We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mundial
Ranked #96 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value for a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed for 7 nights at Hotel Mundial and I have to say, it was quiet a nice hotel with very nice and helpful staff. Even with my selective eating habits, I was able to enjoy the breakfast buffet as they had a lot to offer.
The room was veeeery spacious and clean. All my requests were fulfilled such as bathtub, room with a view and close to the rooftop bar.
You have free WIFI in the bar and reception area. and have to pay 15 EURO for 72H of internet which was a fair price.
You are close to the shopping area and you need only to leave the hotel and you are in front of the famous tram 28 stop.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to families, singles and couples.

Room Tip: I had room 814 which was close to the rooftop bar and had a view on bairro Alto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higherlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    1,600
    565
    137
    81
See reviews for
694
1,382
117
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Spent 3 nights here as part of a great deal through British Airways. Chose the hotel due to its central location. Arrived at the hotel 4 hours before check in and was given my room straight away as ready which was very welcome after an early start. Room was on the 4th floor overlooking the service yard and a building site adjacent. Although no real view the room was well fitted out and bathroom nice. I did not hear much from the construction but was out all day everyday.

The roof top bar was very pleasant and offered good views and the bar in the lobby also pleasant and had some live music.

Breakfast was okay but very busy due to large groups. Was seated pretty quickly after developing wide arms to stop people pushing in front as "the rest of the group" was already seated. After a few glares and wide arms people stopped pushing in. Due to the large number of groups more seating would be an improvement.

The location was excellent and could walk pretty much anyway and plenty of places to choose from for dinner.

Room Tip: Probably go as high as possible due to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooperclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

When we arrived at this hotel it was like rush hour at Waterloo station, we arrived behind a coach and found the reception area quite busy, but once we had our room things changed, the hotel was quite peaceful out of the reception area and the room was spacious and comfortable. My only complaint was with the wi-fi access, it is provided free in the foyer which always seemed to be busy, but charged for use in the room. When more and more hotels provide wi-fi as part of the package it is always disappointing to find a hotel that still charges. Even worse when they provide it free in the foyer and not in the rooms, you could not conduct any form of business in privacy in the foyer and you certainly could not use skype.
But, the 7th floor restaurant was excellent, with first class attentive service and good food at a good price, highly recommended with its views over Lisbon.

Room Tip: Select a room on the front if you have a choice, this gives you a view over the very large square, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquiFlatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

City centre location easy reach of all the sites. Room was spacious, breakfast had a good selection. Free underground car park Helpful staff
Car park was very tight to negotiate. Hotel bar prices very high

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late September before the start of a land tour in Portugal and Spain. Hotel is centrally located, with stop for the tram outside the front door, or just around the corner in Praca Figueira. Lots of restaurants within a few blocks, especially on Rua Agusta, the pedestrian mall a block beyond Praca Figueira.
Hotel is pretty basic, but clean - the best feature is it's location. Our 3rd floor room had a view up the hill to Castelo De Sao Jorge

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The check in was a disaster. The front desk clerks Mr. Joao Oliveira and Danny did not help my friend and I finding our already confirmed reservations through Hotels.com. They crossed their arms after finding a paper stating that the reservations have been cancelled. They ignored us and went on. Luckily my friend who lives in Portugal had his cell phone with him and I called Hotels.com from Portugal. After 45 minutes of talking to Jessica and spending some money on that call, this representative called the front desk clerks to clarify their incompetence. These people could have offered us to call form their landline phone since it was a free call, but not even that. I believe there is a complete disconnection between the hotel and the online booking websites that already exist. They are still working like in the 80's. Their communication system is obsolete, therefore vey slow and incompetent. They gave us the lowest rooms they could give on the second floor viewing a construction site with 10 rooms apart.
elam & peter

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elamwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights as part of a tour and it was our least favorite hotel. The staff is not friendly, the WiFi is not free, the food is not good, the service in the restaurant is not good. The elevator is old and slow. The only good thing about is its location. And the friendly bar service.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Portugal
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#44 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#72 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Property: Hotel Mundial
Address: Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#75 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#86 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#92 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mundial 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundial Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Mundial Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing