We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
166
273
82
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
273
82
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationbudget placewithin walking distancerestauradores squareperfect englishcleaned dailyquiet streetnight's sleepbeautiful citypublic transportationpastrieseurosubwayplugportugal
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

It is the second time I stay at this place. Their staff is the highlight, two brothers run the place and they are very friendly! The rooms are clean and confortable, the location is great if you want to stay in central area and the breakfast is ok. Great place to stay in Lisbon if you are looking for a simple hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Camila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I just returned after 3 days in Lisbon. The location of the 'pension' is pretty central with easy access to the centre and very good street restaurants 3 minutes down the road. Overall the place was clean and not very noisy.
The staff, I believe they were brothers and owners of the property, were very friendly and cordial. If you are looking for some place to spend the nights, which we normally do on holidays, we could recommend this family-run establishment without any hesitation.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and hardly any street noise
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinta1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our party of three were looking for a place where we could stay for five nights without much ado. After all, we planned to be outside during the daytime, and part of the evening, and retreat at night. Honestly, we wanted to stay further down the street, in a place we had known because of repeated stays. Portuense was a good surprise. The place was clean, quiet, and the staff was very / very friendly. Let's face it, do not expect a four diamond service. The place has not been designed for it. One gets a good night's rest after a busy day touring. The rooms are small, but easily accommodate a party of two We took a triple, and were a bit tight. Overall, it served us very we'll. The shower, was the best we ever got. Believe it...the water pressure was unbelievable! The breakfast is Portuguese simple. No need to complain...if one likes the standard American fare...bacon, eggs, sausage, and so on, be prepared for a surprise. No such thing was offered. They offer coffee, tee, milk, fresh bread and croissants, fresh butter, cheese, and several flavor packaged jams. This is an old, but renovated building, offering a brand new (four people only) elevator. The Portuense is located smack downtown and ideally placed for all the shopping one needs to do. We felt the convenience was great and the price for the "local" was super --75 Euros per day. Very reasonable. Thanks, Hussein and Ahmed.

Room Tip: We stood in the fifth floor. It was quiet. We were convinced that the lower floors can not avoid the continuous traffic (one way street) noise. If you are renting a car, make sure to include the covered parking (10 Euros)! Parking on the street is not allowed. TV is small and completed outdated. BUT, after a full day walking, visiting, seeing different things, tasting, smelling and experiencing different foods and wines, a good night sleep is all we were looking for.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This reminded me of an adult hostel, which is exactly what I needed when I stayed with my parents in the 3-bed room with private bathroom, which was simple but clean and tidy. Breakfast (included) was the same every morning: rolls, croissants, jam, butter, tea, coffee, and juice - good enough for me!

The best part however was the location and quality of service. The hotel is centrally located in Lisbon, one block away from Praca dos Restauradores and near the metro station there. Keep walking south down the street and you'll easily reach Rossio Square and Commercio Square on the water. The two brothers (and their mother) who run the hotel are extremely friendly, helpful, and eager answer any questions about what to see, where to eat, and how to get there. I never felt nervous about leaving the room key with them (that's how you get room service). Reliable Wifi is available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukitaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel is just behind Hard Rock Cafe & next to Restaurant Troncos. You can take the metro from airport to Restarandores stop in front of Hard Rock Cafe. Very clean hotel & staff is very friendly. It is run by 2 brothers who are very helpful to guests. He helped me to print out our flight tickets & gave us useful tips of the neighbourhood. We took the hop on hop off buses nearby at the square to explore the city for 2 days for 16 euro.

Room Tip: A room facing the front for good view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews