We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite meal.”
Review of Belcanto

Belcanto
Ranked #11 of 4,099 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$67 - US$151
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chiado & Carmo
Description: Jose Avillez looks at haute cuisine as a form of expression. At the Belcanto he shares his inspirations, emotions and concerns through his culinary representations and illusions. Each dish tells a story and sets out to stir the emotions of those willing to try it."
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exquisite meal.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great tasting menu. Every dish is a surprise. A true gastronomic experience. It seems a bit pricey for Lisbon but considering the detail and work behind every dish the price soon becomes more than acceptable. The same menu will cost you 5 times more in any other European capital. Will come return once a year...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnamaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,184
    198
    76
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helmond
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We visited lots of Michelin restaurants already, including different 2-** and 3-*** ones. Belcanto is absolutely one of the best we visited the last years! We chose the 20 'moments' menu Lisboa accompanied with different wines (Degustação de vinhos para o “Menu Lisboa”). The different courses are unique, absolutely Portuguese styled but with a modern twist. This is what makes it one of the best experiences we had. The wines are all Portuguese and are very good and some of them of real good quality which is not always the case when choosing an accompanied wine menu. It we are in Lisbon one more time, we absolutely will visit Belcanto again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joost32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best. Meal. Ever.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Molecular gastronomy at its highest form. Pick the Taste of Lisbon menu, 20 "moments" telling the chef's story of Lisbon in food form. Brilliant, in every way. It is easily the best meal of my life, worth the price. A three and a half hour masterpiece of cooking, presentation, and service. Each moment is a surprise, but highlights include olives three ways (included inverted martini), bits of seafood on a seafood plate, an "orange" dessert, the perfect sardine, and many more. Do NOT miss this if you have a chance. (The wait staff also helped pick accompanying wines that enhanced every dish.)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We ordered the set menu with the 20 courses as we wanted to try the most dishes and have the best experience at the restaurant.

Granted, the service was impeccable, as expected of a Michelin Star restaurant. However, most of the dishes were a let down and we only truly enjoyed 2 or 3 of the dishes - at best. Actually a couple of the dished were unsettling.

It started out as a good experience. The dishes were called "moments" and were introduced to us, as a sequence to sort of narrate a story. Somewhere along the line though, the storytelling aspect or the "journey" stopped and the dishes were just explained to us (no narration).

The dishes took forever to prepare and the entire meal extended over the course of 2 and a half to 3 hours! I guess, the chef prepares the same courses for all tables at the same time and we were unlucky as we were the first people there..

Overall, I thought it was too expensive, a huge time commitment, and not worth it at all. It is not a Michelin Star restaurant experience..

Helpful?
6 Thank Imad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chef José Avillez renewed Belcanto”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I am not one who likes cuisine of small dishes, but when you go for the chef's surprise menu and enjoy 20 dishes variety of portuguese cuisine, the experience is unforgettable.
Make sure you order the off the menu "Ovos à Professor," an old Belcanto tradition that Avillez revamped and what was perfect became better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belcanto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Belcanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing