We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a VIP hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel
Ranked #176 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not a VIP hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

The hotel is modern and clean. However a number of aspects provide a relatively poor experience, the reception and check in takes too long, if more than a few guest turn up the wait is for ever. The main restaurant was closed during my stay and the food available in the "bar" was of very poor quality. However, there are lots of local places to eat. Breakfasts are of reasonable standard but there is a single point for coffee and tea, which is not ideal when a number of people have to queue , by which time any hot food taken is cold.
Bedrooms are clean, large with an over firm bed, good shower (though in the bath) and plenty of toiletries. TV is old CRT style and few channels in English. The view from my room was of a construction site, not very appealing. There is a swimming pool and spa but I didn't get a chance to try it out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gs488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    172
    125
    44
    28
See reviews for
73
157
29
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I got booked into the VIP Villa Rica for a work meeting of about 50. The staff were totally unable to cope with our (modest) number - the restaurant downright refused to serve a colleague on the first night, the reception staff was insolent, the "spa" (whirlpool) was out of order, the pool didn't open until 9, so we weren't able to go for a swim before work. Things got better on day two, the rest of the staff was absolutely lovely (special mention for the outstanding Paula, Paulo and Hugo) and we ate out (see my review for O Poleiro, which is 10 minutes away on foot). Generally, our impression was that the hotel management did not have enough staff on the floor.

The hotel is close to the Metro station and a short walk away from the bull fighting stadium (every Thursday - check it out if you are so inclined) and very close to the airport (meaning you hear a lot of planes). There is no wifi on the rooms, but bring a cable for wired internet access.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherinaGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We found the accomodation and the service in this hotel of good quality. Only minus: food was not great; better go to the center of the city and have some real Portugese meal. The swimming pool was an asset though, we enjoyed it a lot since we had this really hot weather.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristelLombaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Villa Rica was a fantastic place, everything was modern and perfectly clean. The restaurant was constantly closed when we were there. Reception were mediocre. one girl gave us terrible directions - we ended up lost.

The hotel wasn't in the best location, but there was a metro so it made it a lot easier. There was a chinese restaurant round the corner which was nice when we were too tired to go into town for food.

The indoor pool was nice, but we were told that swimming caps were a definite must, but when I went down looking like a fool in my pink cap, there were women and kids without any. The kids messing about were kind of annoying. The jacuzzi was broken. The gym was closed. The sauna and turkish baths only get switched on at 6 until 9.

My major grievances - we never had enough toilet roll! The laundry service was too expensive. Too far away to walk into town. Had to change onto a different metro line to get into town. Wasteland view out of our room (front facing)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eminenceemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

stayed here for one night on my way up to coimbra and stayed there then we got a surpire from my grandad to watch cirque du soleil that night.taxis are cheap into the centre and metro is a 5min walk good rooms they have interconnecting rooms for familys good value planes do come over the hotel but at night you cant hear them just outside the center of lisbon good for families and business people do come here

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during high season, as it was one of the few reasonable priced accomodations. The location is very easy to find by car, but not really pretty (the view from our room on the 7th floor contained a huge empty building area). Nevertheless you won't have to worry too much about the neighbourhood, as the next metro station (yellow line, Entrecampos) is just 3 minutes away and will take you quickly to the city center.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, because it was a little bit overpriced, so we took advantage of the nearby cafés and the supermarket close to the metro station. Staff was friendly and our room was spacious with huge king size beds, everyhing was in good conditions and very clean. The only thing missing is a free wireless internet connection.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and can recommend it for a few nights.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elfarolillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Very spacious and clean rooms. My room had very large windows facing the street and although there were many planes flying over (the hotel is not that far from the airport) I didn’t hear any noise at night.
Bed is very hard. Internet available although you have to bring your own cable or buy one at the reception desk – no wireless!
Staff was friendly, although there was a problem with my room when we arrived; the receptionist got a bit nervous, but tried to solve the problem as soon as possible. There was also a problem with one of the windows (it didn’t close properly – which also meant the air conditioning wouldn’t work) and they came to fix it straight away.
Location: perfect if you have to be at the university (ISCTE-IUL), but the area itself is not really exciting; except for one small restaurant, there are no other pubs or restaurants around. However, there’s a metro station just around the corner, as well as a big supermarket. Otherwise you can take a taxi (quite cheap!). All in all ok, but for sightseeing I’d recommend a hotel in the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 mi away
VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#137 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.4 mi away
VIP Executive Marques Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vip Executive Saldanha Hotel
0.3 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel

Property: VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel
Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro 295, Lisbon 1600-035, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel stands out for its exterior design whilst breathing light, nature and art in its interior. The size and tranquility of the rooms, the brightness of the areas, the marble in the bathrooms, a large lobby with natural light, News Shop, garage with three floors, Bar, Restaurant, a Health Club which features a gym, indoor heated pool, Turkish bath and Sauna, makes this hotel is the choice for your stay in Lisbon with all the quality.For those who bring your laptop, free internet in the rooms is available. The VIP Executive Villa Rica has nine conference rooms, with space to accommodate from a business meeting to a Congress with hundreds of participants. Situated on one of the main arteries of the capital, at the top of the 5 de Outubro Avenue, it has an outstanding set of easy and quick access to all areas of the city. It is close to the Entre-Campos railway station and the respective Metro station (3 minutes walking), it is only 10 minutes by Taxi from Lisbon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your VIP Executive Villa Rica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing