We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fusion Cuisine: Sushi >< Alentejo Traditional Products” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gustus & Sushi Alentejano Restaurant

Gustus & Sushi Alentejano Restaurant
Ranked #1,689 of 4,021 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Sushi, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fusion Cuisine: Sushi >< Alentejo Traditional Products”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Don't expect to have here raw fish, scallop or shrimp, but an AMAZING signature food, mixing sushi arquitecture with typical and traditional Alentejo (South Portugal) food! Very fresh, very fine, not too heavy...Just order the big chef plate to have the maximum varieties, with fish (Codfish), meat (Beef, Alentejo sausage), fruit (Apple, Mango), etc.
Just Go go go.
Located between Sao Sebastiao and Praça de Espanha Metro Station.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PierreBeLg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    49
    25
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average food, great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I went to this restaurant for a coworker's birthday lunch. I was willing to taste different things and to understand what fusion cuisine is. I realized that I am not a big fan of sushi alentejano a.k.a. traditional portuguese food meeting sushi.

Then I tried Hamburgalheira which I enjoyed but the food was not outstanding. It was really interesting eat a hamburger made of minced meat with alheira and goat cheese. I don't know if this hamburguer was supposed to be sweetish but it was.

Though I was not very impressed with this fusion cuisine thing, I believe this is a matter of tastes and preferences. It worth for the experience. This is a place to try different concepts of food with a twist. Some people are going to like, some people don't. I did not like too much.

The service is great, I loved the way waiters treat the customers. They are very polite and they suggest - in a low profile way - food and wine.

In the end, the waiter offered us a Sangria de Champagne e Frutos Silvestres that was divine!!! I cannot even explain how good it was, I never thought about this combination to do a sangria. Genius! You have to tried Sangria if we you visit Gustus.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant fusion of sushi and traditional Portuguese cuisine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Mostly recomended for Portuguese or those familiar with Alentejo's stapples. Super fun to discover traditional tastes inside sushi rolls. I'm afraid the fun, though, is lost on foreigners.
Nevertheless, the food is great and, even If your're not Portuguese, you'll still enjoy tasting something as different as this.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug_on_the_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional portuguese food from Alentejo meets Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

It was a different and satisfying experience. Besides the "normal" dishes from the region of Alentejo, this restaurant specializes in combining it with traditional japanese sushi (they also have normal sushi). The fusion doesn't always work, but most of the times it produces interesting and tasty results. The service was excellent and the price was on-par with the whole experience. I'd recommend trying it at least once, for the different experience it offers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank del7a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gustus & Sushi Alentejano Restaurant also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Gustus & Sushi Alentejano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing