We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, great location, simple accommodations”
Review of Hotel Portuense

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portuense
Ranked #157 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This reminded me of an adult hostel, which is exactly what I needed when I stayed with my parents in the 3-bed room with private bathroom, which was simple but clean and tidy. Breakfast (included) was the same every morning: rolls, croissants, jam, butter, tea, coffee, and juice - good enough for me!

The best part however was the location and quality of service. The hotel is centrally located in Lisbon, one block away from Praca dos Restauradores and near the metro station there. Keep walking south down the street and you'll easily reach Rossio Square and Commercio Square on the water. The two brothers (and their mother) who run the hotel are extremely friendly, helpful, and eager answer any questions about what to see, where to eat, and how to get there. I never felt nervous about leaving the room key with them (that's how you get room service). Reliable Wifi is available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukitaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel is just behind Hard Rock Cafe & next to Restaurant Troncos. You can take the metro from airport to Restarandores stop in front of Hard Rock Cafe. Very clean hotel & staff is very friendly. It is run by 2 brothers who are very helpful to guests. He helped me to print out our flight tickets & gave us useful tips of the neighbourhood. We took the hop on hop off buses nearby at the square to explore the city for 2 days for 16 euro.

Room Tip: A room facing the front for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great location, easy access, walking distance to water front, shopping, great restaurants. The room, located on the second floor is accessed by elevator or stairs. The size is typical of European hotels of this size, the bathroom was clean and reasonable sized with a good shower. The bed was comfortable and the room had a good sized wardrobe, TV (no English) and air conditioning (we did not need) and windows that open. There was a bit of noise from the street and public areas in the evening but it was very minimal. The facility was secure with the front desk manned 24 hours a day. The staff was every helpful and spoke very good English. They even made breakfast - coffee available prior to their normal time because we were leaving for the airport just prior to opening time. They were very helpful about suggesting places to visit, directions and calling a taxi for our early morning departure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cwm_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It was my third visit at this hotel, which is a recommendation by itself. Great, central location - close to the tube station and main Lisbon attractions. The rooms are nice and clean. Also very friendly staff makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have had a terrible experience with this hotel, beware. I booked online and TEN DAYS LATER was informed by email that the card had been refused. My card is working fine and I have never had this problem before. I tried straight away to book again but the hotel is now full. The manager was very unhelpful and said it was not their problem; they did not even agree that they should have tried to contact me BEFORE cancelling my booking, to let me know and try another card. as it is now close to the date of my trip it will be very difficult for me to find anything at a reasonable price in a reasonable location. the attitude of the hotel was just shocking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank JulieGP8745OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rportuense, Proprietário at Hotel Portuense, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Madam,

When we receive an online booking, which has been confirmed by credit card, we have the credit card checked. We only accept reservations after receiving the "OK" from the payment terminal. In your case, the message received was "unauthorised" and therefore we cancelled the reservation. The online agency, that you used, was immediately informed about this. You should have contacted your bank to find out why this had happened. Due to fraudulent reservations all credit cards are checked. We are not going to be held responsible for this happening. We had no direct contact with you to be called "rude" nor do we control your banking transactions do be called"unreliable". I hope that this situation is clarified.

Yours Sincerely,

Sadiq Kassamo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A great little place to stay, perfectly located and with charming staff at the front desk. As other people have remarked the breakfast was a bit ordinary but still within the realm of being acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prudence57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I spent a week in here and cannot complain. The rooms are very clean, the service is fast and very polite. The location is fantastic and very quiet (for the area).
Will definitely come again next time.

On the downside, breakfast could definitely improve.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
1,241 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#128 of 255 in Lisbon
881 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 255 in Lisbon
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#165 of 255 in Lisbon
174 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#199 of 255 in Lisbon
219 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#150 of 255 in Lisbon
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portuense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portuense

Address: Rua das Portas de Santo Antao 149 157, Lisbon 1150-267, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £56 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portuense 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Portuense is located in a quiet and tranquil part of Lisbon, parallel to Av. Liberdade and behind the Hard Rock Cafe. A prime location in downtown Baixa, allows easy access to major tourist, cultural and commercial points of the historic parts of Lisbon and well served with the main means of transport, from Aerobus stops, Metro stations of Restauradores and Rossio, train station at Rossio, trams (15 and 28) and elevators of Lavra and Gloria. The hotel is managed by a family that insists on being close to its Customers on a daily basis. Customers receive candid customized service based on their specific needs; suggestion and recommendations based on what to see, do and safety precautions as well. The property was renovated in 2009. All of the rooms (single, double, twin, triple and quadruple) are equipped with private bathrooms, satellite TV and a telephone. Daily housekeeping is included. The continental breakfast is straightforward and the Wi-Fi, which is available at reception, is included in the price of the room. Wakeup service and hair dryers can be requested at reception. Children under 3 may stay for free with a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Portuense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Portuense Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Lisbon
Pensao Portuense Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing