We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal”
Review of Hotel Portuense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Portuense
Ranked #161 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Simple, quiet and safe. And close of everything. A lot of good and cheap restaurantes near. Excellent staff. Nice room but with only basic stuffs. Don´t expect too much and enjoy. The location (and price) is unique. The breakfast could be better, but "you get ehat you pay".

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luiz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

For under £20 a night per person for a triple room including a breakfast of fresh crusty bread rolls, this is an excellent hotel. The room was clean and the shower we had was lovely. The staff all had good English. Given the price, you can't expect luxurious extras, but the main things - helpful staff, cleanliness and a nice continental breakfast - were all there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank librarian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the hostel for two nights. The location is great, central but not too noisy. The hotel offers parking in their garage for 10€.
The best with this hotel is the very helpful staff, who give good advice for the first time Lisbon visitor.
The rooms are very spartan, reminding me of a monastery, no paintings on the walls and nothing that I would call charming. However, the rooms were clean and the facilities were working just fine. Wifi works fine in the lobby, but not in the rooms.

Breakfast was rather simple too, but their bread buns tasted well.
I would recommend this hotel for visitors who are more interested in the city than in the hotel. You get a clean, simple lodging for the night at a reasonable price, but if you're looking for more luxury maybe you should try something else. And what really makes it worth the money is the great staff.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Joaadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

For the price I was surprised at the level of service provided by all the staff I encountered on my all too short stay. Any questions were answered and tips given on the area. Being a solo traveller it is important to feel safe and all the staff made me feel welcome and extremely safe. The location is great even although fairly central still quite quiet. The single room size was fine, however the bathroom was tiny but fully functional and clean. I would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Location was terrific and service even better. Great tips from management (family-owned and operated) on getting around, local restaurants, etc. Room on 5th floor front was quiet and a/c worked fine. Bathroom big, bedroom small. Bed a little hard and bedding about what you would expect for the price, but no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy1121_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Four friends stayed here for 5 nights from 28 March - 2 April. Brill Hotel with very central location. Easy access to restaurants, shops, transport etc. Hotel staff are brilliant - family orientated and very helpful - really made our stay enjoyable. The hotel was very clean and if you left your key at reception they would clean it for you. The showers are like power showers - very impressive.

The only negatives were the breakfast and the thinness of the walls. The breakfast is literally croissants, bread and jam so if you want more than this in the morning you will have to walk up to the square. There is a lovely restaurant there called Suica which did eggs, bacon, hot dog suasages and toast. Most other restaurants only did continental and Mcdonalds didnt do breakfast at all! The walls are extremely thin so even four of us just talking and having a laugh caused complaints so be wary of this. This didn't spoil our holiday at all and for the price, friendliness and location it can't be beaten. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor at least this way you are only disturbing people on your floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just got back from a 5 day stay, the hotel is quite basic but clean. The TV has only 3 channels non in English, but if you aren't planning on watching TV then this isn't a problem and we weren't so it was ok. The bathroom is clean and the shower pressure was a great surprise as it looks quite basic and then the pressure is surprisingly strong. The location is great as it is centrally located. The staff are very helpful and did recommend some good restaurants and sites to see. The only downsides to the hotel was the breakfast was too continental for me and a friend because we liked a good breakfast when on holiday, but then it was great for the others in our party and as we were central to lots of restaurants and cafes, we went out for our full English bacon and eggs which was not a problem. The other problem was that because we were a group of women on holiday, who did get a little loud from time to time and the walls were paper thin, there were the odd request to keep the noise down which we did and the management and staff still remained friendly towards us. Apart from those two minor things, everything was great, definitely well recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#130 of 255 in Lisbon
901 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
1,268 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#200 of 255 in Lisbon
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel LX Rossio
Hotel LX Rossio
#190 of 255 in Lisbon
300 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#167 of 255 in Lisbon
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portuense

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 157, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £47 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The hotel is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing