We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Ranked #66 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This place was everything that we needed for a four night stay. The ensuite shower was great and the room was clean and airy. The toilets in the hall were also spotless. The air-conditioning worked a treat and the management was most helpful. I do not know why people are mentioning it is dangerous and the like-no one offered us drugs near the hotel entrance (maybe we look too 'straight') and there always seemed to be a policeman on the steps leading up to the reception area making any type of criminality difficult. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THIS PENSAO!!!! BEWARE OF THIS PLACE!!!

The only good thing was the location being convenient.. right in the middle of the city and close to the metro.. however the actual street of the entrance to the Pensao was shady, to say the least... people constantly offering drugs right outside the entrance.
-In room shower leaked.. before i realized it, my bags were soaked!
-The Air Conditioner had a pipe that dripped into the shower and made a loud dripping sound against the hollow shower bottom all night long! Reminiscent of Chinese water torture. The air conditioner also made a horrible clicking sound all night.
-Beds were small and uncomfortable.
-Room & hotel smelled like mildew.
-No safe, and door had a meager lock - did not feel safe leaving anything important in the room.
-Incredibly loud street - single pain windows, could hear a coin drop outside. Could her people talking and we were on the 3rd floor! (no elevator by the way).
-Drug dealers tried to sell us drugs pretty much every time we entered/left the Pensao right in front!
-We had a guy follow us up the stairs to the entrance and try to get us to let him in... obviously he wasnt staying there!
-The Pensao shares the building with some other apartments or offices - there were constantly shady characters roaming the stairs and hallways - you know, the crackhead looking type.
-We were so uncomfortable staying there for more than one night, we decided to cancel our last 2 nights... we called booking.com to change our reservation.. they took care of it without issue (in fact they were incredibly nice and helpful - highly recommend booking with them!!!).. then the front desk called me down to "talk." They told us that we had "made a huge mistake, by not contacting them (the hotel) directly to change our reservation" ... that we "made a bad move" essentially it sounded like they were threatening us!! I could not believe how UN-professional that was!!! Not to mention unnerving!

BEWARE OF THIS PLACE!!!

There are regular hotels just around the corner for the same price and MUCH nicer!!! we ended up moving to Turim Suisso Atlântico in a double upgraded room for the same price in a really really nice room (with its own bathroom) in a normal, very modern hotel!! Even had a bar with free Fado music every night! it was only $80 per night.

STAY AWAY FROM PENSAO DA FIGUEIRA!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else! No room is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorldTraveler_CA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I was really happy about this hotel, located right in the city centre. I actually stayed there twice - at the beginning and at the end of my trip. The rooms are perfectly clean, and shared bathroom are even cleaner. It looks more like a big apartment than a hotel, which makes you feel like home. Location is great, the first time my room had a great view on the square, it was a bit noisy during the time, but the view was so great I really didn't mind . Staff was always helpful and spoke very good english. Breakfast is not included, but there are so many cafes aroud it is really not necessary. For the price you pay, I really think you cannot get any better!

Room Tip: ask for a room with view on the square, if you get 4th floor you will also have a small balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HekeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Airport bus or even 745 and 44 to Rossio Square next door. 15E to Congress Center, 28E to Alfama/Castello, plus Lisbon is a walking town. No elevator and alley can be noisy, but overall clean and pleasant with good common areas, Wifi weakish upstairs but adequate

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimCCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Good things:
• Great location – right in the middle of things! Everything is within a short walking distance. This is the hotels greatest asset.
• Lots of cafes and restaurants in the immediate area.
• The rooms overlooking the square have incredible views on life in Lisbon.
• A hop-on/hop-off bus stops almost right in front of the hotel.
• The common toilet on my floor was kept clean.
• The girls manning the front desk were always helpful.
• They have different categories of rooms: a conventional hotel room with a full bathroom, and another type of room with only a sink & shower (toilet in common area). It’s nice to have an option a grade up from a hostel, but not pay for a full hotel room.
• Free WIFI internet – and it worked great!

Bad things:
• You need to talk up 3-4 flights to your room – ugh! And these are tall steps because the building has tall ceilings.
• My room was tiny with only 1-3 feet walking area around the bed – literally.
• The hot water is mostly non-existent. I stayed there five days and got hot water only in two-minute increments (and I had to wait 5-10 minutes before getting anymore). I reported this issue several times to the front desk, and the owner was in my room one time for 15 minutes trying to fix it, but he was unsuccessful. The floor I was staying on uses an electric insta-hot water heater and it kept tripping off for some reason. I learned to take really, really quick showers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSTgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I was very plesant with this "Pension", I can say it's more an "hotel " than "pension", the sataff was perfect, the rooms very very nice and clean, the WI-FI it's good to, and the situations perfect, excelent place to stay, I will be back again, thanks to every body.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

There are two flights of steps before you reach the pensao office. Apparently thieves know this, the building door is always open, and theives follow you up the steps to snatch your purse from behind. The pensao office was totally disinterested in hearing about this. Second, it seems the credit card machine doesn't work when you go to check out and you must pay in cash. For us, a larger bill, and we had to run around hitting several ATM's to gather the amount. Of course this also made our departure later than planned to catch our transportation and meant we had to travel low on cash. Again, no apologies, just get the cash. Rooms and location fine but know the establishment you're dealing with. Internet service very spotty and really doesn't work unless you're adjacent to the office or on the stairs.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heronfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#150 of 255 in Lisbon
553 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#75 of 255 in Lisbon
2,001 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#47 of 255 in Lisbon
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Praca da Figueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Praca da Figueira

Address: Travessa Nova de Sao Domingos 9 3 | Baixa, Lisbon 1100-372, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#55 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £36 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pensao Praca da Figueira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Praca Da Figueira Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Praca Da Figueira Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing