We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WiFi is poor and not free.....”
Review of Vila Gale Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Opera
Ranked #144 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a conference hotel lying right under the tall bridge.... - and of course close to Tejo river - but not the ideal location.
So you should choose this hotel if you ar attending a conference at the adjacent conference center (300 m).
At a conference hotel "state of the art in Europe 2014" is free, well-functioning and speedy WiFi".
At this hotel it is free in lobby area - but you have to pay in your room!
In my room covereage was very poor - and very fluctuating - and you had to give a long code and a long password every time you lost connection. This was not good at all!!!
Rooms are OK - if you take the rooms facing East the noise from the bridge will disturb you....
Good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Tak the West rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roarmaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
Despite the negative appreciation that you made about the WiFi, that we have taken good note, we were glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the breakfast buffet.
We look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed for business, the hotel is closest one to the congress centre. On arrival there was a long queue at the reception, and only one staff member working, it took 20 minutes to check in, and I had been travelling for 18 hours. My first room was 6th floor and directly overlooking both the suspension bridge ( rail and road ) and the highway and trains and tram beneath! Horrific... I changed room to one on the 7th floor other side of hotel, much quieter. Room was basic, not4 star in any way. Also not that clean. Reception was poorly staffed with long queues for much of my stay. And the rate I paid was a lot for the quality(or lack) that I received. If u have to stay here, do so because you got w great deal or need to be at the congress centre. It is 5 mins walk. To get to the city from here is a long way!

Room Tip: Ask for one on a high floor and opposite side to suspension bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We regret that the stay with us did not fulfil your expectations and we apologise for the inconvenience.
We strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests and we are concerned when we don’t achieve it.
We have taken note of your comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Medium hotel with average comfort, friendly reception service, nice premises and good rooms.
The restaurant served a steak but the meat was far away from what was expected considering that we opted for a sirloin steak.

Room Tip: It has the bridge with the train very close, so it has some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoloCordeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a bedroom in 7th floor, which had the most amazing view of both the river and part of the town. Looks lovely when the lights are on in the night. Must mention the reception staff, they were helpful with maps and details we needed to look around in lisbon. They had a lot of patience and was always with a smile. Can't say the same about room service, we asked for boiling water as there is no kettles in the room and we were asked to pay but we did use the room service facility and the food was lovely. Swimming pool is bit on the small side but it was empty on a weekday evening not sure how it is on the weekends. Overall a nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oshadie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Very basic hotel for a 4 star. Rooms spartan and basic. Hotel is clean and modern but many kilometers from anywhere interesting.

The price is good.

But, the constant trains on the big bridge are just plain annoying. Along with the occasional noisy flight going overhead.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank FlyboyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Well received at reception. Room great. Quiet. Great sleep and spotlessly clean and breakfast was great. The location is under the bridge and close to the river. My stay was for business so not sure where it is located in terms of shops etc,

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Purpose - romantic runaway for 3 days/nights in Lisbon.
Hotel is very clean, neat and it has semi-sophisticated look. Highly professional staff that take cares of any of the guests' needs right away.
Location - great! 5 minute walk to one Metro station, 15 minutes enjoyable riverwalk to the other Metro station & Belem historic venue. Pretty view of the bridge and Tera rio.
Amnesties - good breakfast, easy access to the web via computer stations in the hotel lobby.
Value - inexpensive!
Would go back and recommended the hotel!

Room Tip: higher floors help from not hearing the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Pestana Palace Lisboa
#38 of 255 in Lisbon
2,024 reviews
Novotel Lisboa
#118 of 255 in Lisbon
2,895 reviews
Parque das Nações
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#101 of 255 in Lisbon
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Lisboa
#91 of 255 in Lisbon
1,411 reviews
Belém
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#178 of 255 in Lisbon
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Opera

Address: Travessa do Conde da Ponte, Lisbon 1300-141, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#106 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £75 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming city hotel is situated directly in Lisbon's tourist centre. The hotel is set directly over the Tagus River and the lifely Docas area. The centre of Lisbon, Rossio, is roughly 5 km away and the congress centre is 100 meters away. Public transport departs from stops just 200 m from the hotel. The surrounding area is filled with bars, pubs, restaurants and nightclubs. The main tourism attractions are only 500 meters away in Belem. The airport is approximately 12 km away. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 9 floors with a total of 259 rooms, of which 19 are superior rooms and 16 junior suites. The facilities include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, a safe, free Wi-Fi internet connection in public areas, lifts, a luggage room, a currency exchange desk, conference rooms. In the public areas guest will find an inviting meal area and restaurant and a magnificent bar. Restaurant with highchairs for infants. For an additional fee you may use our laundry services, garage or Health Club. The bright and modern en suite rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel offers guests a Health Club (for an additional cost) with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, a Turkish bath and gym. The hotel also has a Spa that offers massage and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course is just 15 km away. Ask for more information about sports and other activities. Guests may choose their breakfast, lunch or dinner meals from a wide buffets. At lunch and dinner guests may also select dishes from the set menu, or take the a la carte option. In addition, the hotel caters for guests with special dietary requirements or take away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Gale Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Opera Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing