We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price quality : excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Antonio

Restaurante Antonio
Ranked #1,064 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Brussels
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Price quality : excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We loved the meal we had here.simple but fresh, honest cuisine. We stayed at an hotel closeby quite convenient after a bottle of wine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Multi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    63
    22
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Nice Food and a Cultural Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I had lunch here on my first day in Lisbon. The restaurant isn't far from the Metro, and is convenient to the America Diamonds Hotel. The staff were welcoming, though not all had a good command of English.

The atmosphere of the establishment is a really interesting mix. There is a restaurant section which is much like many in southern European; a café-like section; and a bar/coffee bar. I sat in the café section with a view of the restaurant (through an archway), and the bar along side. Behind the bar was a photo display of the dishes (numbered as per the menu) much like an American greasy spoon set up. Some customers came in and ate in the restaurant while others came and stood at the bar for a quick espresso or a glass of wine and others just to buy a pack of cigarettes.

The food was good, and also of good value. I had a hake steak which was served with boiled potato (a medium baker sized portion), broccoli, a hard boiled egg, crusty roll and carrots. The fish was very tasty, and the roll was one of the best I have had in a while, served hot and with butter.

The service was fairly good, and I was largely left alone to get on with my meal, though I was checked on from time to time. There are regulars, and there were a few friendly chats between staff and customers at the bar/till.

I would eat here again, and it is worth a visit just for the glimpse of Portuguese life.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank padreray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Handy for Picoas metro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I ate here on arrival from the UK before checking in to my hotel. It was late on and the restaurant was in the Dorling Kindersley guide. Beef with black beans and rice and chips and house wine. It was fine but not haute cuisine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TisPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and homemade-like food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were staying for one night in America Diamonds hotel that is located on the same street. The Antonio has convenient location and simple but sufficient choice from local cuisine. After placing the order we were offered fresh bread with butter and olives. Food was homelike, portions reasonable and prices adequate. Credit cards accepted except Diners and Amex.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Canis_And_Lupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We went to this restaurant based on prior reviews here. We were ignored by staff when we arrived, and after a few minutes of waiting around a server appeared and we finally got a table (there were only a few diners at other tables). We ordered wine and water and were not given enough glasses. More waiting around, and finally we had to take glasses from a nearby table. The food was good but not great. But we were really turned off when the bill came: we had turned away the couverts but they charged us for them. We got them to take them off the bill, of course, but it left us with a bad feeling, hence this review.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CTtravelersCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Antonio also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing