We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Hotel Portuense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Portuense
Ranked #139 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Four friends stayed here for 5 nights from 28 March - 2 April. Brill Hotel with very central location. Easy access to restaurants, shops, transport etc. Hotel staff are brilliant - family orientated and very helpful - really made our stay enjoyable. The hotel was very clean and if you left your key at reception they would clean it for you. The showers are like power showers - very impressive.

The only negatives were the breakfast and the thinness of the walls. The breakfast is literally croissants, bread and jam so if you want more than this in the morning you will have to walk up to the square. There is a lovely restaurant there called Suica which did eggs, bacon, hot dog suasages and toast. Most other restaurants only did continental and Mcdonalds didnt do breakfast at all! The walls are extremely thin so even four of us just talking and having a laugh caused complaints so be wary of this. This didn't spoil our holiday at all and for the price, friendliness and location it can't be beaten. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor at least this way you are only disturbing people on your floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCMManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    248
    75
    26
    9
See reviews for
101
139
94
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just got back from a 5 day stay, the hotel is quite basic but clean. The TV has only 3 channels non in English, but if you aren't planning on watching TV then this isn't a problem and we weren't so it was ok. The bathroom is clean and the shower pressure was a great surprise as it looks quite basic and then the pressure is surprisingly strong. The location is great as it is centrally located. The staff are very helpful and did recommend some good restaurants and sites to see. The only downsides to the hotel was the breakfast was too continental for me and a friend because we liked a good breakfast when on holiday, but then it was great for the others in our party and as we were central to lots of restaurants and cafes, we went out for our full English bacon and eggs which was not a problem. The other problem was that because we were a group of women on holiday, who did get a little loud from time to time and the walls were paper thin, there were the odd request to keep the noise down which we did and the management and staff still remained friendly towards us. Apart from those two minor things, everything was great, definitely well recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

It is a basic hotel but is excellent value for what you pay.
The room I stayed in was very clean. It was on the first floor overlooking the street. I slept very well on the three nights I stayed.
The staff were extremely helpful, and were able to provide a hairdryer as I had forgotten mine.
The location is excellent, close to the bus stop for the airport, and within a close walking distance of all the beautiful things to see and do in Lisbon.
I thoroughly recommend the Pensao Residencial Portuense.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We booked this hotel for its great location, the good reviews here on Tripadvisor and of course for the what we found more than reasonable price. And we weren't disappointed. We got room 101 at the backside of the hotel on the first floor, which is pretty small and has not much of a view. But who cares, as we were out and about all day and only used it to sleep. When we first arrived the curtains were closed, the room hot and there was this funny smell hanging in the air. We tried to put on the airconditioning, but there wasn't any air coming out of it. So we just opened the window and that did the trick. No more funny smells for the rest of our vacation and the temperature was all right too. The only problem sleeping with the window open was the noise coming from the street behind the hotel, but hey what do you expect at a hotel so centrally located? The bathroom is tiny, but spottless and it has been quite recently refurbished. Water pressure of the shower was excellent.
The staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful. There is indeed not much choice at the breakfast buffet, but that seems to be normal in Portugal and Spain, where people don't have much of a breakfast themselves. So I'd say 'When in Rome, do as the Romans do.'
But the best thing about this hotel is its location. Public transport, restaurants, shops and the sights of the city center are all within walking distance. And at around 52 € a night for a double room with ensuite it was really great value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissdutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This place had the best price in the best location which is why we booked it. It is very centrally located, right next to the metro, walkable to every site in the city. Little did we know it also has the best staff, very helpful. Pointed us to the best restaurant experience of our 6-day stay away from the tourist trap areas, we were so thankful.

Of course the rooms are simple, beds aren't comfortable by american standards, but for the price it is perfect, triple room was very spacious, clean. Awesome water pressure in shower, free wifi downstairs, and of course breakfast was simple but I liked the bread and the coffee with milk was awesome! (as everywhere in Portugal)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmeirense1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed one night in March. The location is great, right in the heart of the city and only
few steps from the airport bus. The Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful Also my room on the top floor toward the backside of the Hotel was bright and spotless clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17Esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Can't really add much to the general tenor of reviews - just to emphasise that they are true! This hotel offers simple, clean accomodation with free wi-fi and a decent, simple breakfast in a splendidly central location at remarkably reasonable rates. We had a room on the 5th floor which was totally quiet (apart from hearing the shower in the next room); the staff were very friendly and helpful. It is very easy to get to the hotel using the airport bus but the taxi the hotel found for us to return cost less than €10; the Lisbon transport system is excellent and the hotel is VERY well-placed; worth getting a travel card at the post office just around the corner and charging it up to the daily limit for the days you want to use it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#138 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#163 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Residencial Florescente
Residencial Florescente
#85 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#96 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portuense

Property: Hotel Portuense
Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 157, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The hotel is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing