We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow Fantastic City & Lisbon Colours Apartments”
Review of Lisbon Colours

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lisbon Colours
Ranked #28 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Lisbon Colours is right in the middle of the tourist district of Bairro Alto. The area is very quiet during the day, with most of the restaurants and bars closed, but soon as the sun goes down the area starts to come alive until the early hours of the morning. My kind of town :-) the apartment i got (actually i requested it) Pombos de Lisboa ( Pombos i think has something to do with pigeon) is in the front on the first floor looking over the street. The windows are doubled glazed with large wooden shutters, so this keeps all the party noise out. Most of the time i left the windows open so i could hear the sounds of people enjoying themselves. The person who looks after you is Igor, he is wonderful and very helpful. Igor greets you with a nice glass of port, yum yum. The apartment looked just like in the photos, so no disappointment, on the table is a complimentary bottle of red wine, very nice touch. :-) everything in the apartment was very clean, they service the rooms everyday. The shower and toilet is very clean. The hot water was a small problem, but was fixed very quickly. If i have to have a negative for the apartments, it would be there is no cable TV, so you get local TV. Overall Lisbon Colours is a great place to stay, the location is very central, you can walk to all the lovely cafe's and shopping mall. I always felt safe walking around alone during the day and night. I will be staying at Lisbon Colours again later this year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marucio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Well for me it was fantastic, great location in Barrio Alto near to all the small bars and restaurants and from here you can walk to most of the attractions easily. Made to feel amazingly welcome by the Manager with glass of port and a bottle of red wine. Apartment was fantastic, all you could ask for and more. I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The good news is that these are nicely appointed little apartments in a lively neighbourhood. Restaurants and bars - some good, some not so good - abound. The other reviews about the area hit the mark.

But. Our stay was spoilt by the lack of hot water. Igor, the very nice Manager, told us on arrival that their system was being restarted, so it was no surprise that the water was less than tepid that night. But it did not not improve during the next day (31 December). Being New Year, they were unable to get a plumber until 2 January. There was passably warm water during that day after a pump was changed, but it had gone again by 3 January and it remained that way for the rest of the week with, as far as we can tell, no further effort to do anything about it. They had assumed the problem was in our apartment and let us use another. But that - after a brief period of hope - suffered the same problem.

We may be British, but we are clean! We like showers. We do not like jumping quickly into a just about tepid shower, getting wet, leaping out, washing with a flannel and leaping in again for a quick rinse. You could not stand under the shower, that's for certain.

I note that there are others who have made similar comments about the water on this and other sites. The owners are spoiling very nice apartments if they do not do something about the hot water system. The apartments are not cheap and I could not recommend a place - however nice - where there were these doubts. They should be getting Very Good ratings, but the water is an own-goal of epic proportions

Room Tip: Strongly advise to check in-room hot water situation. Some may be better than others. Families wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This location was very quiet during the day and lively at night. The accommodations were wonderfully appointed. The building is quite unassuming, but internally there were all the comforts of home (minus a washer and dryer). Loved walking to local shops and restaurants nearby. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Perfectly located in the heart of Barrio Alto, great bars and restaurants close by. Metro station was close and easy to walk to.
Our apartment was awesome, clean and great size as well as good value.
The staff are amazing, very friendly and incredibly helpful - carrying our suitcases up flights of stairs, providing us a map, mobile phone to call if we got lost or needed help. And of course the delicious glass of Port on arrival!
Highly recommend Lisbon Colours.
Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrazedKnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

There are alot of quaint, historic traits- to this guest house.
Despite being 150years old; the building's electricity & plain furnishings- are new.
It is good aerobic excersize- to walk up 5 flights of stairs. Staff generously helped me with one of my bags.
On- site staff, seem to try hard to be of service.
It was nice of them to offer me a complementary bottle of Port Wine- I would have preferred a quiet nights' rest.
Trouble is, they're working with a somewhat poorly maintained old building.
There has been no hot water in my shower. It fluctuates from cool to warm. The bathroom floods upon cleansing yourself. Which has lead to an imbedded smell of mildew, etc.
There was a fingertip-sized packet of no-frills shampoo, plus a thumb-sized portion of cheap soap. That's it, for toiletries.
There was a power outage, the first night.
Despite two of the lamps missing light bulbs; what light there was, provided more than adequate illumination.
I am relieved, at least, that room rates were fair; not inflated to five*star prices- just because they can get away with it.
For soundproofing; carpets & rubber door buffers- would be extremely helpful. These are fair-sized apartments, in a charming neighborhood- and it's a shame it's been too noisy to rest; & hence function properly in the day.
On the flipside, I enjoyed the pleasantly melodious church bells tolling nearby.
Accordingly, the soothing songs of seagulls & pigeons- were a reward for opening the windows, as was the fresh air.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in the Loft apartment for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were very friendly, apartment was beautifully designed and spacious, could not fault it in any way. The complimentary bottle of red, water and coffee capsules are a nice touch too. Would definitely say again and would highly recommend. You cannot have a more central base for Bairro Alto

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Residentas Apostolos
Residentas Apostolos
#21 of 503 in Lisbon
131 reviews
54 Santa Catarina
#16 of 503 in Lisbon
145 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Almaria EX Libris Chiado
Almaria EX Libris Chiado
#23 of 503 in Lisbon
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
My Suite Lisbon
My Suite Lisbon
#31 of 262 in Lisbon
298 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Garrett 48 Apartments
Garrett 48 Apartments
#64 of 503 in Lisbon
118 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
The Lisbonaire Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Colours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Colours

Address: Travessa da Queimada 46 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-365, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 503 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £59 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Colours 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lisbon Colours, your home in Lisbon. The starting point to discover the colours of the city.Situated in the heart of the “Bairro Alto”, one of the most emblematic touristic quarters of Lisbon. Either for one weekend escape, a short stay, or for long vacations or stays for work and studies, to be in the Lisbon Colours allows you to be in the city center. Surrounded of innumerable points of interest, fun and leisure with activities that go from the visit to the charming viewpoints, museums, theatres and monuments, to the old elevators, of the “fado” houses to the traditional little stores, of the typical restoration to the lively night life - known as the best of Lisbon, without forgetting the coffee shops that are along the esplanades and streets of portuguese two colour small cobblestones pavement where each rock tells a story.The accessibilities in the city are another strong point of the Lisbon Colours, 15 minutes away from the Airport, the International Fair of Lisbon - FIL Expo and of the great place of shows the “Pavilhão Atlântico”, 10 minutes away from the Center of Congresses of Lisbon. With subway station, tramway, bus stops and taxi a few meters away from the building, this will be the base that allows you to be “near everything”.The Lisbon Colours “Bairro Alto” Apartments is constituted by 10 apartments very cosy in a centenary building totally rehabilitated in 2011. Our aim is to make of your stay a pleasant experience.Come to arouse the colours of your senses in Lisbon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Lisbon Colours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing