We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Perspective on Lisbon”

Lisbon Guided Tours
Ranked #194 of 475 Tours in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Custom Day Trips for Culture Vultures & Shore excursions A la Carte by Lisbon Tour Designer. Cure for the common tour! Exclusive Private Tours for 1 to 3 guests with your Brit in Lisbon, Boutique Excursions for groups of 4 to 6.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique Perspective on Lisbon”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

If you would like an expert guide that can give a unique perspective on Lisbon as well as a great driver, you should contact Mary. Mary and her husband Rui (driver) do an excellent job of giving a true insider's view to Lisbon and surrounding areas.
After giving Mary a general overview of what I wanted to do, she crafted an incredible 2 day tour which included wine tasting, historical visits, and great conversation which gave me great insight to the people and culture. Her quick wit and attention to detail made the 2 days extremely interesting and memorable.
Whether its your 1st time or 101st time to Lisbon, contact Mary. I can guarantee you she will offer you an incredible experience that you will tell your friends about.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lisbon personalized tour”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We spent a day with Mary Goudie, on a cruise stopover. She picked us up at the dock, her husband was our driver, using a large Toyota SUV. I asked her to show us "out of the ordinary things" and to arrange a Portuguese meal. She did both; the lunch with wines was outstanding and the visit to Capela de Sao Joao Baptista inside the lesser known Igreja de Sao Roques was worth the cost of the tour all by itself. Mary is very friendly and personable and will tailor a tour to whatever you choose. We recommend her highly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank WesleyL514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An extremely knowledgeable & charming tour guide”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Mary Goudie showed me around Lisbon, the highlights of which were Queluz Palace & the Tile Museum. She also took me on a day trip to Tomar, site of the Convento de Cristo, a stronghold of the Knights of Templar, and to the Shrine of Fatima. Her husband Rui does most of the driving which means that you are dropped off right off outside the places that you are going to visit. Mary is extremely knowledgeable, with the ability to fine tune her commentary to the requirements of the tour guest. She also has a good sense of humour, so you can have fun as well as learn a lot about Portugal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank bryan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Facsinating Templar Knights”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Mary had arranged to our group of 18 to visit Tomar and the Knights of Tempar. Rui, An expert in the history of the Knights met us there and guided us on a full day tour with a great deal of information - more that anyone could comprehend. He was truely passionate about the history. We were met at the docks or our cruise ship and whisked away for a full day. Very reliable and knowledgeable. We would highly recommend her.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BobShallotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“two fantastic days in lisbon”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

we had two days in lisbon with a cruise, and decided to have a tour with mary goudie and her husband (driver, singer and many many more) Rui. We saw everything, spending all time around Lisbon in a way we couldn't imagine, living as local people.
We found not only a guide but friends, and we think if you go in lisbon and you want to spend your time without missing the atmosphere of this fantastic city, the better way is to have a guided tour with this family.
Thank you Mary and Rui!
Enrico and Maria

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank enrico c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yourlisbonguide, Owner at Lisbon Guided Tours, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
We loved touring with your too, Maria & Enrico - how serendipitous can it be when both the Portuguese & the Italians (& of course me the Brit) would be nodding away to the country music we played on the way back from the Templar castle in Tomar. To say that it was enjoyed by all is big understatement. Glad you liked that little bit of the best of 18 century Rome, secretly tucked away in one of Lisbon's churches. Come visit with us in Lisbon again soon.
Mary & Rui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lisbon Guided Tours also viewed

Torres Vedras, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing