We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comprehensive Facts”
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Mundial
Ranked #103 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Get a CREAM Taxi from Airport metered at under 8 euros during the day. 20min drive. Arrive at hotel. bell boy takes your bags. All staff helpful & friendly. We were given a travelodge size twin room(beds pushed together).No tea making facilities(get this from the bar downstairs)(Mini Bar in cupboard & Rent-a-Safe in wardrobe) Currently building site over the street starts at 0730am until around 5pm Mon to Saturday. I found this to be a good alarm clock. Go for breakfast as early as you can. with 350 rooms & only around 75 tables. It can get busy.I usually went around 7.30 - 8am & walked straight in. I went in at 10am one day & had to wait around 10mins for a table. Breakfast is usual continental type of thing. Cheap ingredients though. Be warned, fatty bacon, tinned hot-dog sausages & scrambled egg for the hot, garlic sausage, ham, soft & processed cheeses, boiled eggs etc for the cold. The fruit was tinned fruit salad, tinned pineapple etc there was some fresh. We could not find any fresh milk for drinks in any restaurant, the norm appears to be UHT long life type of thing. Giving drinks an odd taste. As with any country, a little effort with language goes a long way, the staff here really open up if you make an effort. Pedro on the front desk is very helpful. The 8th floor restaurant is very nice, wonderful evening views of the old town & castle. BOOK EARLY. It gets very busy,(only around 17 tables) I suggest you request a table near the pianist(great views & he manages to drown the noise made by children & other loud travellers. very clean overall. There was also an armed policeman stood at the entrance the entire time we were there. 24hrs a day. Avis rent-a-car has an office next to the entrance & their cars are parked in the hotels secure car park. YOU NEED A CREDIT CARD TO BOOK A RENTAL CAR IN PORTUGAL. Debit card no good.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrJimSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 3,531 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2008

Nice hotel, very good location if you want to enjoy Lisbon. Good rooms, nice breakfast, excellent coffee. Also very helpful staff, happy to offer directions. Noise is acceptable but its central. The famous tram 28 for Alfama is just outside the entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Room on second floor opposite a building site so was noisy and wasn't conducive with sleep!
Breakfast was appaling really. Scrambled egg and very fatty bacon were completely cold each morning (3 in total). Good choice of buffet but all tasted disgusting even the pineapple tasted foul (unsure why). Stale water in coffee machine, cheap processed cheese etc... would not recommened for this reason.
Good location is a plus with panoramic viewsand staff seemed fine.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou0286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Had a girls weekend in Lisbon in November staying at the Mundial. Heard was not the best hotel but location was great so my expectations were not high.

Pleasantly surprised. Hotel is in a very central location for many attractions and importantly at night to walk to the Old town with all those really interestng little restaurants and bars (be warned don't wear you best shoes - they will get wrecked on the cobbles!

Bedroom was spacious, clean and had a great view of the square and up to the castle. Breakfast was good, no complaints - they aren't the most efficient in seating people so can see the problems they would have in high season but was fine in November. Lots of choice on the breakfast buffet.

A big hotel so did find a little noisy early in the morning with other selfish guests banging around in the corridor but we may have just been unlucky.

Good cocktails in the bar but a little pricey for drinks compared to out in town.

You can catch a good tourist tram (No 28) just outside the hotel so get a good tour of the backstreets of Lisbon - beware it can be very busy!

Overall a good experience

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandawanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

My wife and I arrived at 8:30 AM and they let us have a room right away. (There were no double bed rooms available that early in the day, so we took a room with single beds rather than wait.)

The Hotel is located just a few blocks east of Praca Dom Pedro IV (Rossio), which can be said to be the heart of the city. It is within walking distance of most of the main tourist areas: The Castle, Alfama, Baixa and Bairro Alto. (Belem is in the south-west corner of the city and is about a 15-20 minute street car ride away.) My wife and I thought the location of the Hotel Mundial was excellent and very central.

Our room was fine. Nothing to rave about but nothing to complain about either. There was a thermostat which let us choose the temperature of the room. We didn't have much of a view but some rooms do.

The breakfast was a pretty standard buffet. This hotel is quite large and the breakfast is served in a spacious dining area that easily accommodated the many guests. They had two buffet tables with identical offerings: One near the restaurant entrance and another about 50 yards into the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2007

I stayed at the Mundial for 4 nights in December of 2007 and I would return again. While it is a large tourist hotel (many tour groups use it). the location is great (right around the corner from the Rossio square - the heart of Lisbon), the front desk staff is very helpful and our room (#727), while small, was modern and always clean. The breakfast, while not memorable, was plentiful and constantly refreshed by the staff. We happened to be there Christmas Eve when most restaurants are closed, so we were forced to have dinner at the Jardin restaurant on the 2nd floor and it was, again, not memorable, but well within the acceptable range and since, the desserts were great, we were willing to be quite forgiving----and it was Christmas!

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank TeamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2007

Stayed in a triple room from 12/16-12/18, then returned on 12/21 for one more night before heading home. Rooms are on the smaller side but has a mini frige with various drinks(charges). The first 2 night was on 7th flr, better than the one we stayed in on the 21st which was on the 2nd flr. Rooms in general were clean, had extra blankets if needed. TV had a lot more channels than in Madrid, Spain. Bathrooms were a bit older and not functioning at a 4 star level as they self-proclaim. On our last night, the housekeeper forgot to clean the bathroom trash can from the previous group. The clerks were nice, especially the guys, they helped us make reseravation for fado and recommended different restaurants for us to go. They kept our luggage for us since we arrived early and our room wasn't ready yet. Breakfast buffet is excellent for the price, there were always abundance of food. They served different bread items, cereal, ham, salami, cheeses, yogurt, honey, juices, H2O, coffee, tea, cappucino.
The location is central and within walking distance to everything. 3 of the most popular pasteillaria are just around the corner. Metro Rossio close by. If you need to shop for souvenir, there is a tiny alley near by, make sure you buy from the very small shop run by an older gentleman, not the one by 2 ladies. Attractions in Lisbon can be reached by walking or you can opt to take public transportation, they are very affordable; watch out for pickpockets though, they are rampant. Taxis are pretty good in Lisbon except the drivers don't speak much English at all so it'd probably be hard to communicate if you didn't speak Protugese. Try roasted chestnuts in the town squares sold by street vendors, try to get them as they just come out of the roaster.
All in all, Hotel Mundial is pretty good, but if I go to Lisbon again, I'd probably stay at Aparthotel Eden. Food is cheap in Lisbon, as long as you can avoid tourisy places. Fado is another thing to do if you are visiting for the 1st time. Make sure you try pastries other than pasties del nata, try to experience the pastreillaria culture in Portugal by having it standing at the bar, with a cup of bica and a piece of whatever tickles your fancy from the display window. Majority of the people in Lisbon speak at least a little bit of English. I enjoyed my trip in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 255 in Lisbon
988 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,873 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Address: Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#91 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £37 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mundial 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundial Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Mundial Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing