We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in Spartan setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Portuense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portuense
Ranked #139 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value in Spartan setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were here with family (3 children 16,13,11) in two rooms. The rooms are small but efficient, we had two rooms on the fifth floor with balcony and view on desintegrating buildings, pretty normal in Lissabon. The site is perfect although when walking to the city you have to cross the touristic area with restaurants and their irritating owners, who want to convince you to choose theirs.
The personnel very helpful and car can be parked in nearby garage for 10 euro/day.
Wifi is disappointing and sticks to the reception where all guests gather with PC's, Ipads and phones to check email etc. Also the breakfast is nutritious but simple. All in all great value with spartan treat. When you don't need a hotel to stick around and pay for superfluous details this hotel is a perfect choice.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter but take more time to reach (with lift) Lower floors perhaps Wifi reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    247
    75
    26
    9
See reviews for
101
138
94
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

I recently brought a group of adults with various intellectual and developmental disabilities to Lisbon. We LOVED everything about Lisbon! Beautiful city and wonderful people. My fellow chaperone and I agree that the Portugese people are some of the most helpful, kind and friendly people we have met on our travels around the globe. The family and staff at the Pensao Residencial Portuense are among the best people that we met. The hotel is located on a quiet street in the heart of the city. There are many sites, shops and restaurants within a short walk from the hotel. It's one block off of Restauradores Square and three blocks from Rossio Square. Two of the most beautiful squares in Lisbon, and great for people watching, shopping, eating and easy transportation to anywhere in and around Lisbon. The rooms at the hotel are large, clean and very comfortable. The lobby and breakfast room are also immaculately clean and comfortable with plenty of places to sit and relax. They have wireless internet access available on the ground floor. The continental breakfast includes these incredibly delicious, large, crusty rolls fresh from the bakery each day, and really nice strong coffee. Loved the coffee! Many thanks to Sadiq and Hussein, and also to your father, mother and staff, for your patience and kindness to our group. I really appreciated your emails before the trip to help me in booking the rooms for the group as well as after we arrived. Your taking the time to mark all the key points on our map to help us navigate the city and your suggestions for dining, sight seeing and transportation were invaluable. I hope to travel to Lisbon again in the future and we will plan to stay with you again. I can't imagine staying with anyone else!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysTraveling15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Yes, it's cheap but this place is very depressing. I shortened my stay there and moved to Gat Rossio nearby. There are better places in Lisbon even within this price range. Two Portuguese old men who worked there were very nice, though.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank catsinbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rportuense, General Manager at Hotel Portuense, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Sir, Unfortunately we don't understand your review. We would apreciate it that you make it more explicit what exactly you found depressing before having entered the hotel as it was your intention not even to check-in with us. We do appreciate your comments regarding our colleagues. We hope to hear from you soon, the Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We would definitely choose this hotel again. the first time made a very good impression. Upon returning to Lisbon a few weeks later to another pre-booked hotel and finding they had given our room away we called this place and knowing our desperate state they didn't take advantage. They charged us the same rate. Showed much integrity. Hard working staff. Family run place.
very clean. terrific location for getting around on foot and for catching tour buses (some of the more expensive hotels have poor locations)

We thank Pensao Residencial Portuense from the bottom of our hearts!
janetd whitby

Room Tip: our room on the 5th floor at the front had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is a nice basic hotel near the center of the Baixa downtown area. It's close to the air bus stop. The rooms are basic and clean, just big enough for a bed. It's on a nice side street, which a few blocks away is known for a row of seafood restaurants. It's within walking distance of all the sites. Breakfast is pretty basic. A good value in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbag12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

In 2009 I stayed at this place with my father and this year, on my way to the US with TAP, I took the opportunity to stop over in Lisbon and stay here again.

Lisbon is a great city, a hidden gem, and Pensao Residencial Portuense is part of it.
First of all, it’s conveniently located close to Praça dos Restauradores where the Airport Bus (Aerobus) stops. And from Praça dos Restauradores, where there is also a metro station, you can walk everywhere or walk to nearby square Praça da Figueira and take some scenic trams (don’t miss tramline #28).

In regards to the part of the street where Pensao Residencial Portuense is found, it’s a small cobblestone stretch, not busy at all, which means that there is almost no noise at night. In addition room windows are new and keep possible noise out, so this place is very quiet (in some previous reviews people mention the noise from other rooms but fortunately I didn’t experience this).

With reference to the rooms, although they are not fancy at all, they are very clean, renovated (it’s an old building) and spacious (I’m attaching a couple of pictures). Beds are also comfortable, the staff is very friendly, and the breakfast..., well, it’s not a first class buffet but if you eat all it offers, you can resist until lunch (and if you don’t resist, then grab some delicious “pastéis de nata” -egg tart pastries- in any “pastelaria” –pastry shop).
Enjoy Lisbon and if you stay here, I hope it is as satisfying as it has always been for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were three friends sharing a room with three beds for two nights. It was a bit small but it worked out OK. Clean room, nothing fancy nor renovated but OK standard for the price and the location. Not noisy. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean bathroom. The breakfast is a bit poor. Basically you get a decent room to a cheap price in the heart of Lisabon. Recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesterdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#136 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#163 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#65 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Residencial Florescente
Residencial Florescente
#84 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#91 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portuense

Property: Hotel Portuense
Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 157, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The hotel is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing