We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff. clean. great location and value”
Review of Hotel Portuense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portuense
Ranked #158 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We would definitely choose this hotel again. the first time made a very good impression. Upon returning to Lisbon a few weeks later to another pre-booked hotel and finding they had given our room away we called this place and knowing our desperate state they didn't take advantage. They charged us the same rate. Showed much integrity. Hard working staff. Family run place.
very clean. terrific location for getting around on foot and for catching tour buses (some of the more expensive hotels have poor locations)

We thank Pensao Residencial Portuense from the bottom of our hearts!
janetd whitby

Room Tip: our room on the 5th floor at the front had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is a nice basic hotel near the center of the Baixa downtown area. It's close to the air bus stop. The rooms are basic and clean, just big enough for a bed. It's on a nice side street, which a few blocks away is known for a row of seafood restaurants. It's within walking distance of all the sites. Breakfast is pretty basic. A good value in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbag12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

In 2009 I stayed at this place with my father and this year, on my way to the US with TAP, I took the opportunity to stop over in Lisbon and stay here again.

Lisbon is a great city, a hidden gem, and Pensao Residencial Portuense is part of it.
First of all, it’s conveniently located close to Praça dos Restauradores where the Airport Bus (Aerobus) stops. And from Praça dos Restauradores, where there is also a metro station, you can walk everywhere or walk to nearby square Praça da Figueira and take some scenic trams (don’t miss tramline #28).

In regards to the part of the street where Pensao Residencial Portuense is found, it’s a small cobblestone stretch, not busy at all, which means that there is almost no noise at night. In addition room windows are new and keep possible noise out, so this place is very quiet (in some previous reviews people mention the noise from other rooms but fortunately I didn’t experience this).

With reference to the rooms, although they are not fancy at all, they are very clean, renovated (it’s an old building) and spacious (I’m attaching a couple of pictures). Beds are also comfortable, the staff is very friendly, and the breakfast..., well, it’s not a first class buffet but if you eat all it offers, you can resist until lunch (and if you don’t resist, then grab some delicious “pastéis de nata” -egg tart pastries- in any “pastelaria” –pastry shop).
Enjoy Lisbon and if you stay here, I hope it is as satisfying as it has always been for me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were three friends sharing a room with three beds for two nights. It was a bit small but it worked out OK. Clean room, nothing fancy nor renovated but OK standard for the price and the location. Not noisy. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean bathroom. The breakfast is a bit poor. Basically you get a decent room to a cheap price in the heart of Lisabon. Recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesterdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was recommended this hotel by a friend. It lived up to expectations. It is no luxury hotel. Clean, smack in the middle of the city, still very little street noise on a saturday night. It does what it´s supposed to and nothing more. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Walls are paper thin, so maybe not a good choice for light sleepers.
I stayed in room 105 which is a single, rather small with a large bathroom. They might consider fixing the sagging staff holding the shower curtain.

I would come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocobellococo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Read the comments here and selected this hotel for a 2 night stay. I got a triple room to myself. The bathroom is very clean which I find important. Walls are thin, I could hear the couple next door going at it so... think about that:)

As mentioned by all others, the breakfast is basically a cup of coffee and some less tasty pastry and jam, and a glass of orange juice. It works but... well... yeah. For the free WiFi you need to ask for the passkey at the desk and it's is only available in the lobby but they have some nice chairs there so just sit down and surf.

Everyone except the guy working night speaks English well. On the other hand he was the happiest dude I've seen working night:)

All good, you will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel was perfect for what we needed! A warm bed , and a beautiful view & location. Get a room with a balcony! Breakfast is not so great...its just bread and jam.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudia987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 254 in Lisbon
1,240 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#125 of 254 in Lisbon
881 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 254 in Lisbon
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#165 of 254 in Lisbon
174 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#198 of 254 in Lisbon
220 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#149 of 254 in Lisbon
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portuense

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 157, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £52 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The hotel is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing