We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Mundial
Ranked #102 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2008

We were very pleased with this hotel. The location is excellent - easy walks to sites, trains, restaurants. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful - something for all tastes. I agree with a previous post about the front desk staff. They were brusque but we didn't let it bother us. The dining room staff made up for the lack of warmth from the receptionist. We would recommend this hotel to others - very comfortable, great location and easy access to public transportation.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myrrdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 3,499 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2008

Booked a Spain/Portugal all-inclusive package for the last two weeks in Nov. 2007 through Smartours/Gate1. We absolutely loved the experience. Other than almost getting pickpocketed in Granada, every part of the vacation was perfect.

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Mundial in Lisboa. Great location, in the centre of town -- within walking distance to Rossio Square, many cafes, bakeries, restaurants, train station, cable car, Liberty Avenue and even the famed Alfama-- in the Baixa district.

The room was a good size by European standard. Staff was friendly, especially at breakfasts and dinner. Very clean. Its central location serves well as a base if you want to explore neighboring cities of Lisboa (Cascais and Sintra among others).

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAN49ERFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We chose this hotel on the basis of its location - we wanted somewhere handy for the sights in Lisbon. We took a taxi from the airport, around 11 Euro (must be something wrong becuaase it was only 6 Euro to go back) and we were very pleased to see that there was a tram stop right outside the hotel.

You could walk to most of the best places in town very easily from the hotel, although buy a Lisbon travel card and you can use the trams and buses and metro etc to really zip around. The best is to end the day on a tram and be told to get off at the terminus and find it is right outside the hotel!

OK, so enough about the location. The room was perfectly acceptable, although the beds were very, very hard. Bathroom was good. The breakfast buffet was nearly very good, except that the suasages (German style boiled wurst ) were luke warm and limp and the bacon was closer to cold than I thought was possible. I complained about this, and saw the waiter try and rescue the dishes by pouring hot water onto the dishes! It pays to give up on what you expect at home and stick to the excellent breads, rolls and other good things that they had on offer. (And by the way, don't even think about having a cup of tea - no boiling water for the tea bags.)

In the evening, we tried the Cafe for a meal, which was excellent. I liked the way we were recommended to a bottle of wine, which proved to be delicious and less than half the cost of internet access (see below) - that represented good service and value for money in my opinion. Service throughout the hotel was up to standard.

It would be worth not telling others how good the hotel is, so that it doesn't become too crowded and impossible to book in. The hotel is quite popular with tour groups, which can slow down check in and out.

The serious moan is about Internet access. It really is too much , to have to pay huge amounts to use a hotel wifi. It should be free, or at most 1 euro a day. It's a rip off to have to pay 20 Euro for a 72 hour pass, and 5 Euro for just an hour. Some hotels can do this, why not all?

But in summary - we would happily stay here again for anything from a 1 night to 1 week holiday in a lovely city. We got a good rate, (breakfast included) and felt the hotel was well run and worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fitzcaraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

On our arrival the receptionist took our passports and paperwork without a word of welcome and continued chatting in Portuguese to her colleague. Eventually she handed us our card key and said "Enjoy your stay"
Other people have written about the room and bathroom and these were quite acceptable although not luxurious. One thing lacking was any information whatsoever on the hotel, the city, the working of the tv and air conditioning.
I agree with the negative comments on the restaurant. W e only ate there because we were forced to by the extremely wet and windy weather. Breakfast however was ok.
Wet weather reccommendations are: the tourist bus (several routes), the aquarium at the Expo 98 site, and the Gulbenkian museum. Also, the pastries at cafe Suica in Rossio square were superb!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

The Hotel Mundial is in the perfect location for sightseeing in Lisbon. Within a short walk to the train to Sintra (Rossio station), the train to Cascais (Casa Do'Sodre) and two metro stops to the main train station you can take to other areas of Portugal and Europe (St Appalonia). The hotel and room were immaculately clean and there was always someone on staff at the door and at the desk to help you. From the hotel you can walk to Chiado and to the Alfama districts. You can also walk to the riverside where the main square and the ferry terminals are. There were only three negatives about the hotel : 1) the wireless internet costs 5Euro for one hour and has to be arranged each time at the desk where they give you a username and password to connect. 2) the beds are somewhat hard so don't expect a nice cushy bed, my wife likes a stiff mattress so it didn't bother her but I put an extra blanket under the sheets. 3) the A/C in our room didn't seem to work so it got a little stuffy it was ok in mild weather but I'm not sure I'd like it in summer. The breakfast was fine, I've never found good scrambled eggs and bacon in Europe and that was true at the Mundial as well but if you like rolls and ham and cheese and fruit and good coffee then the breakfast was just fine (and free!). I think the hotel is really trying to be a 4 star hotel and they were totally helpful whenever we asked for anything. Having said all that I highly recommend the hotel because of it's location, it's cleanliness and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xfsriddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Just returned from a 5 night Lisbon city break. The hotel Mundail was the icing on the cake - room, breakfast and staff all great. It was a pleasure to return there after a busy day sight seing the towelling bathrobes were a boon after a long soak in the comfortable deep bath. We had a twin room with a great view over the square a good panoramic window the double glazing keeping the noise to a minimum. Breakfast was ideal yoghurt cereals choice of bread and cakes eggs bacon and even fresh orange juice not the usual substitute often found in hotels also the time (up to 10.30am) suited us. The location was ideal right in the middle of Lisbon just right for trams buses or a walk around the local sights. Get the train out the pretty seaside town of Cascais we enjoyed a paddle in the sea the weather was hotter than we had expected take some sun block with you as it was difficult to find anywhere to buy it. Try the Baxia area at night an amazing place to people watch and dont miss a visit to the church of St Anthony in the Alfalma area comfortable walking shoes a must in this lovely city!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Can't understand why this hotel isn't higher in the ratings! We experienced no problems at all. The room was a decent size, modern, clean and comfortable. Nice bathroom and generally a good business-standard hotel. Would happily stay again.

Avis had an office there, which was really handy. Driving in Lisbon was not as scary as people had suggested! There is also a secure carpark under the hotel.

The hotel bar was a comfortable (although not the cheapest!)place to retreat to at the end of the day. It was also useful for the snacks served until late (Lisbon not great for vegetarians).

Tip-drive up to the Convento de Cristo in Tomar-one of the most amazing places we've ever been! The monastery in Belem and the aquarium were also impressive.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Quarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Portugal
#10 of 255 in Lisbon
976 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#49 of 255 in Lisbon
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,604 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,849 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#88 of 255 in Lisbon
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Address: Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#85 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#91 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: £77 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mundial 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundial Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Mundial Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing