We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, could do better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residencia do Sul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residencia do Sul
Ranked #78 of 230 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“good location, could do better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

went with my husband in may and stayed for 6 nights. the hotel had sent the simple directions on how to get there, so it was easy to find. the building is very old and looks it from the outside. on the inside, it looks like some work has been done recently and there are lovely tiles and paintings. there is also a cute little lift! we had requested for a double room on a high floor and got what we requested for. the only minus with being on the 4th (top floor) was that we were allocated a room with a roof window, so it was a bit more cramped due to the sloping ceiling and there was hardly any space beside the bed to move! also there was a small cupboard which was inadequate for our usage - there just wasn't enough room for our clothes/ belongings. we did not have any problems with the people at reception. in fact they were very friendly and helpful and gave useful suggestions re day trips, etc. the negatives were that there seemed to be only one hairdryer for the entire hotel so it was hit and miss whether i could borrow one. also the tv in the room is really antiquated and the picture quality was very poor - lines across the screen regardless of the channel. it seemed like the hotel was recently refurbished, so it was a shame to miss these little final touches which would have made it better. the hotel is great value and it was easy to get to the centre from there. there are also shops and eateries near by which was convenient. we were told about capri cafe down the road and the food was good and not too expensive. if we do return to lisbon, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the same place again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    71
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
65
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is a very bad hotel, the good reviews don't reflect the kind of hotel. We reach the hotel in the afternoon and the person at the reception had a very poor appearance. The location is in a very bad part of town, I don't recommend this hotel, and I would never be back, we didn't stay there and had to look for another place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

The correct spelling should be Residencial do Sul. We reached the hotel at night & the guy at the reception was all smile. We feel so welcome after a tiring journey but raring to explore Lisbon the next day. The size of the room was just nice for the 3 of us. The toilet is clean but I don't really like the frost & almost transparent toilet door. If u get close enough to the door, whatever activity u do in the toilet can be seen.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkeiffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

After reading the mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect but we were quite happy with the Hotel. Its easy to get to from the airport, 10euros by taxi, and close to the centre - a 10min walk to the Rossio. The hotel itself is clean but very basic and part of our shower was broken but we slept well and it was good value. I dont agree with some of the negative comments about the area. I found it to be quite a vibrant and multi cultural area - with people from Portugal's ex colonies. I was not at all intimidated by people and i think if you have lived in any urban area around people of other cultures you'll find it interesting - we even saw a cricket game between a group of south east asian men on a large square near the hotel. I must admit its not the most beautiful part of town but its definitely not too touristy or dangerous!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysen, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Normally I travel to Lisbon at least once every year, and I used before another hotel, the Hotel Borges. But it got very smelly, and the prices are sky high, at this time about €60, so I looked for another hotel, cheaper and not so far from downtown. So I found Residencial do Sul and gave it a chance.
I have to mention that
The whole hotel was very clean and quite, the personell very polite, I had my own bathroom, 50 meters to the Metro. The room was small, but I only use it for sleeping.
It is OK to ask the desk to look at the room before you decide to use it.
And the price? Half as much as the stinky Borges, only €30 for a double room.

No breakfast, but there is a café just outside the door, where you can get a toast with ham and cheese and a café au laît for €3.

Nice, this is the place I am going to be at in the future.

Room Tip: Want to sleep? Ask for the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watergeorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

I had read the mixed reviews of this hotel, but based on the good ones plus the photos, decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised by this excellent budget hotel. If you are looking for a clean, centrally located base from which to explore Lisbon, this is it. Very simple, no frills accomodation. We had a double bed, tv, toilet and shower, small storage cupboard, shoe rack and a shelf which held two small suitcases (flat and with space to open them). There were also double doors leading to an internal courtyard balcony shared by all rooms (no chairs, no view).

The room was extremely clean and the bed was comfortable with clean white linens. There were no other decorations and the door to the toilet was similar to a shower door made of frosted plastic, so you could see a shadow of the person inside going about their business, which you may want to consider if sharing with someone who isn't a partner or close friend. Towels were replaced every day. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly and made phone calls for us. The hallways were decorated with beautiful tiles and cute paintings of Lisbon streets. There were no common areas that I was aware of.

The hotel offers internet at €2.50/30 minutes but there is a large internet point right next door that was €.50 for the same and had a printer. Breakfast was at the Bar Capri just up the road where we ate for less than €2 each for coffee and a pastry, and it was very good! The Intendente metro station is literally just out front of the hotel and the 28 tram which goes to all the major tourist destinations had a stop just around the corner, about a 2 minute walk away. We walked to the centre of town and to the river in about 15-20 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, safe and simple place to use as a home base for exploring the town. Our double was €45 per night. If you are used to staying in one and two star hotels and youth hostels, you will be pleasantly surprised by the quality of the service, the cleanliness and the location.

I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for something fancy, romantic or with a restaurant or common areas to hang out in. If you are accustomed to 3 and 4 star accomodations you may be disappointed. The rooms are very plain with no decorations and there is no breakfast served. This hotel would not be the sort of place you would want to spend the day at, just lounging around.

I would definitely stay here again when I return to Lisbon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kritaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

The pensao is really close (20 min walk) to the city center of lisbon and has a metro station in front of the house. Neighborhood not so good. Room small, without wradrobes or cupboards, smelled very smokey although non-smoker room, very cheap, clean but in the night extremely loud!!! You hear everything throuh the walls and from the floor. On our floor there was a big group of young men who were extremely loud EVERY night but the staff did not say anything... A few houses down the street there is an extremely good bakery/bar/restaurant (Capri) where you can have an incredibly good breakfast for almost no money. Beds (as in the entire country) only 1m80 long.
All in all: If you pay 30E per night for a double bed in the centre of a european capital you cannot expect a first class hotel. for this price the hotel was good! Would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Family Macedo B&B
#87 of 230 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Perola dos Anjos
#127 of 230 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensao Mana
#104 of 230 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Voyage Guest House
#159 of 230 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Imperial Guesthouse
The Imperial Guesthouse
#145 of 230 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia do Sul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia do Sul

Property: Residencia do Sul
Address: Avenida Almirante Reis 34 | Anjos, Lisbon 1150-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia do Sul 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residencia do Sul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Do Sul Hotel Lisbon
Residencia Do Sul Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing