We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LISBOA CENTRE HOSTEL (HI)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI - Lisbon Youth Hostel
Ranked #255 of 457 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“LISBOA CENTRE HOSTEL (HI)”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Supposedly, according to their website, the taxi should cost no more than 12 Euros. Since the taxi had a meter, we didn't ask how much. Bad choice again, as we were charged 23 Euros, and dropped off across a busy intersection from our hostel. Although this hostel was nice enough and clean enough, most of the staff didn't speak good English or Spanish, the WiFi was down at the time, our lockers didn't come with locks, and the price was a good bit higher than usual, they did have a soda and coffee machine, a decide lounge area, and free breakfast. Since we'd arrived at the hostel around 1pm, and they didn't allow us into our rooms (separate male and female dorms) until 3pm. Breakfast was okay, especially considering it was free (included in the room price, so I guess not really free!). We had coffee/cappuccino, breakfast rolls with butter and jam, yogurt, and a plate of very decent cheese and chorizo.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if they have private rooms, but if so, that might make for a better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCPetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
3
20
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at Pousada De Juventude 4 nights. Excellent breakfasts, dinners too. Not too expensive and a clean hostel with exceptionally friendly staff. Free Wi-Fi too, Close to the Avenue de Liberation and tourist bus station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerrySmithOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Basic rooms and stainless steel sanitary-ware made it feel institutionalised. Fair location next to a metro station. First night very good and a first class breakfast. Second night a disaster as we were invaded by 50 teenagers on a school outing. Initially inconvenient as they were running everywhere, but we were forced to complain several times as they ran riot shouting and running between rooms until 2:45 (after several complaints) and then we were awakened at 5:45 by more of the same. The teachers and hostel staff didn't control this problem, probably because they thought it was acceptable. Sorry its not! if we cannot have more than 3 hours of relative peace over-night then we are not getting our basic rights. Very good place to stay if you hit it at the right time. We didn't Think twice before staying here

Room Tip: If you want sleep check you are not to be over-run by uncontrolled and pubescent teenagers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mucqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mapusa, Goa, India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

this hotel is very nice it has got a cafeteria which provides lunch breakfast dinner which is not bad for the price the rooms are quite big and if your an individual traveling then you can go for a nice room with a tv and an atached washroom for quite a reasonable price the rooms are very comfortable and i recomend this hotel for anyone there is a mall called el corte ingles walking distance from it it even has a bar attached and a supermarket caled pingodoce is very close the hotel staff are very kind and helpful ill come back again to this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The receptionist staff was very kind when we asked for the metro and the city map... but they forgot to inform us that that day the metro was closed and the available buses were just a few due to a strike... we got to the city center and to Belém with our car :-)
The room was large enough, but the private bathroom was not so good. I mean: it was clean, of course, but very small and the sink was not working so good.
Very poor breakfast (a cup of coffee, a joghurt and a small piece of bread and that's all !)
I suggest, if you are travelling with your partner, to book an hotel instead (you'll pay the same with better quality and services).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have stayed in this hostel several times. The rooms and breakfast are basic, which is what you would expect to find in a youth hostel. The location is very good, in a safe area, close to an underground station and restaurants. What I like best in this place is that young couples are always treated nicely, which sometimes doesn't happen in the big hotels. The downside is that without a youth card, the price for a double room is almost the same as some 3-4 star hotels in Lisbon. Still, it's a good (and cheap) option if you're staying in the multiple rooms.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you want the double room with double bed, there is only one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

If you cant find anything better, well then you're just going to have to put up with what you get. Double Room Ensuite, is ok, its clean, basic but nothing thatll make you feel like you're having a quality ,cultural orientated vacation.
The location isnt as bad as youd think ( because of the subway connection) but you arent close to anything thats really dazzling.
It hurts to say this but it has to be said, i was devastated by the staff. We felt completely unwelcomed and as if all the questions we posed were a nuisance to them.
Food is cafeteria style.
Summary - If you are a couple in Lisbon and want a quite room to yourselves, in a place that resembles a cheap school fieldtrip- this would be it. My tip - keep looking, there's MUCH better in Lisbon

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeposiiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
0.1 mi away
Turim Europa Hotel
Turim Europa Hotel
#121 of 248 in Lisbon
848 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#144 of 248 in Lisbon
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residencia do Sul
Residencia do Sul
#107 of 246 in Lisbon
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tagus Royal Residence
Tagus Royal Residence
#77 of 246 in Lisbon
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
PH in Chiado
PH in Chiado
#212 of 699 in Lisbon District
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hub Lisbon Patio Hostel
Hub Lisbon Patio Hostel
#81 of 457 in Lisbon
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI - Lisbon Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI - Lisbon Youth Hostel

Property: HI - Lisbon Youth Hostel
Address: Rua Andrade Corvo, 46, Lisbon 1050-009, Portugal (Formerly Pousada da Juventude de Lisboa)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 457 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are just passing through or thinking about staying for a few days, the Lisbon Youth Hostel is a sure bet. It is strategically located in the city centre, in other words, you can get anwhere in the blink of an eye, either by underground/subway, bus or your own set of wheels. Here, you can watch colossal concerts, get caught up in electrifying soccer games, take part in colourful festivals, visit amazing exhibitions, sublime shows and much, much more! Just keep your eyes open and be tuned in to what's happening!! From the Belém Tower to the Planetarium, or from the Jerónimos Monastery to the Parque das Nações (Park of Nations - the site of Expo'98 which was hosted by the City of Lisbon), from the Moorish São Jorge castle to Bairro Alto, or from Avenida 24 de Julho to the docks, the Belém Cultural Centre or Praça do Município (Town Hall Square) ... it's best to come with plenty of time and a city guide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your HI - Lisbon Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Da Juventude De Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing