We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wouldn't stay again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Portuense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Portuense
Ranked #143 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, wouldn't stay again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were looking to stay our last night in Lisbon after being in the country in the Rossio area. This hotel was right where we wanted to be, but that is where the good points stop. It was in our budget as we have splurged on the rest of our hotels, should have paid more for a better hotel. The beds were very hard and lumpy, not able to get even a couple hours of sleep. The continental breakfast was bread, coffee and juice, no meats, cheeses or fruit.
The front desk was helpful, but couldn't make up for the bad night of no sleep. Would not suggest this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    240
    75
    26
    9
See reviews for
97
136
93
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed 6 nights at the Pensao Residencial Portuense in Lisbon in May, 2013. The staff at the desk were helpful and spoke English well. They gave me directions and helpful tips on seeing Lisbon.
However, my room was very basic - with about 4 Portugese TV channels. The walls were thin so it was quite noisy - especially late at night with people yelling in the back alley. The breakfast was very meager - just hard cold rolls and coffee. I usually got something to eat at a local Pasteleria. For the value, it seemed overpriced.
If you need a place to stay and can't find anything better, it will do.

Room Tip: The double rooms might be better than the singles - in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara_hanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

You can walk out your door to all the action, you're one block behind the noise but have access to restaurants, bars, the metro, the sites of Lisbon are all around you. Great location for the price and Lisbon is a great city to visit. Make sure to do a tour or 2 to really get the most out of your visit, we learned so much about Lisbon and Portugal on this trip because of the tours, did the We hate tourism tour to Sintra, would highly recommend this one and the walking tour with Lisbon chill out tours, both recommended on trip advisor as well. Great time in Lisbon, would like to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mec456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Perfectly located in the middle of Lisbon, this budget place is for those who do not ask for many facilities.
Everything is basic (including the price as well) but clean, staff so kind and nice (esp.the old man I found very sweet to talk to) that you feel like at home from the moment you step in.
Only remark I have is on WiFi, it does have designated area on teh ground floor where it works, but even there most of the time it works very poor, especially on Ipad, I dont know why.
Breakfast basic, but literally basic, as expected though, but having in mind hotel's location, this is really not an issue at all.
Great stay overall!

Room Tip: My room was facing back alley but there was some bearable noise from outside, so I imagine the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimmica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Take it with a grain of salt, this is 100% a budget hotel. The family who runs it is wonderful. There are two sons that speak PERFECT english, you would think they were born and raised in Connecticut. That said, the rooms are very outdated with dark wood furniture and old-looking quilts. I went with my boyfriend and was hoping for something a little nicer on our trip away... perhaps it was the fact that they gave us our remote control for the room when we checked in... but for the deal it is really unbeatable.

All complaining aside, I think we had the best room in the house. There are only a handful of rooms with balconies and it turned out we had TWO (one in the bathroom and one in the bedroom). If you can request room 305, I would highly recommend it.

Note: if you are deciding on this hotel over another one because of the "free breakfast and wifi" please know--the breakfast is made up of two types of rolls, jam, butter, orange juice, water and coffee. We only ate breakfast there once because quite frankly it was boring and not that great. Additionally, the wifi is only avialable in the lobby which is fine, but I would have preferred a place where I could pay a little extra and have the wifi in the bedroom.

Room Tip: I think we had the best room in the house. There are only a handful of rooms with balconies and it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenbrook, NSW
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Wonderfully located within easy walking distance of old city sights and commercial centre. Is located just beyond the pedestrian and restaurant area on cobbled streets.  Very easy to find from metro.  Very friendly, efficient and helpful staff.  Pleasant lobby - is the only place from which you can access internet which was only irregularly working.  Room was very clean, fairly basic furnishings, reasonably  large with view over neighbouring roofs and street.   Fairly quiet at night due to double glazing.   However some internal noise due to echo of wood floors and neighbouring door fittings. Basic continental breakfast was fresh.  Very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JED52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We visited the Pensao Residencial Portunese for four nights in April 2013. I should preface this review by saying that this hotel is a very affordable option in central Lisbon, but we had a few critiques of the place which docks it a little in my rating.

First off, the location of the hotel is fantastic. We took the AeroBus from the airport, which stops at the Restaurandores stop, about 300 meters from the hotel. Very convenient option. There is also a major metro stop located there, which is helpful for travel around Lisbon. The Rossio train station, which leads to Sintra, is about a 10 minute walk away. The street where the hotel is located is a bit shady at night, but there are a number of restaurants and bars down the block, though most are fairly standard tourist fare. You can also walk to the Baixa, Alfama and Barrio Alto within 20 mins.

We stayed in a triple room. By European standards, the room was relatively spacious, featuring three single beds. The furnishings and decoration were quite sparse, but everything was clean and tidy. Our room was on the second story facing the street, so there was some noise at night from the restaurants and bars down the block. There was in room airconditioning, but it barely functioned. There was also a very small television, but it only received three local Portuguese language stations. The hotel supposedly offered free Wi-Fi access, but we found that it only worked very periodically, both in the room and in the common areas. The staff was efficient, but not all that friendly or helpful. Breakfast was a big disappointment. It was offered for two hours each morning, but consisted only of instant coffee, watered down juice and dry bread. No fruit or protein available.

Basically, this hotel suited our needs for a convenient, clean location in central Lisbon, but don't expect any amenities. Can't complain too much considering the price. If you want a no frills location, this is your spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElectricMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rportuense, Proprietário at Hotel Portuense, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Madam,

I would like to thankyou for your detailed feedback which will help us to correct the least positive aspects.

I would like to take this opportunity to clarify the following:

Although you considered this street to be a "bit shady at night" it is quite safe. The problem arises only with regards to pick-pocketing which may happen anywhere.

When the hotel was renewed double glazed windows were placed in all rooms so "some noise at night from the restaurants and bars down the block" can only be heard if the same windows are left open.

Air conditioning has frequent maintenance and is working in the room you stayed in. The remote was probably being used in the wrong mode.

It is publicised that free Wi-Fi access is only available on the ground floor and not in the rooms. It is true that if the signal becomes unnavailable it is normally available after a very short while.

Although breakfast is basic, includes bread rolls, sliced bread and croissants, butter, jam, creamed cheese and honey, juice, hot chocolate, milk, tea or coffee, and is served between 7:30 and 10:30. If the Customer requests early breakfast it can be arranged for an hour earlier.

I hope to see you in the near future.
Best regards,

Sadiq Kassamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#129 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#161 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Residencial Florescente
Residencial Florescente
#84 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#61 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#90 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portuense

Property: Hotel Portuense
Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 157, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The hotel is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing