We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for 2 nights”
Review of Vila Gale Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Opera
Ranked #133 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family and I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in Lisbon. We took a taxi to get to the center of Lisbon but it is also possible to take a bus. If you want to explore Lisbon by foot and fast metro it is perhaps best to stay at a hotel more near the center of the city. When we stayed at the hotel the environment was very calm. We parked our car right in front of the entrance of the hotel, on the other side of the road. The staff at the reception was helpful. My family and I thought that the breakfast buffet was fantastic. It offered quality food and lots of variety. Because our stay overlapped with Christmas celebrations, the breakfast buffet offered several Portuguese sweets typical of this festive season. We also had dinner twice at the restaurant of the hotel. The restaurant staff was very friendly although we thought that the prices were a bit expensive. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We could hear the noise from the traffic at the bridge when the windows were open. The bathroom was very clean offering soaps, shower gel and shampoo. The biggest problem was WI-FI. There is no free WI-FI in the bedrooms, only in the lobby. Because I didn't want to spend extra money on internet connection, everytime I wanted to check my e-mail I would go downstairs and sit at the relaxing space near the reception. Sometimes the internet connection failed in the lobby and I had to reintroduce a very long username and password many times all over again. The original decorations at the reception as well as the special designs for the festive winter season along with the music and lighting at the lobby were very pleasant and calming.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaN483MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and photos regarding our hotel.
We apologise for the inconvenience that you experienced with the Wi-Fi and we are very happy with all the positive comments you made about us, particularly the ones concerning staff, breakfast, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms.
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
There are newer reviews for Vila Gale Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel team were friendly and accommodating, but the wi-fi connection ( paid!!!) wasn't stable, drove us all nuts! The room was dark. Not really worth to stay, if coming for business, or a conference.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Yonithk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review about our hotel.
We apologise for the inconvenience with the wi-fi and we will report your comments to the IT team, so that they may improve this service.
We hope that the friendly and accommodating environment that you experienced, may lead you to stay again at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the conference venue. Indeed there is free wifi in the lobby which is very choppy, dedicated to one digital device and has the most " unfriendly " user name and password which have to be entered every time....to avoid all this we acquired two access accounts for 15 euros for the week and yet the performance was the same...drove us crazy!!!

Room Tip: Very problematic wifi connection. Clean rooms. Good breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Varditkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
Our location is in fact very convenient for those who are attending a conference at the congress center.
In what concerns the wi-fi service, we will report your comments to the IT team, so that they may improve this service.
We look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel provides good services and makes an efford to make a stay as pleasent as possible.
The downside of the hotel is the noise coming from the bridge.
It is very close to the river and Alcantara night life is good.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side opposite to the bridge
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paulo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our services and we look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here because I went to a conference at the conference centre. I didnt bother reading the reviews but if I had then I might have thought twice about the convenience. Yes I am noise sensitive - but even on the 'quiet side", which I was given because i was here for a week, it was noisy. The singing of traffic on the suspension bridge is not so bad as the trains above on the same bridge or on the ground between the hotel and river, or even the flight path which does seem to take a break for a about 6 hours a night. The doors slam shut very loudly and the rooms are not very soundproof. ON the "noisy side' ie under the bridge which colleagues only staying three days got, I have to admit I could not have stayed.
That said staff were very helpful, cleaners very friendly, reception staff do try to help with requests.. but what can they do with external noise? Then there is the charge for everything policy - the lock to put in your in-room safe which does not fit a normal laptop only ipad. I was told no reception based safety deposit box. Wifi is not free but it seemed to work well.
Consider carefully - bus and tram from the city stop at the conference centre door.

Room Tip: Get the "quiet side". higher floors probably get more noise from overhead rail and lower f...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KarenCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We regret the negative points that you mentioned and we apologise for the inconvenience. We know that our location is not the quietest, particularly for someone who is noise sensitive.
On the other hand, we were very pleased to know that you found our staff helpful and friendly.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a conference hotel lying right under the tall bridge.... - and of course close to Tejo river - but not the ideal location.
So you should choose this hotel if you ar attending a conference at the adjacent conference center (300 m).
At a conference hotel "state of the art in Europe 2014" is free, well-functioning and speedy WiFi".
At this hotel it is free in lobby area - but you have to pay in your room!
In my room covereage was very poor - and very fluctuating - and you had to give a long code and a long password every time you lost connection. This was not good at all!!!
Rooms are OK - if you take the rooms facing East the noise from the bridge will disturb you....
Good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Tak the West rooms....
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roarmaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
Despite the negative appreciation that you made about the WiFi, that we have taken good note, we were glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the breakfast buffet.
We look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed for business, the hotel is closest one to the congress centre. On arrival there was a long queue at the reception, and only one staff member working, it took 20 minutes to check in, and I had been travelling for 18 hours. My first room was 6th floor and directly overlooking both the suspension bridge ( rail and road ) and the highway and trains and tram beneath! Horrific... I changed room to one on the 7th floor other side of hotel, much quieter. Room was basic, not4 star in any way. Also not that clean. Reception was poorly staffed with long queues for much of my stay. And the rate I paid was a lot for the quality(or lack) that I received. If u have to stay here, do so because you got w great deal or need to be at the congress centre. It is 5 mins walk. To get to the city from here is a long way!

Room Tip: Ask for one on a high floor and opposite side to suspension bridge!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. We regret that the stay with us did not fulfil your expectations and we apologise for the inconvenience.
We strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests and we are concerned when we don’t achieve it.
We have taken note of your comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Novotel Lisboa
#114 of 254 in Lisbon
2,743 reviews
Pestana Palace Lisboa
#34 of 254 in Lisbon
1,893 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#104 of 254 in Lisbon
3,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#169 of 254 in Lisbon
307 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#137 of 254 in Lisbon
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Opera

Address: Travessa do Conde da Ponte, Lisbon 1300-141, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#75 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#100 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £56 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming city hotel is situated directly in Lisbon's tourist centre. The hotel is set directly over the Tagus River and the lifely Docas area. The centre of Lisbon, Rossio, is roughly 5 km away and the congress centre is 100 meters away. Public transport departs from stops just 200 m from the hotel. The surrounding area is filled with bars, pubs, restaurants and nightclubs. The main tourism attractions are only 500 meters away in Belem. The airport is approximately 12 km away. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 9 floors with a total of 259 rooms, of which 19 are superior rooms and 16 junior suites. The facilities include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, a safe, free Wi-Fi internet connection in public areas, lifts, a luggage room, a currency exchange desk, conference rooms. In the public areas guest will find an inviting meal area and restaurant and a magnificent bar. Restaurant with highchairs for infants. For an additional fee you may use our laundry services, garage or Health Club. The bright and modern en suite rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel offers guests a Health Club (for an additional cost) with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, a Turkish bath and gym. The hotel also has a Spa that offers massage and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course is just 15 km away. Ask for more information about sports and other activities. Guests may choose their breakfast, lunch or dinner meals from a wide buffets. At lunch and dinner guests may also select dishes from the set menu, or take the a la carte option. In addition, the hotel caters for guests with special dietary requirements or take away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Opera Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing