We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10% discount, but you have to know certain things...”
Review of Hotel Anjo Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Anjo Azul
Ranked #173 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“10% discount, but you have to know certain things...”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

The rooms: clean and basic, 12-14sqm. Half of the rooms face backyards/quiet but you should be on floor 3 or 4, otherwise you don’t get much daylight into your room as the opposite building is close (that’s why on the website’s pictures these rooms have closed curtains). So floor 1 and 2 are rather depressing backyards.
The street-facing rooms have lots of noise, esp. at night! I recommend you to take earplugs with you (or alternatively go out until mornings).

The location: As others said, that’s the place to be. Convenient.

The price: That’s were its getting more complicated. Rooms are 65/75EUR in high season. For other European cities that would be cheap, for Lisbon its not. Is it a rip-off? No. But not such an “amazing”/“great” deal as others say either. In the same area you get wonderful short-term-apartments with at least 4times the size for the same price as the hotel sleeping 3 or 4 people - again: FOR THE SAME PRICE. And: there is no breakfast at the hotel anyway.
One more on the price: I got a 10% discount by paying CASH – but you have to ask for it, they wont give it without asking! I assume that’s the Portuguese way (no receipts). I also heard from another guest that if you mention “Spartacus” you can get a 10% discount too. I wonder if you can combine both discounts? Again, 10% discount was in high season. I guess off-season cld be more!?

The service: As I said rooms are clean, you get fresh towels every day. Bed/Blankets were clean. No complaints.
HOWEVER… here it comes: Reception staff was either very friendly or totally ignorant (both extremes), depending on the person…
Also, reception is NOT well informed, example: Going to the beach (“Beach 18”): I expect them to know how to get there, more than their “take the bus” – “which line?” – “just ask at the bus station”.
Basically there are 3 ways getting to the beach:
A) take a taxi from hotel for approx. EUR35 (with meter, one way, 40mins at least) –HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
B) Subway/Bus/ToyTrain at the Beach:
I took that option once - nightmare. However the receptionist did not tell me/did not know that the ToyTrain only runs June/July/August. So you are getting off the bus in the middle of nowhere and discover "oh, they didnt tell me at the reception the train only runs in these 3months?"... Nice, no taxis anywhere… Good luck! The whole trip to the beach took me unbelievable 2.5hrs and lots of asking around!
C) Ferry/Bus:
I found out that’s a much better way getting there. Ferry (EUR1.30 one way) and then bus Number 127 (EUR3.55 one way) to final stop and walk 10mins on the beach from Toytrain Stop 19 to Stop 18. Do not take bus 130 as this brings you to toytrain stop 1 (and if there is no toytrain you are stuck in the middle of nowhere!).

Back from beach to hotel: You will not be able to get a taxi – they don’t go out there to pick someone up – I tried it but it seems to far away for them. Buses run every 30-45minutes. Again, take bus 127 from Stop 19, then the ferry. Should take you 60-75mins in total, no included waiting time for the bus.
(This is the type of info a reception should know and not every guest has to painfully find out themselves.)

Internet/Wireless signal is only available in the lobby. You can use their terminal for EUR1 for 30mins.

Security Problem 1: Imagine you come home and there is a NEW guy at the reception. You tell him “room XYZ” and you get the key. No further questions asked. Wanna try and see other rooms…?
Security Problem 2: There is a room safe, which costs extra per day of usage. But it only fits a small wallet. So what are you doing with your laptop? Again, remember basically everyone has access to your room by only saying a room number…

Have fun in Lisbon, it’s a great town and most Portuguese are friendly/welcoming by nature... ;))

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalCitizenOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    33
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
37
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2009

A nice and cosy place to stay in Lisbon. Walking distance to bars and restaurant and near public transport. Luis Miguel (staff) was very nice and always there to answer your question. Rooms are always clean, bed was comfortable and price per night is the best especially for budget travellers. The only negative side is, they don't offer breakfast. It would be so nice if they will offer breakfast even for a fee.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nujandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at the Anjo Azul hotel last week while we were in Lisbon and were really impressed.

The location was amazing, one street behind all the bars of the Barrio Alto so although you were right in the action for night life you didn't get disturbed by it at night.

The room was cleaned everyday to a great standard. The only thing that was a disappointment was out little terrace was more of a box and not nearly as nice as in the pictures. However we had thought this might be the case when we booked it and as we opted for the cheapest room anyways couldn't complain.

It is a gay hotel however don't let that put you off, the only evidence we saw of it was the rainbow flag in the lobby and some pictures of handsome men surfing on our bedroom wall!

Short walking distance to all the sites and tasty restaurants - try steak on a stone it is amazing :-)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madcow4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We were unable to have one of the rooms that we have booked as the hotel was installing air conditioning on that floor so one of our party had to move to another much smaller room below. The hotel was very clean with smallish rooms and varying bathrooms. The walls were quite thin which made the hotel a bit noisy especially when the workmen were overhead installing the air con!!

It also seemed that the hotel was renting rooms by the hour based on the activities and noises through the night (and the condom packs titled "sexy kits" on the stairwell).

One of the staff members was quite surly but on the whole the staff were fine.

The real bonus was that the rooms were reasonably priced and the hotel was in a great location - very close to heaps of bars and restaurants.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny, ny
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2007

The hotel was clean and brightly decorated which was a nice change from the typical, boring hotel room. The location in the Barrio Alto is GREAT!!! The reason to stay here is clearly the location. Everything in the Barrio Alto is within a couple of blocks so that's very nice. The management was friendly and nice. We stayed on the 3rd floor and our room faced an alley so it was quiet with respect to outside noise but during the night you can hear people walking up and down the stairs. At one point, a group of people were talking in the hallway and it sounded like it was in our room (really loud). So the rooms are not insulated and quiet. But they are clean and comfortable (but as another review noted, not a lot of space to store things). It was good for one night, but I wouldn't want to spend more than 1 or 2 nights there. Our room was EUR75. Not a bad value for the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Because of the thin walls, we could hear everything
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leecylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie on RTW adventure
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

I stayed here for 3 nights in March 2007. We stayed on the 4th floor facing the street and had our own bathroom.


LOCATION
The location is an a traditional neighbourhood in central Lisboa known as Barrio Alto (High Neighbourhood). Getting to the hotel from the main airport bus stop requires going up some steep hills, you will not regret this as the benefits are worth it. (At least you can walk down with your bags when you leave).

Just outside of the high tourist area you can easily walk to numerous restaurants and bars that are more pleasant and less expensive than those in the main square. There are also funky little shops in the area too.

A tram comes reasonably close to the hotel, and many of the central attractions are within walking distance. It is great to see an attraction, come back to the hotel for a rest, and then go straight out into the heart of Lisboa. You can not get a more traditional and convenient experience by staying a few kilometres out in a chain hotel.


ROOM
-All the features in the room seem quite new.
-The room also had an alarm clock, wardrobe, safe and a small bar fridge. A kettle would have been nice feature, though I knew the room did not have one, so can’t complain.
-There is a TV in the room, but only a few Portuguese channels, there is so much to see and do that this is not important.
-The room had a little balcony too which was nice.

BATHROOM (in room)
The bathroom is small, so if you are obese you will have difficulty, but most people won’t. The shower was fine for me. There was always hot water, though the cold tricked me with water pressure, as there was another tap high on the wall that controlled the cold water pressure. The shower has a sloping ceiling and tall people may find this not tall enough.

One unpleasant aspect however was a putrid smell in the bathroom that appeared when the door was closed, while it could not be pinpointed I suspect it came from the drain. If you left the doors open it was usually okay.


COMMUNUAL FACILITIES
-Internet - there is an internet in the lobby that you do not have to pay for, this was handy. I do not know if there is wireless as I did not take a laptop.
-Bar - I did not use this, and I did not see anyone else use it, not sure if there were many guests.
- The back of the hotel has a nice little courtyard, again I did not use this, though I imagine it would be lovely in the summertime.
- The website says “There is also a small living room and a kitchen equipped for our guest's use”, however when we asked we were told there was no kitchen.


CLEANLINESS
The entire place was exceptionally clean, and a cleaner comes in everyday. She also makes your bed.

STAFF
The staff are really helpful and seem to speak many languages, including English. The provide you with maps and tips on the local area. You are required to leave your key at the desk when you go out, which I find handy, and the desk is staffed 24 hours.


ATMOSPHERE
I did not find this place noisy, I only heard one or two doors bang. Perhaps the neighbourhood would be more lively in the summertime, but if you take earplugs for sleeping then there will be no problems I am sure. A lot of noise is blocked out from the street as the window glass is thick, and there are internal window shutters.

BOOKING
The booking process should be followed carefully, as indicated on the website. You are required to pre-reserve a room and to confirm the day before by phone (they have Skype). We were pleased to receive a small discount as we had a print for one.

RECOMMENDATION
I would recommend this place to singles and couples wanting to explore Lisboa . In reference to other reviews, gay/lesbian/straight/others will all enjoy this place as long as they want to.

Should I return to Lisboa I will return to Hotel Anjo Azul.

  • Liked — Location, friends of Dorothy, clean
  • Disliked — Unwelcome smell that was sometimes in the bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigTripGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2007

This little hotel is in a great location deep in the heart of the Bairro Alto. The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful, and the rooms were small but tasteful and clean.

Unfortunately sound carries from the lobby and up & down the stairs & hallway. Not the quietest night's sleep.

Unbeknownst to us, the Azul is a gay hotel but is definitely hetero-friendly. Just a very mild warning.

  • Liked — Location & Staff
  • Disliked — Level of Noise
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ThisCatsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#143 of 247 in Lisbon
531 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#69 of 247 in Lisbon
489 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Palacio Camoes - Lisbon Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#188 of 247 in Lisbon
200 reviews
Safira
#171 of 247 in Lisbon
60 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#152 of 247 in Lisbon
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anjo Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anjo Azul

Property: Hotel Anjo Azul
Address: Rua Luz Soriano 75, Lisbon 1200-246, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anjo Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Anjo Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing