We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel, perfectly located for sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Duas Nacoes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Ranked #217 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel, perfectly located for sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August and found it perfectly located, it is just 3 minute walk from the station. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms so it seems, which was very small but had a balcony and was air conditioned. I am not sure how would we have felt if we haven't had the air con so I sympathise with other reviewers. Of course this hotel is basic and depends on what your expectations are but I found it much better than expected and location was ideal for sightseeing, we walked everywhere from the hotel. Only downside is breakfast which was bordering on disgusting so if you have a choice I would rather suggest you eat elsewhere. Also if you are in Lisbon I would recommend you take a train from Rossio station and go to visit Sintra which is only 40 min away from lisbon and tickets are at 4.80 euro per person only - it is absolutely beautiful. All in all, I would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again simply for the location and price, but if you are looking for a more luxurious experience perhaps look elsewhere. My advise is ask for air conditioned room when making your booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonja22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    128
    134
    74
    60
See reviews for
86
176
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We arrived in Lisbon late in the evening and found the hotel without a problem. We requested a double room with private bahtroom. The room was not a double bed, but rather two twin beds pushed together. And there was no air conditioning, which might be fine a lot of the year, but we were there the hottest time of the year. Their website doesn't acknowledge air conditioning, but some others incorrectly list it as available (unless it's just available in some rooms and we were unlucky). There was a fan, but it was still pretty misearable sleeping, even with the windows open. It's a busy pedestrian street, so it could also be quite loud, but that's to be expected. The breakfast was little more than bread, and the area where the food is kept is cramped and unorganized. The location of this hotel really can't be beat, so if that's what is important to you, go for it. Just be warned that in July it can be uncomfortable sleeping and the breakfast is nothing special.

Room Tip: From the pictures I've seen, there are renovated rooms. Try to get one of those. We should'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finley415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The room was so small that we could not unpack. There were no shelves or closet .the lighting was so foor that we could not read at night. There was no air conditioning and the temperature was 110 degrees outdoor. The breakfast was very lousy . The room was over price .they unickel and dime you for every service for example the key for the room safe costs 1.50Euros a day. Wi-Fi costs 2.00 Euros and hour and 5.00Euros a day .The elevator is dangerous and some guests were stuck between floors it made a noise that sounded like a hydraulic drill. In addition, the street in front of Hotel was torn up and the noise from the works was unbearable.

Room Tip: No room is good in this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a pleasant and long stay in Lisbon, rent one of the many cheap apartments in Bairro Alto. We stayed in this hotel for one night and probably wouldn't do it again. I don't have a problem with no frills accommodations as long as it's clean, but Duas Naoces didn't feel clean and the inner curtains had holes all over. Things to take into account:
-No AC, but sleeping with the windows open is incredibly loud. I could not imagine staying here on a weekend night.
-it's on the main drag and close to the metro
Stay here for one night (maybe) if you have no other options. I thought the bfast left a lot to be desired and would rather get a pastel de Nata at a bakery across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StdyAbrd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed for two nights in June, helpful staff. Interesting basic room, reasonably clean (but the bathroom could have done with a good bottoming). Material standard of accommodation and breakfast reflected in the cheap price of stay. Downside was the road works outside but otherwise an ok place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_m008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Ok, so we arrived to check in with a clear 'double room' preference on our booking. Got to the room and it was twin. (Happens all the time as we are a married female couple!) Felt so tired so just slept in it for the night. Woke up thinking I was in a prison cell! Room was very very basic, tiny, dark and a bit gruubby. So off we went to request a double room like we'd booked. A very lovely young man on reception helped us out and provided us with a card for a new room. What a difference! 1st floor what looked like posh rooms. Much cleaner, modern, lovely shower room, balcony onto main street. Thank you so much for sorting that. Breakfast was very basic but adequate - bread, croissant, sliced cheese, cereal and oranges. No eggs / yogurt / hams etc so fill your boots! Staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to younger travellers who might not mind the no frills accomodation and absolute mayhem outside with the roadworks during the day / drinkers at night. I do miss the sweet smell of pastry in the Lisbon streets! Lovely city.

Room Tip: Book the 25Euro Yellow Bus tour valid for 48 hours!! Very good value for all of the routes by tram a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoveWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#175 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Hotel Borges Chiado
Hotel Borges Chiado
#156 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#66 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#133 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#132 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duas Nacoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duas Nacoes

Property: Hotel Duas Nacoes
Address: Rua da Vitoria 41, Lisbon 1100-618, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Duas Nacoes 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of old Lisbon, Duas Nacoes Residence combines traditional architecture with stylish furnishings. It features a sun terrace and a 24-hour front desk. Located at the corner of Rua Augusta with Rua da Vitoria, a 5 minute walk from Rossio Metro, the Duas Nacoes Residence offers rooms with a radio and satellite TV. Duas Nacoes Residence is a short walk from St. George's Castle, the quarter of Alfama and Mouraria as well as enjoying the riverside area of Lisbon with its famous nightlife. The hotel's front desk is open 24/7, and on-site car rental and babysitting services are available. Duas Nacoes Residence is 6 miles from Lisbon International Airpor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duas Nacoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Duas Nacoes Lisbon
Residencial Duas Nacoes Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing