We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
165
272
82
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
272
82
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationbudget placewithin walking distancerestauradores squareperfect englishcleaned dailyquiet streetnight's sleepbeautiful citypublic transportationpastrieseurosubwayplugportugal
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights and the hotel was exceptionally good value for a weekend break. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. The showers were hot and powerful. Breakfast is basic but what more could anyone expect for the price. Dreadful coffee but a selection of teas, nice fresh rolls and croissants. The owners are very helpful and we enjoyed the restaurants they recommended. We should have only gone to restaurants they recommended as we had a very bad experience in Torremolinos restaurant just down the street from the hotel. The location is ideal to explore Lisbon - a short walk brings you to Rossio square and the metro. The metro is a great way to get around Lisbon and we had purchased a ViaViagem card which allowed travel on all forms of transport. Lovely city and a great good value hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moojea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is our 2nd stay at this small hotel. We liked it so much in 2009, we recommended it to other guests meeting us in Lisbon this time, and they loved it too. The owners went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. They warned us where to be careful, what sights not to miss, and made great suggestions about where to eat. The hotel location is perfect! It's small but met our needs. The price per night was much less than most other accommodations in the downtown area. It is a block from Rossio Square, the theater district, the metro/train station to Sintra, & many restaurants. It's very safe, even at night.

Room Tip: We spent a little extra to get a triple room, rooms and 406 & 503 provided more space.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The location of this hotel is great. It is in the old town, close to trams, trains, buses and the Metro. There are lots of restaurants close by too. Although the single rooms are quite small they are comfortable and clean as are the en-suite bathrooms. Breakfast was basic but adequate - nice bread. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I really enjoyed staying here and would return if I decide to visit Lisbon again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is down a back sidestreet from a city center. Rooms are very clean and appears that it all had been updated a while back. Room view is back of other buildings. Break was the basic Cont Euro type--bread, spread and beverages. There was a small grocery store 5 min to the north. It is in a great location for old Lisbon. 5 min walk to square with many shops and restaurants. Hop on/off had stops in center. There were 2 different companies. Hard Rock cafe just around the corner. There is a money change place in square but could not find it open. Go south at the very south end down a street and there was another one. Great exchange rate. Best on this trip.
Be very alert of the taxis from the airport. The cost should have been around 15E. Ours charged us 48E. He basically hurried off after getting paid. When in doubt ask for a receipt as his cab number is on the receipt. His meter is in front of the passenger seat and he never showed me the amount on the meter. You cannot see it from the back seat. He turned it off as soon as we arrived. It was a black Mercedes. He was white and about in his 40's. Cost to go to airport was 13E.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hrcalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Well located near Rossio, and just off the main pedestrian area on the street. The place is quite small, is old, bit has been refurbished. Rooms are clean, but basic. Bathrooms are modern. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was mostly breads, but fresh. The only issue was a moldy smell, which might really bother some people. Overall though, decent value for the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel - quieter.
Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rportuense, Proprietário at Hotel Portuense, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Customer,

I thankyou for your feedback. We have registered your suggestions and will try to implement those changes as soon as possible.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews