We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendation”
Review of Residencia do Sul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residencia do Sul
Ranked #105 of 251 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Enschede
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommendation”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We liked our stay at recidencial do sul. Recidencial is situaded near by the center of the city. The metro station is next to the hotel (metrostop intendente). The rooms were clean and the beds were ok. We were gladly surprised to see we had airconditioning. The staff is very friendly, if you have questions they are kind enough to help you. If you don't expect to much luxury this is a perfect hotel to stay, especially for this price!

Laura & juliet

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    71
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
66
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

If you like architecture or a hotel that is a bit different from other hotels, than this is the hotel you should choose. The room were big, clean. The balcony (a small one) and the windows were fantastic, I loved it. The room were bright by light. The location is good. The hotel is about 20 meters from a metro station. Quiet area, which is good If you like to sleep when you're tired. The staff were nice and helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

went with my husband in may and stayed for 6 nights. the hotel had sent the simple directions on how to get there, so it was easy to find. the building is very old and looks it from the outside. on the inside, it looks like some work has been done recently and there are lovely tiles and paintings. there is also a cute little lift! we had requested for a double room on a high floor and got what we requested for. the only minus with being on the 4th (top floor) was that we were allocated a room with a roof window, so it was a bit more cramped due to the sloping ceiling and there was hardly any space beside the bed to move! also there was a small cupboard which was inadequate for our usage - there just wasn't enough room for our clothes/ belongings. we did not have any problems with the people at reception. in fact they were very friendly and helpful and gave useful suggestions re day trips, etc. the negatives were that there seemed to be only one hairdryer for the entire hotel so it was hit and miss whether i could borrow one. also the tv in the room is really antiquated and the picture quality was very poor - lines across the screen regardless of the channel. it seemed like the hotel was recently refurbished, so it was a shame to miss these little final touches which would have made it better. the hotel is great value and it was easy to get to the centre from there. there are also shops and eateries near by which was convenient. we were told about capri cafe down the road and the food was good and not too expensive. if we do return to lisbon, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the same place again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is a very bad hotel, the good reviews don't reflect the kind of hotel. We reach the hotel in the afternoon and the person at the reception had a very poor appearance. The location is in a very bad part of town, I don't recommend this hotel, and I would never be back, we didn't stay there and had to look for another place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The correct spelling should be Residencial do Sul. We reached the hotel at night & the guy at the reception was all smile. We feel so welcome after a tiring journey but raring to explore Lisbon the next day. The size of the room was just nice for the 3 of us. The toilet is clean but I don't really like the frost & almost transparent toilet door. If u get close enough to the door, whatever activity u do in the toilet can be seen.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkeiffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

After reading the mixed reviews I wasn't sure what to expect but we were quite happy with the Hotel. Its easy to get to from the airport, 10euros by taxi, and close to the centre - a 10min walk to the Rossio. The hotel itself is clean but very basic and part of our shower was broken but we slept well and it was good value. I dont agree with some of the negative comments about the area. I found it to be quite a vibrant and multi cultural area - with people from Portugal's ex colonies. I was not at all intimidated by people and i think if you have lived in any urban area around people of other cultures you'll find it interesting - we even saw a cricket game between a group of south east asian men on a large square near the hotel. I must admit its not the most beautiful part of town but its definitely not too touristy or dangerous!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Normally I travel to Lisbon at least once every year, and I used before another hotel, the Hotel Borges. But it got very smelly, and the prices are sky high, at this time about €60, so I looked for another hotel, cheaper and not so far from downtown. So I found Residencial do Sul and gave it a chance.
I have to mention that
The whole hotel was very clean and quite, the personell very polite, I had my own bathroom, 50 meters to the Metro. The room was small, but I only use it for sleeping.
It is OK to ask the desk to look at the room before you decide to use it.
And the price? Half as much as the stinky Borges, only €30 for a double room.

No breakfast, but there is a café just outside the door, where you can get a toast with ham and cheese and a café au laît for €3.

Nice, this is the place I am going to be at in the future.

Room Tip: Want to sleep? Ask for the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watergeorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Portugal Ways Culture Guest House
0.8 mi away
HI - Lisbon Youth Hostel
HI - Lisbon Youth Hostel
#261 of 470 in Lisbon
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pouso Dos Anjos
Pouso Dos Anjos
#174 of 251 in Lisbon
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Family Macedo B&B
Family Macedo B&B
#96 of 251 in Lisbon
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brickoven Palace
Brickoven Palace
#84 of 251 in Lisbon
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tagus Royal Residence
Tagus Royal Residence
#76 of 251 in Lisbon
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia do Sul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia do Sul

Property: Residencia do Sul
Address: Avenida Almirante Reis 34 | Anjos, Lisbon 1150-018, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 251 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia do Sul 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residencia do Sul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Do Sul Hotel Lisbon
Residencia Do Sul Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing