We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 Night Spring Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amazonia Lisboa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Ranked #227 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“4 Night Spring Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, short taxi ride from Airport and well located for all attractions, Reception staff were excellent extremely helpfull, lovely clean hotel, nice selection at Breakfast, all in all a very pleasant stay and excellent value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    110
    179
    78
    67
See reviews for
94
156
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights, the room was very spacious and clean, on the quiet side of the building. It was also cleaned everyday and had new sheets and towels, which doesn't always happen in 3* hotels!
The staff were exceedingly helpful, friendly and accomodating both in reception and the breakfast room. The breakfast has great value for money, so much better than I expected! And even though the building itself is a bit old, it has been very well maintained/refurbished.
Also, the location is really convenient as it is a very short walk to all sorts of transportation means. I prefered to walk everywhere, and it is just 10-15 mins from the centre through very interesting routes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Depy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsell,Surrey,England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was a last minute bargain holiday and we were very pleasantly surprised. The Reception staff were very helpful and particularly accommodating when, after allocating rooms for our party, changed one to a lower floor.We were were pleased by the breakfast as we only really expected a simple Continental breakfast for the price we paid but there was plenty of fresh fruit, meats cheese, croissants, scrambled egg, sausages etc. The bar staff were friendly and the drinks reasonable. Yes the rooms were a little tired but hey ho! The hotel is also conveniently located not far from the Metro and I can recommend the Bistro next door.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We bought a very good value hotel + flight deal. The hotel was clean and the reception staff were always friendly and helpful. All the minor complaints I have read in other reviews could have been resolved by spending more on a higher star rated more up to date hotel. No? Lisbon is lovely and the Portugese people so pleasant. Your legs are in for a surprise so be prepared but taxis are much cheaper than in the UK. The oceanarium is wonderful. There is so much to see in this city!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JasonJasonJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Mostly very helpful staff, apart from one reception member who when approached about lack of tea making/purchasing facilities, replied 'well what do you expect for a 3 star hotel?' Therefore unfortunately this is all the hotel is worth to me. However on saying that, another reception member was very helpful with organising our airport transfers and another with recommending a good restaurant, they even took us directly to it without expecting a tip.

The hotel itself is pretty dated, however kept clean with comfy beds and a nice hot shower.

The qualms with the hotel I did have were:
1) lack of heating as we visited during the winter season

2) a bag of soap left on the sink which should have been put in the dispenser, but never did.

3) They were hosting some child talent show auditions and we were not advised, therefore every morning we had to battle are way through hoards of children to find the front door! Just a slight annoyance as I am not a morning person at the best of times!

4) slightly far out from the main shopping/sightseeing district, but still walkable, I guess the sheer volume of hills made it seem worse.

That said, I'd still recommend staying here if you are looking for a holiday on a budget.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LollyPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
992 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 764 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I was a bit dubious about staying here. But the hotel was fine. Very friendly staff. Rooms have seen better days... Definitely lacking light. The bathrooms can do with better draining. Breakfast was mediocre. But I was only here for two nights and was perfectly comfortable. There are metro stations and bus stops within walking distance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunocouto, Manager at Amazonia Lisboa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
First of all we wish to thank the time you spent with your kind remarks. Likewise we appreciate the confidence placed in our services, during your last stay with us. Therefore, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back at Amazónia Hotéis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

What we need from our hotel when we are on a city trip is good bed, a nice warm shower, a hearty breakfast and the city center at walking distance. Hotel Amazonia hits all these boxes for a very affordable price. This is why I must rate this hotel as very good.
Complaints about stuff that should be refurbished and so on might be true, but is totally irrelevant regarding the prices of the room. Staff is, as mentioned before, very friendly and helpful. Our bus transfer for 82 people was not taken care for by the traveling agent and the reception arranged 21(!) taxi's within 10 minutes, so we could all still catch our plane back home. Nice job!
City center is at walking distance, but be aware that Lisbon is very hilly and you'll get tired soon. No problem, public transport and taxi's are really cheap.

Room Tip: Lower floors and street side floors can be noisy because of the hotel bar. We slept on floor 3 on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lennart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.6 mi away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#192 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eduardo VII
Hotel Eduardo VII
#233 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#214 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
#230 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#210 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avenida Park Hotel
Avenida Park Hotel
#182 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazonia Lisboa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazonia Lisboa Hotel

Property: Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Address: Travessa Fabrica dos Pentes 12 20, Lisbon 1250-106, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amazonia Lisboa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central yet quiet, the Amazónia Lisboa Hotel is located near important landmarks such as Marques de Pombal Square, the fashionable Avenida da Liberdade, Amoreiras Shopping Center, El Corte Inglês and less than a few miles (2 km) from Bairro Alto, the famous neighborhood well-known for its restaurants and night activity. The subway and buses stations of Marquês Pombal and Largo do Rato, are within easy reach allowing a fast and simple way of travel through the city. The airport is only 15 minutes away. This hotel offers a comfortable and cozy accommodation for guests visiting the charming and historical city of Lisbon in business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Amazonia Lisboa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amazonia Lisboa
Amazonia Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing