We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and good service”
Review of Hotel Portuense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portuense
Ranked #151 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I spent a week in here and cannot complain. The rooms are very clean, the service is fast and very polite. The location is fantastic and very quiet (for the area).
Will definitely come again next time.

On the downside, breakfast could definitely improve.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Portuense
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at Pensao Residencial Portuense in November 2013, and I'm happy to endorse the many positive comments made elsewhere in this thread. An overdue post here, prompted by plans to return in March 2014, and by a sweep of TripAdvisor reviews of my favourite venues in Lisbon.

The basic breakfast here was the only real concession to cost, and was easily solved. I used the Pingo Doce supermarket to get sliced meat and cheese for less than 7 euros for the week, and added these to the delicious fresh bread rolls. If I recall correctly, Pingo Doce was at Rua 1st December, behind the west side of Rossio square. I also brought coffee bags with me from UK. These are available from all UK supermarkets, but avoid the cheapest if you've not used them before.

Family members on duty at the check-in desk are a delight. Their helpful and engaging manner was that added-value that I'll remember long after memories of more material comforts have faded. For me the proximity to the music bars (in particular the live jazz in Alface Hall) and restaurants in the Bairro Alto district, (15 minutes up, 12 minutes down!), and about 10 minutes to River Tagus via Rua Augusta was much appreciated. I believe I could not have been better located if I'd stayed in one of the branded hotels.
Gaz

Room Tip: Generally speaking, I find it useful to email accommodation in advance of arrival, expressing a pref...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GZBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights and the hotel was exceptionally good value for a weekend break. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. The showers were hot and powerful. Breakfast is basic but what more could anyone expect for the price. Dreadful coffee but a selection of teas, nice fresh rolls and croissants. The owners are very helpful and we enjoyed the restaurants they recommended. We should have only gone to restaurants they recommended as we had a very bad experience in Torremolinos restaurant just down the street from the hotel. The location is ideal to explore Lisbon - a short walk brings you to Rossio square and the metro. The metro is a great way to get around Lisbon and we had purchased a ViaViagem card which allowed travel on all forms of transport. Lovely city and a great good value hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moojea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is our 2nd stay at this small hotel. We liked it so much in 2009, we recommended it to other guests meeting us in Lisbon this time, and they loved it too. The owners went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. They warned us where to be careful, what sights not to miss, and made great suggestions about where to eat. The hotel location is perfect! It's small but met our needs. The price per night was much less than most other accommodations in the downtown area. It is a block from Rossio Square, the theater district, the metro/train station to Sintra, & many restaurants. It's very safe, even at night.

Room Tip: We spent a little extra to get a triple room, rooms and 406 & 503 provided more space.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The location of this hotel is great. It is in the old town, close to trams, trains, buses and the Metro. There are lots of restaurants close by too. Although the single rooms are quite small they are comfortable and clean as are the en-suite bathrooms. Breakfast was basic but adequate - nice bread. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I really enjoyed staying here and would return if I decide to visit Lisbon again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is down a back sidestreet from a city center. Rooms are very clean and appears that it all had been updated a while back. Room view is back of other buildings. Break was the basic Cont Euro type--bread, spread and beverages. There was a small grocery store 5 min to the north. It is in a great location for old Lisbon. 5 min walk to square with many shops and restaurants. Hop on/off had stops in center. There were 2 different companies. Hard Rock cafe just around the corner. There is a money change place in square but could not find it open. Go south at the very south end down a street and there was another one. Great exchange rate. Best on this trip.
Be very alert of the taxis from the airport. The cost should have been around 15E. Ours charged us 48E. He basically hurried off after getting paid. When in doubt ask for a receipt as his cab number is on the receipt. His meter is in front of the passenger seat and he never showed me the amount on the meter. You cannot see it from the back seat. He turned it off as soon as we arrived. It was a black Mercedes. He was white and about in his 40's. Cost to go to airport was 13E.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hrcalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Well located near Rossio, and just off the main pedestrian area on the street. The place is quite small, is old, bit has been refurbished. Rooms are clean, but basic. Bathrooms are modern. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was mostly breads, but fresh. The only issue was a moldy smell, which might really bother some people. Overall though, decent value for the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel - quieter.
Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rportuense, Proprietário at Hotel Portuense, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Customer,

I thankyou for your feedback. We have registered your suggestions and will try to implement those changes as soon as possible.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#96 of 254 in Lisbon
1,236 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#196 of 254 in Lisbon
217 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#161 of 254 in Lisbon
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#69 of 254 in Lisbon
518 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#148 of 254 in Lisbon
547 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portuense

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 157, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £45 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The hotel is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing