We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alojamento Local Santo Tirso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alojamento Local Santo Tirso
Ranked #182 of 228 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is not for everyone as it's quite a climb (no lift) and the toilets are shared. That said, the price reflects this. The location is excellent, the beds very comfortable (high on my list of priorities) and the staff could not have been more friendly and obliging. Overall, very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    32
    39
    22
    15
See reviews for
12
46
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

the best thing for this hotel is the location..5 minutes on foot for bairro alto where all bars are!!very good price and clean room..friendly staff but nothing more..rooms are not so modern but at least my room was much better from the fotos i can see here

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vassilis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

steep stairs, friendly stuff, very central, small rooms, toilets outside the room, free water, free coffee, but very economically, it is at the central place, neat bus and metro stations, cheap cafes and restaurants nearby!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Brigitte U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here with my boyfrend for 3 nights. The location was great in the middle of the city. Yes There were some steep stairs to get there, but the room was very clean, decent size with shower. The owner and receptionints are very friendly and helpful. Night was quiet that we had no problem to sleep. If we going to lisbon again, we gonna go back here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed here for a few days with friends while going to a football match, the staff were very friendly and the room was basic but we had a shower room and sink and had a communal toilet down the corridor which was kept very clean. The stairs to the rooms are quite steep and this place would be no good if you were immobile. The location is what this place is all about, we had views right across the Rossio Square and the tube station is 1 minute away. We walked around the place and found that we were really close to all Lisbon had to offer. If you like Indian food there is a nice restaurant 3 streets up on the right as you come out of the front door to the hotel. There is also a 24 hour reception so the rooms are safe to leave your belongings in.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but 44 looks over Rossio Square and it has it's own shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We booked this hotel after reading some reviews of the place and for the very very cheap price it offers.. We have to climb sooooo many flights of stairs . There was no lift . The reception was very helpful , carried our luggage upstairs . the room was very clean but no hot water running in the bathroom. . Anyway we only stayed there for the night . The guy on the reception , both in the morning as well as the evening duty were both nice and very helpful except that the facility is really lacking . the location is good , it is near the metro and right across is a plaza. for kids on a strict budget this is good for just a day stay

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed two nights here and our host could not have been more obliging. Our room was small but clean and while the window opened onto a busy lane (Rua 1 December) it did not disturb us too much at night when we closed the roll down shutters. The price makes it a very reasonable option but you are still accorded privacy and security which are not often available at similar priced hostel style accommodation. The desk is manned 24/7 and you need to be buzzed into the entrance to the accommodation levels after coming in off the street in Rossio. This is very reassuring and did not pose a problem. The person on duty sees you alight the stairs and presses a button to release the lock.
There was a shower and wash basin in our room but the toilet was a shared one just a few metres away. There did not seem to be any peak hour problems and we hardly saw any other guests during our stay though other rooms were occupied. The landlord kindly allowed us to stow items in the fridge in a shared kitchen area and we could also have used the kettle there.
As others have mentioned, for convenience, the metro station is just in Rossio Square out the front of the building. You can therefore get there very conveniently from the airport with a single and simple change of line. It takes about 20 minutes to do this with decent connections. There is also a patisserie nearby which beats the original one in Belem for the most succulent custard tarts where we had breakfast for a very reasonable price and good service (Confeitaria Nacional in Praca Figuera 188).
We loved staying here for the convenience of walking as much around old Lisbon as was possible in the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foreignforays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#188 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
DownTown Guest House
DownTown Guest House
#128 of 228 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Aljubarrota
Pensao Aljubarrota
#170 of 228 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Prata
Pensao Prata
#81 of 228 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Perola dos Anjos
#129 of 228 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alojamento Local Santo Tirso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alojamento Local Santo Tirso

Property: Alojamento Local Santo Tirso
Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV 18, Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal (Formerly Pensao Santo Tirso)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Hotel Class:2 star — Alojamento Local Santo Tirso 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alojamento Local Santo Tirso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Santo Tirso Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing