do not match the picture. Altogether too expensive for what you get. For 10 more euros we could have got almost a 4 star hotel room. Pluses though - quiet place although centrally placed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bandazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2008

Friendly staff, practical location (for Bairro Alto) and moderate prices. No breakfast, but there's a pleasant outdoor café in a small park up the street. And a restaurant next door, which was a little too eager to please.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We stayed several nights in the double room on the top floor, which had a lovely balcony with a nice view over the roof tops. The service was great and very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay there, the room was nice and clean and the beds were good. Carrying our luggage up the stairs was the only bad thing, since the place doesn't have a lift, however, everything else made up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delphinehav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2007

We booked our stay at the Pensao Globo after recommendations from friends that had stayed there just a few months before us.

It turned out to be a great place, located in the heart of the Barrio Alto in Lisbon but on a quiet side street. The staff were very friendly and helpful, specially when we needed some assistance with renting a car.

While this place might not attract someone who wants to spend a lot of time in the room it's a great upgrade from a hostel. Rooms are quite small but they come ensuite and with a TV (mainly Portuguese channels but better than nothing), and at the price of 35 Euros per night we couldn't find anything to complain about.

We stayed here for 3 nights, rented a car through then and toured Portugal and then came back here for our last night as well!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Kalthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Basel, Switzerland
14
Reviewed 24 June 2006

hotel is in middle of the "party" quarter with loads of bars and restaurants.
our room: 40 Euro for 2 per night: small bed but okay, +/- loud if you want to sleep longer.
very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MariaRosaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W2372NTpatriciab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#157 of 255 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hotel Anjo Azul
Hotel Anjo Azul
#162 of 255 in Lisbon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#34 of 255 in Lisbon
891 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#55 of 255 in Lisbon
1,628 reviews
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#155 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Globo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Globo

Address: Rua da Teixeira 37 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-459, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Pensao Globo Lisbon
Pensao Globo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing