We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday hotel”
Review of Hotel Portuense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portuense
Ranked #148 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Swanse
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good holiday hotel”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is exactly what it sells itself as. A low budget hotel with high standards. It is in the centre of lisbon so it is convenient for sightseeing. The staff are friendly, helpful and informative. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynethj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    252
    76
    27
    10
See reviews for
102
141
97
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 3am so it was a little confusing as the night attendant didn't speak much English however we sorted it in the end. For parking we used the underground garage on Avendia da Liberdade marked 'Restauradores' near the Hard Rock Cafe. Quite expensive but safe and near hotel. Extremely clean hotel. Basic but suited our needs well. Hotel is very central and we found we could walk to all the main sites from here. Breakfast was basic but tasty fresh bed rolls provided with butter, jam and cheese. Reception staff were incredibly helpful and very chatty. They recommended a great restaurant. Definitely one of the friendliest hotels I've stayed in in a long time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenDavis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Great location, just don't get pulled into any of the tourrist trap restaurants on the actual street of the hotel. The staff was very cordial and the price very reasonable for what was provided. Overall a pleasant and charming time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed here in a single room for two nights and can say it was almost perfect for my needs as a single traveller wanting a simple, good-value base to explore the town. The room was basic and small but clean; the bathroom was one of the smallest en-suites I've ever seen but again clean, and perfectly OK if you are not looking to spend quality time in your room.
The hotel's location is great; the airport bus stops close by and all of central Lisbon is within walking distance. It's a good base to explore from.
I had a room overlooking the back of the hotel - nothing to see but it was reasonably quiet. Not much sound insulation and you can't really avoid the aeroplane noise in Lisbon given that the airport is almost in town, but it wasn't a big issue.
Breakfast is pretty basic. Coffee and tea with nice fresh bread rolls but unfortunately only jam and spreadable cheese to go on the rolls. A few slices of real cheese and a bit of Portuguese ham would have turned it from passable to good.
Free wi-fi is available which is a significant plus, but unfortunately only in the reception and breakfast room.
Friendly staff with good local advice made this a pleasant stay; the only other downside worth mentioning is that there are no safes in the rooms but the staff will keep valuables at reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This Hotel deserves more than two stars. I have seen other 4 Star Hotels, especially arround Lisbon, where you can stay worse. It is simple, clean and everything is refurbished. The Hotelier speaks several languages e.g. english, fench, spanish and of course portugues. He is very friendly and tells you everything you need to know.

I liked it very much, its not too expenive and very central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Nice and quiet economy hotel close to many restaurants and the center of old Lisbon. Efficient and kind check-in with good recommendation of what to do and where to eat. Clean and simple room with air condition, television, telephone, toilet and standard shower cabin. No unnecessary furniture or installations. Standard breakfast with coffee, juice, bread, cereals, cheese, cold cuts and jam. No hot dishes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overnatning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at Pensao Residencial in November. We booked it for the location
and it turned out to be a great choice. This is your typical older style european hotel, not a north american chain,but the rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is there and plentiful, if basic (coffee, juice, baking, cheese, coldcuts and jam). The showers in both rooms I stayed in were, in a word.. awesome.. they look basic but if you're used to
water conserving dribble showers, these were definately NOT. felt awesome after a cross the pond flight :)

The location is right off of the metro line, but back one street so there isn't a pile of street noise. Good restaurants and lots of places to walk and see in the area, and easy access to the rest of lisbon, and the airport, via the metro. Staff were very helpful (even the night staff where english was "challenge" to them) and even when we were leaving early in the morning (far earlier than the advertised breakfast time) made sure we had food before we left for the morning.

Liked it enough that we booked it again on our way back through lisbon before our departure flight, easy to get from here to the airport.

Highly reccomended if you're not the type that would prefer chain hotels. great value
for the price in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Note they have good wifi - but it doesn't work in most of the rooms, you need to go down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#68 of 248 in Lisbon
496 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#94 of 248 in Lisbon
1,210 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#146 of 248 in Lisbon
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#189 of 248 in Lisbon
204 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#161 of 248 in Lisbon
167 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#182 of 248 in Lisbon
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portuense

Property: Hotel Portuense
Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 157, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The hotel is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing