We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Ranked #66 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First of all, finding this place can be a little difficult. Some of the rooms of the hotel look out into the square (ours did), but the entrance to the hotel is in an alleyway behind the square. And you will not see a "door" to the hotel entrance, rather there are a flight of stairs you will need to climb to the 2nd floor, to reach the hotel door entrance.
That being said, the staff here were super fabulous. They were very accommodating and extremely helpful with anything for which we were asking.
Although the room was clean, it was a little dated and the bathroom did not meet my expectations. However, I tend to be sort of a bathroom Nazi, so I'm very particular when it comes to the bathroom. So, if you don't have strong issues about your bathroom, this place should be very adequate for you. The lighting in the bathroom was not good, the water pressure in the shower was not good, and the dressing area is very small around the sink area.
The room itself is extremely small, but that really doesn't bother us, because we don't spend a whole lot of time in there anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy-BO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Pensao Praca Da Figueira Guest House is located in the center of Lisbon very close to all the major tourist sites and attractions. The Airport shuttle stop is literally outside of your windows. With that said, some of the rooms face a pretty busy square but the double-pane windows really help. If I was to stay at the hotel again (which I definitely would, given the location and price), I would ask for a room away from the entrance door because it get pretty loud with all the people going and in and out at night and early in the morning. Also, ask for a regular toilet (rather than the electronic toilet that has a loud pump which is activated by the water flow). The breakfast buffet was decent (cereal, yogurt, ham/cheese, pastries and some fruit). All in all, it’s a great budget hotel in the heart of Lisbon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entrance door because it get pretty loud with all the people going and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VB_TA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here this past weekend and from start to finish it was wonderful.

The room was very clean and comfortable with everything I needed and the hostel is very centrally located which made getting around so easy (it was my first time in Lisbon). Of course with a central location noise is to be expected but as soon as you close the balcony doors all the noise disappears allowing you to relax.

What really made this place so wonderful was the staff - when I had a question I was not really sure what language I should start speaking in and the wonderful woman working there just said 'which ever you like.' She and the man who greeted me spoke so many languages it was really very impressive. They helped with everything from directions to printing out my boarding pass.

Whenever I stay in a place, essentially what makes it a good or bad experience is whether or not I feel safe. On this occasion I felt perfectly safe and secure all thanks to the great staff.

Next time I'm in Lisbon (which I hope will be soon) I really want to come back and stay here.
Muito obrigado novamente

Room Tip: On the fourth floor you get a balcony overlooking the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talktolaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you want a basic, clean, safe and friendly hotel, this is the place to stay. Breakfast is included which makes the price even better. I arrived early and with jet lag. They let me into a room early. Later they gave me a map and directions and just could not have been nicer. The hotel is in the street around the corner from the metro. A nice family restaurant is below the hotel. The tram lines are within blocks. This is a great budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 529carolync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly service, 24/24, 7/7, immediatly felt very welcome. Stayed for 7 nights, and everytime our room was nicely cleaned, never was the breakfast the same! And it was nicely diversified, toast/sandwich, cheese/ham, cornflakes, yoghurt and fruit, coffee/tea and fruitjuice. Everyday they made some changes, so it was never exact the same. Perfect central location in Lisbon! Ideal location for your visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Located in the middle of the city center, very close to metro and tram lines, we have got a very nice stay. Rooms are very clean, have great beds and the breakfast was more than fine!
Very nice staff!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Reinoud R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It's right on Figueira square in the heart of Lisbon.
We took 4-beds apartment and from 1 bedroom we had perfect view to the square but the other bedroom is without windows at all so it was dark and stuffy.
Metro station Rossio, tourist bus and trams No.12 (castle) and 15 (Belem) is right beside the hotel. Very friendly owner. Free wifi.
Actually it's quite acceptable option in the very center but do not expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalaMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#156 of 255 in Lisbon
563 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residencial O Paradouro
#155 of 255 in Lisbon
239 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
1,269 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#200 of 255 in Lisbon
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Praca da Figueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Praca da Figueira

Address: Travessa Nova de Sao Domingos 9 3 | Baixa, Lisbon 1100-372, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#55 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £34 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Pensao Praca da Figueira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Praca Da Figueira Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Praca Da Figueira Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing