We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Lisboa!”
Review of Hotel Portuense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portuense
Ranked #162 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I absolutely love Pensao Portuense. It is by far the best quality for value. The staff are practically my adopted family. I feel warm and welcome every time I arrive, and I know I am welcomed with open arms. It is easy access to all of the main sights, and I feel safe whenever I stay. I have gone every year for the past 8 years, and I would not choose to stay anywhere else in Lisboa! Last year, I actually rented a car, and it was also nice to have a place to park. THANK YOU PORTUENSE!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Pensao Residencial Portuense.
It is in a great location for touring the city. You can sleep peacefully without noise. It is very easy to find and the airport bus drops you off within 3 minutes of the door. The hotel is very clean and the breastfast bufffet of rolls, jams, croissant coffee and juice keep you full till lunchtime.The owners are very helpful and speak very good english. You can leave your luggage safely here free of charge on the day of your departure and collect later in the day.
I will return on my next visit.

Room Tip: For a single room 4th floor room 404 front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderlust195216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is an extremely good value hotel in a great location. The staff were extremely helpful with every question I had, from where to eat to how to get on the subway. The rooms are small but quiet and comfortable, and the location is right smack in the middle of Lisbon, within walking distance of any of the sights in the center of town. Downsides: the wifi only worked in the dining room and the lobby, and the continental breakfast was very basic: just several varieties of bread (though very good bread) along with water, orange juice, or coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinwparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I have stayed here on three separate occasions and each time have had a pleasant stay at a good price. Nothing fancy but clean and air conditioned. A family owned and run business. Very central location but quiet. Breakfast could be improved but suffices

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve-n-tonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and found the location just perfect, so central to everything especially the train station. No complaints with the room however the wifi signal was incredibly weak and you needed to sit in the lobby to get any decent reception.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We arrived in Lisbon with 1/2 our travel party sick from Morocco. While that is a long story, I can tell you that the people at this hotel went out of their way to be concerned and helpful. They did our laundry (for 15e) and let me bring breakfast upstairs. Considering the location, their price is half what the big hotels charge nearby with just as nice rooms. Parking at 10e/night is perfect; just realize you will not move your car the whole time there so unload it all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpstateRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Simple, quiet and safe. And close of everything. A lot of good and cheap restaurantes near. Excellent staff. Nice room but with only basic stuffs. Don´t expect too much and enjoy. The location (and price) is unique. The breakfast could be better, but "you get ehat you pay".

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luiz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#127 of 255 in Lisbon
939 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#217 of 255 in Lisbon
361 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#83 of 255 in Lisbon
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Graça & São Vicente
Tings Lisbon
Tings Lisbon
#109 of 255 in Lisbon
42 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lis - Baixa
Hotel Lis - Baixa
#134 of 255 in Lisbon
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portuense

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 157, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £78 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The hotel is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing