We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet bolt hole in the middle of party area”
Review of Hotel Anjo Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Anjo Azul
Ranked #162 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed 4 nights here while in Lisbon. It was certainly very cheap and value for money.

The benefits were it was right in the middle of the Barrio Alto - the party area of Lisbon, full of late bars and cheap restaurants. So it's ideal if you want to party the night away and not have to worry about getting to your hotel.

Room was very small, though clean and air conditioned - which was a Godsend.

No breakfast and the shower was good if you were a dwarf.

As somewhere to just spend a quiet night but no more this place was fine, but if you want somewhere special, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanW_Ealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed at Anjo Azul for one night and it was very nice. Not far from the airport (by taxi). The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The room was a good sized, with a very nice sized bathroom. It seemed quiet. While not a luxurious place, it was a great price in a great location (Bairro Alto), lots of things to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Let me start by saying the confrontation with the front desk guy on my second day here prompted me to change my flight and leave Lisbon thus leaving after 2 full days in the city....planned on a week. The incident happened yesterday but I wanted to wait a full day to let the anger subside.

Let me also say that if I wrote it yesterday afternoon after the controntation the rating would have been a zero for this hotel if there was a zero on the rating scale. The only thing that really saved it was all of the other staff who were absolutely wonderful. The man at night was especially nice and had some good conversations with him. The woman at the desk who check me in was also very pleasant letting me see different rooms before choosing one (the rooms are all different thus I would ask to see a couple of them). Then there was "the man".

After my first night I slept in quite late. As my computer/ipad/iphone/camera were all being charged, I took my towels down to the front desk. The guy said they needed to clean the room. I said I am sleeping and that there is no need to clean the room. He demanded that I let the cleaning lady in at that moment. He then proceeded to state that in Portugal they must clean the rooms everyday. On top of that he said that if she didn't clean it on that day that the next day it would take twice the time (I am not sure where the logic is in that one but if you figure it out please let me know). So I had to go up to my room and gather all of my electronics, bring them downstairs and wait for her to make the bed so I could go back in the room and sleep in it. Another illogical action. The guy then said he was with the hotel for 16 years and the cleaning woman for 9. I said it is not that I don't trust them but that if I want it cleaned it should be on my time, not theirs and if they aren't around so be it.....i would rather have an unmade bed then have to leave the room at their beck and call. This reminded me of youth hostels I stayed in back in the 1980's where you had to leave during the day. In all of my adult travels (and you can get a good idea of how much I have travelled by my reviews), I have never come across such a "manager". As he stated, he has been here 16 years which may account for not many people staying in the hotel.

The hotel itself is ok. The room I got overlooked the street which is a good thing in this case...I chose it due to this. The room was quite clean but very small (think a little bigger than Amsterdam hotels). The bathroom stunk to high heaven. I am not sure what is going on with their sewage but I could hardly go into the bathroom to take a shower due to the stench.

While waiting for them to clean the room, I was in the lobby where there were a good fifty plus bugs flying around which I took a picture of. The guy said it was due to the heat......it was about 60 degrees outside tops. If that reasoning held true there would be bugs in my room as my windows were wide open the entire time.....this wasn't the case thankfully.

I actually feel bad for those who obviously have a lot of pride in the establishment and enjoy working in the industry which is then offset by a guy who obviously has been in the business for tooooo many years. For me to decide to leave Portugal all together on the next flight I could get should say something about how angry I was.

Would I ever consider staying at the hotel again? Absolutely not. Was there value in the place? If it weren't for the managerial confrontation I would say yes but if you pay money to deal with this guy in any capacity, just remember this review.

Again, the ratings had to take into account the wonderful staff other than just the guy day manager.

Room Tip: If you can, deal with the woman during the day who is fantastic or the guy at night. Either one shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Great location, in the center of party area in Bairro Alto. We had a room on the first floor (204), quite small and dark, with wardrobe. However bathroom with bathtub was nice ;-)

Place is rather for youngsters than for families with kids (photos of naked man on the corridor's walls).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miju_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Sweet hotel in brilliant location in the Bairro Alto. We had room on upper floor with a balcony at the back, so got lovely evening sunshine. Staff were helpful and friendly and booked us a taxi to the airport. Great spot for exploring from in Bairro Alto and close to all the sights, including tram 28. The room was small but fine. Rooms at front could be noisy as nightlife is very much on the street round here - amazing though. You've got to get the XXXL mojitos at Portas Largas round the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben1982Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

the hotel offers good value for money, is centrally located and everything in the room worked worked as expected. they were nice enough to give me a room upgrade. wifi was available in each room which is not mentioned on their website.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed on two different weekends at the Anjo Azul in October 2010. I wanted to write a review because it is an unusual place. I totally and completely recommend it to most travelers. The only travelers that might not find it a good choice would be those with children, or those with older travelers that would need assistance or elevators, etc. It advertises as a gay hotel, but that is not an issue at all. There are some gay guests, but it is hardly a cruise hotel or anything close to it, and the clientele is quite mixed. The location is absolutely perfect in the Bairro Alto, the center of a great nightlife scene and many excellent restaurants and shops. It's an ideal location from which to walk and explore the city. If you have a rental car this would probably not be the place to stay unless you know the neighborhood and are comfortable driving and parking in medieval streets. The rooms are small, but I found them very comfortable, clean, and well maintained. They of course are not 5-star hotel rooms. The staff is friendly, but there is usually only one person at the desk and their knowledge of other languages and of Portugal in general varies from person to person. The hotel does not accept credit cards and all transactions are cash. There is free wifi access, but sometimes the signal is a little weak. Also cell coverage can be spotty in the hotel and the neighborhood. For budget travelers this is a great choice. For others that can forgo a few amenities, it is also a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank txbearmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Safira
#169 of 255 in Lisbon
70 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#149 of 255 in Lisbon
553 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#198 of 255 in Lisbon
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
The Keep
The Keep
#235 of 255 in Lisbon
76 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Palacio Camoes - Lisbon Serviced Apartments
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Tejo
Lisboa Tejo
#139 of 255 in Lisbon
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anjo Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anjo Azul

Address: Rua Luz Soriano 75, Lisbon 1200-246, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: £41 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anjo Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Anjo Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing